Dr. Emmett Mcguire MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

2.0
  • 14 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    14%
  • Satisfied
    14%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    71%
  • Wait Time 21.5 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

1.0 of 5
May 24th, 2016
Motorcycle Accident & "Balance Billing" Victim
I was admitted to Swedish under emergency conditions after a deer ran out in front of the motorcycle I was riding. Dr. McGuire and a group of underlings came into my room for morning rounds, asked a couple of questions and left. All six of those doctors practice "BALANCE BILLING", which means they will take whatever your insurance company pays and then BILL YOU FOR THE BALANCE! Beware!!! This practice is ILLEGAL at the federal level (Medicare & Medicaid) as well as in several states. It is an act that victimizes people in a vulnerable situation who had no control over who walked into the room. It is predatory -- yes, I said predatory. Nine months into this and still trying to heal, I am stuck playing the interface between Regence BlueShield and the doctors from a paperwork standpoint (they won't speak with each other). Even the appeal process sucks the life out of you because Regence loses the paperwork, the doctor's "billing office" staff are constantly harrassing you with multiple mailing of statements with stupid stamps on them that say "contact your insurance company regarding this account", etc. NINE months later there is still no resolution. The doctors are counting on you not fighting back and the responsibility for all of this crap is placed squarely on the shoulders of the PATIENT/VICTIM!!!! Contact your state legislature and office of insurance commissioner and work with me to get this predatory practice of balance billing outlawed in all 50 states. I'm giving him one star because I'm forced to pick at least one star to post this comment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 27th, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Sorry to read the poor reviews. Dr. McGuire performed three abdominal surgeries on me within four months and was very attentive and caring, as were the other surgeons on his team. Six months later, I have fully recovered from what was a rocky experience. I can only praise him for his care and skill.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 11th, 2016
Beware of the insurance scam
Wait time
56 minutes
Works at a hospital that is in my insurance companies network, but he is not in the network. Expect to get a bill for 5-10 thousand after the surgery and months of appeals and mountains of paperwork. Can artist at work.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 9th, 2013
An Architect of Tragedy
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. McGuire was one of the attending physicians for my mother who was admitted to the ER at Swedish Medical Center after a full day of extreme abdominal pain and nausea. She was diagnosed with a partial bowel obstruction, and Dr. McGuire's advised treatment was to monitor her condition conservatively in an effort to avoid surgery. The care that she "received" was anything but conservative. She spent almost a full day in the ER unseen by doctors. Two days later she had passed away. Dr. McGuire failed to notice that she had no discernible blood pressure and was tachycardic (red flags indicating a need for IMMEDIATE surgery), and therefore left her to die. By the time her condition was noticed, it was too late. She passed away two days later. Please take extreme caution if you or a loved one receives medical care from Dr. McGuire. Additionally, please read the other reviews for him on this page, as it's abundantly clear that his incompetence and lack of consideration has negatively effected many patients in the past. In my opinion, a terrible, terrible doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2013
Ask what he charges first!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor has disgraceful billing and charging practices! He will over charge you, accept what insurance pays and then report you to a credit agency when you are dealing with his unhelpful billing department! Be careful the next time you have an emergency, if he walks in as your "doctor"!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 11th, 2012
HORRIBLE Care
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My daughter was told she needed gall bladder surgery; in hospital with pain and swelling and discharged with no explanation for her symptoms. Two days later, brought back in, taken to emergency surgery in the middle of the night and was in a coma for two weeks. It took days and days before a diagnosis could be given; family never even MET this physician. The only saving grace was that Swedish Medical Center decided to transfer my daughter as they didn't know what to do for her (after I asked numerous times if she needed to be transferred and was told NO) and she was transferred to University of Denver Hospital, where everyone there involved in her care took a piece of saving her life. Dr McGuire never even had courtesy of contacting family. Heartless, non-compassionate and unprofessional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2011
Scam Artist
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This guy will over bill you and then turn you over to collections. He prays on people in need. He will not accept your insurance and will over bill you. While trying to resolve the issue with your insurance company, he will turn you over to collections
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 25th, 2011
Extremely intelligent and professional
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I am a medical professional myself, and I have never seen a surgeon or even another physician in general who knows as much or can do as much as Dr. McGuire. He is well read on the latest journals, is extremely capable of surgical and medical care of a patient and works tirelessly to save patients who others could not. You will rarely find the combination of skills he carries. He can be short at the bedside or seem uncaring sometimes (but this is rare) but he spends countless hours working on the care of his patients and truly does care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 11th, 2010
Opportunist
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. McGuire was my son's attending for a trauma. My son was transferred to another hospital because the first could not attend to the problem. He received a new doctor at the new hospital. Dr. McGuire made rounds there, and without the request of my son's new doctor, decided to stop in and see my son and charged us $222 for his 5 minute visit. Which was also $90 over the customary rate at that hospital. Impossible to reach him to work out billing, he outsources and his own listed number rings without an answering service.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Emmett Mcguire, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Englewood, CO.

Doctor

Dr. Allan Nguyen

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Denetta Slone

28 years experience

3.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Laura Stearns

be the first to rate this Doctor