Dr. Emmanuel Edoka MD Patient Reviews

  • Geriatric Medicine Austin, TX

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 12 patient ratings
  • 4 comments

Last 12 months:

2.5 (-1.1)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    58%
  • Great
    8%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    33%
  • Wait Time 26.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
June 23rd, 2017
6 Stars for Doctor Edoka MD.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
We are very happy with Dr. Emmanuel Edoka. My 36 year old son suffered a traumatic brain injury 8 years ago. Dr. Edoka spent much time explaining what was needed for his present healthcare. He did so with compassionate patience. He let my son participate in choosing alternatives with him. Dr. Edoka was very knowledgeable, thorough, caring, and kind. This was also true about his nurse. I highly recommend him and we are extremely satisfied with his care. He is what a doctor should be.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 5th, 2017
Incompetent and lazy
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doesn't get records or look at the ones he has from specialists. Can't seem to get around to giving referrals.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 12th, 2011
Power Of Attorney
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When tending to my grandmother's care, Dr. Edoka was courteous and had excellent bedside manner. During our last visit to the hospital, she was under someone elses care, but he still took the time to see about her health, and I appreciate that. Thank you
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 18th, 2010
be prepared to wait a LONG time
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Once you get past the ebonic speaking receptionists (who are rotating students from medical assisting schools) for an appointment, get reasy to wait. he is NEVER on time. He is very good at listening & focusing full attention upon you once you are in the exam room. He seems to care about patients and doesn't order tests frivolously, but once ordered it's hard to get your results from the staff. They don't call if it's normal, even when you'd like to know your cholesterol or blood sugar numbers. He doesn't hesitate to refer to specialists when it's out of his realm, but he does have a marked preference for St. David's doctors vs. Seton doctors. Overall, I feel like he is a very good doctor, just not good at time management or keeping a real staff. He used to have a nurse practitioner who was wonderful. His medical assistant Cassandra is a very competant, caring, and compassionate person. The heavy set caucasion lady at the front desk with short hair is as nice as they come - always a kind word or hug for patients. The students vary from completely ignorant to quiet and nervous. Since it's the dr we review, I have to give him almost 3 stars, the wait cuts out one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 25th, 2009
Missed double pneumonia
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Dr Edoka is a nursing home doctor for an Austin, Texas nursing home. My friend there had flu from which she recovered. However, afterwards she complained for weeks of chest pain and seemed to have breathing trouble. Dr. Edoka told her it was GERD. He fussed at her about she did not want to take her osteoporosis drug and ignored her complaints. I urged her to see a pulmonologist, but she couldn't bear to leave the nursing home to see another doctor. She turned out to have pneumonia in both lungs; she spend several weeks in the hospital in misery and then died.In my opinion, Dr. Edoka is a very poor doctor both in terms of caring (he blew off her complaints of cheswt pain) and of accurate diagnosis.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
December 7th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 10th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 26th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 7th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 5th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 of 5
November 17th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Emmanuel Edoka, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Austin, TX.