Dr. Eric Dobratz MD Patient Reviews

  • Plastic Surgery Norfolk, VA

Overall Rating

3.4
  • 14 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.6)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    50%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    14%
  • Poor
    7%
  • Bad
    29%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 27.5 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 22nd, 2016
Dr. Dobratz is Awesome
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Dobratz is awesome. It is difficult to get an appointment in less than 3 months time, so be mindful of that.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 6th, 2016
Trauma - huge cut and broken nose along with deviated septum
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I specifically told the Dr. Please correct my deviated septum since my nose is already broke, I have had problems for years. He ignored and did not do that. Since the surgery to correct my broken nose, my nose is numb, my breathing is even worse since the surgery. Also, had trauma with a huge cut between my eyes, he is a plastic surgeon, he refuses to touch it, only stitched it up tighter still leaving a huge scar on my face! Reading reviews and what folks have told me, he should have corrected the deviated septum same time as my broken nose! That is what a typical ENT would do! Dr. Dobratz laughs it off, also laughs off my scar which makes me feel very uncomfortable. I hope another Dr. reads this and can help with my issue. I could have had all fixed with one surgery! I think he is after the insurance money and not my well being. His staff even asked me why he didnt fix my deviated septem during the surgery, they also found it odd! Now I am scarred for life! My insurance covers procedures due to trauma on face! but he refuses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 19th, 2015
rjfinva
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Dobratz is an excellent surgeon and person, but I am running into complications after an operation for a deviated septum which included having to (re)break my nose and harvest cartilage from my left ear. My nose grew a hump on it after the initial surgery and I had to have another surgery to file the hump off. The cartilage he inserted in my left nostril tip is a poor fit making my nostril bulge out, and also bends into the inside of my nostril creating discomfort and irritation. I was initially very unhappy with the amount of cartilage that was taken from my ear, and possibly thru technical jargon was not aware of the extent of the cartilage to be inserted. At a minimum I want the cartilage removed or surgically altered so it does not interfere with the comfort in the left nostril (it was the right nostril that was blocked to begin with and that was the whole point of the surgery, and that is now clear), and at best to have the nostril(s) cleared of distending cartilage. It has been about 10 months since the surgery and I hope we can come to some kind of suitable solution on my next visit scheduled for early December. I am unhappy with all the complications of what I thought would have been fairly routine.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 5th, 2015
Poor review
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A disaster so far.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 23rd, 2014
Best Reconstructive surgeon
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I met DR Dobratz after seeing DR Karakla and the two of them preformed a 12 hr surgery my face was paralysed from the parotid cancer, DR Dobratz reconstructed my face so it now looks more normal, I owe these Dr one for my life and one for making my face more presentable--you probably will never see this but I hope others do that might be facing the same thing and know the best care can be found at the EVMS ent
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 26th, 2014
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Broken Nose: After the first surgery my breathing was worse (including the 1 year recovery). I was stupid enough to to return to Dr. Dobratz. He did not look far enough up my nose to see other complications. After the second surgery my breathing returned to the quality it was before the original surgery. A student removed the stints in my nose because he was late from returning from lunch. I also left an anappointment after waiting for an hour, another lunch date. Hopefully he knows something about ears and throats, don't let him touch your nose.

1.0 of 5
July 31st, 2012
Scheduling a surgery is a nightmare
Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Stay away if you are trying to get a major surgery. They will call you a week before surgery trying to reschedule for next month. The office staff is rude. If you are paying so much money, might as well as get it done somewhere else where you will have a better experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 19th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
October 13th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 3rd, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
February 2nd, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 15th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Eric Dobratz, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Norfolk, VA.