The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Emily Shields Is this you?
  • 8
  • 1
  • 0
  • 6
  • 4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
25.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Emily Shields?


19 Ratings with 5 Comments

1.0 Rating

September 1st, 2017

Useless

I waited 4 months to see her only to be told I needed to come back after I have one more test done. The questions and statements that I asked and made were completely disregarded. She was not interested in me or my condition at all. What a waste of my time and money. I will never go back to her again. The nursing and clerical staff was great. She is a joke !!!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 14th, 2017

First visit to Dr. Shields.

Found her to be very friendly and concerned. She listened to me for 30 mins. Got to know each other. Gave me her opinion what we should try for my neurapathy. Very pleased with the visit. Everyone in the office very friendly. Great experience.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 28th, 2016

Awful doctor. Told me I had a back injury more than likely. A university hospital diagnosed me with ALS. Dr Shields is a complete waste of time.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

March 4th, 2015

Dr. Shields is part of Mountain States Medical Group. It is known that they do not allow their providers much time to spend with patients and Dr. Shields spends very little time. She is in and out as quickly as she possibly can be. She has a condescending manner that makes you feel like your questions are ridiculous and you shouldn't question anything she says. However, she apparently does not review your patient file or new symptom sheets that you are asked to fill out, because she does not take into account past history or other medical conditions when making a diagnosis or prescriptions. I do not feel comfortable with this Dr., her manner, or the way she treats patients.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

March 19th, 2014

Not happy

Doctor was not informed when we asked questions. She went out of the room to look up answers, ones that we had already found. Good ratings were for staff, not doctor.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 10th, 2017

5.0 Rating

March 30th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

March 6th, 2017

4.0 Rating

October 20th, 2016

1.0 Rating

May 14th, 2016

5.0 Rating

June 8th, 2015

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

May 21st, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Emily Shields is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Abingdon, VA.

  • Dr. Marivi Niebauer

    Dr. Marivi Niebauer

    Neurology, Psychiatry

    Abingdon, VA 0 mi

    4.3
    (24)
    16
  • Dr. Steven Morgan

    Neurology, Psychiatry

    Abingdon, VA 0 mi

    4.3
    (8)
    44
  • Dr. Shawn Nelson

    Neurology, Psychiatry

    Abingdon, VA 0 mi

    4.0
    (25)
    17