Overall Review

4.1
  • 33 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (-0.3)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    70%
  • Satisfied
    3%
  • Neutral
    9%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    15%
  • Wait Time 15.8 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
July 21st, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This Dr cannot make a correct diagnosis. In the ER I was told I definitely did not have a seizure, I went to his office and was told I definitely had a seizure, even though he did not do new testing. He sends me for testing which showed I did not have a seizure but he wants me to take seizure medication for life. My daughter spoke to him on the phone and then said he was not sure it was a seizure, even though the tests show it was not. He says he wants to see me back in a year, gives me medication with no refill, and when questions on a cancellation his receptionist is very RUDE. You are on hold for a long time to talk to her. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS DR TO EVEN MY ENEMY. In order to get to the bottom of my diagnosis I had to go to a different Neurologist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 24th, 2015
A brain sleuth
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A true modern day detective who works on your issue until a satisfactory diagnoses has been reached. I like his thinking aloud as he pursues all possible avenues leading to his conclusions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 7th, 2013
Wouldn't Recommend to Anyone
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Seems like the reviews for this guy are all over the board but unfortunately, mine was horrible as well. Not only was he not helpful in terms of assisting my medical care, he was actually detrimental. He wouldn't listen when I tried to describe my symptoms, consistently interrupted me. He basically told me he had no idea what was going on so he was going to guess it was one diagnosis. Then he would jump onto another diagnosis without any change in evidence and get extremely defensive when I asked for his rational. He also said and I quote, "I prayed to be able to heal this woman" (mind you I was sitting right there). He also literally said, "I need you to want to be helped in order to help you." Basically, accusing me of blocking my own health care when all I was trying to do was describe symptoms so I could get help. All I can say is be careful with this man and cautious of any diagnosis as his bedside manner is horrendous and his ability to rationally diagnosis limited.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 25th, 2013
one of the best
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I met Dr. Melchionna as a result of my 21 year old daughter's hand abnormalities. Generally speaking, in my experience doctors are prone to being patronizing, dismissive (or alternately, alarmist), and frequently disconnected from the patient's experience. Imagine my surprise when Dr. Melchionna spent nearly an hour talking with my daughter, putting her at ease, reassuring her, providing an initial diagnosis, explaining the follow up testing needed, answering all of her questions and asking many of his own. He was patient, thorough, knowledgable, caring, relaxed, professional and far exceeded all of my expectations. Although we're still at the beginning of the process, I'm very grateful that my daughter is able to have such a positive initial experience with the medical system and that I know she's in such competent and kind hands.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 10th, 2012
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wonderful physician, really cares about how you are doing and fixing the issues. Takes his time listening to you and working with you to develop a plan. Its hard to come across doctors like Dr. Melchionna. I highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 13th, 2012
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have always had positive experiences when seeing Dr. Melchionna. He is always caring, engaging and informative. I definitely recommend his services.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 21st, 2012
No need to go to Boston.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
By far the best neurological care outside of Boston. Dr. Mel is intuitive, patient, and knowledgeable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 8th, 2011
The Best Doctor You Never Wanted to See
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Melchionna is an ace; he'll tell you what you need to hear whether or not it's what you want to hear. All doctors should be more like him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 24th, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
rude and jumped to conclusions about problems without asking enough questions. I'm now looking for another doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 15th, 2011
Great place to be treated
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Melchionna is a straight-shooting, yet caring physician. I appreciated his honesty in diagnosing my MS, and wouldn't wanted him to be any other way. Would be nice to have more time with him, but I understand that he is swamped with patients, so what else can he do but be streamlined in his approach? when diagnosed with MS I was told by a friend who had gone to Boston for the same thing that she should have stayed in Springfield because we already have THE BEST MS doc around.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 6th, 2010
no "bedside manner"
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have no idea which doctor these other patients were seeing. This doctor was traumatizing to me. His staff were inhuman.There was no compassion to be found anywhere, anyhow. He was exceptionally arrogant, recommended inessential tests and then did not assist in setting them up with the doctors he wanted me to see. He told me that my diagnosis was permanent, that I would "never get better". When I got out, I was shaking, crying for hours. Is he a split personality or something?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 2nd, 2010
Father and Daughter
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Emilio Melchionna is one of the most caring, compassionate people I have meet in a long time. My father was diagnosed with Parkinsons years ago, and Dr. Melchionna made us more aware of the Disease and it progression. Thank you Dr. Melchionna
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Emilio Melchionna, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Springfield, MA.

Doctor

Dr. Michael Sorrell

44 years experience

3.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Michael Rossen

17 years experience

2.9 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Luz Martin

31 years experience

2.6 of 5