The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Eric Lohse Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Eric Lohse?

Chronic Dry Eye

Chronic Dry Eye

Get the facts about chronic dry eye, including the causes, symptoms and doctors who treat this condition.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Eric Lohse?

Ratings and Reviews

12 Ratings with 4 Comments

  • Excellent
    8
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    1
  • Excellent
    8
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
30 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 12 Ratings with 4 Comments

5.0 Rating

November 8th, 2015

Springfield, IL lost the BEST opthalmologist when Dr. Lohse left. My husband and I would probably drive to wherever Dr. Lohse is now but it probably would be too far away! Very HUGE gap to fill!

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 7th, 2013

Professional

I have been seeing Dr. Lohse for over 20 years and I can only say that he is an excellent doctor. He takes time to speak with me, explain things to me and let me know what my options are. I cant say enough good things about him.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 29th, 2013

A senior citizen

I've seen Dr Lohse 2 times, first time he spent 5 mins with me and said I had 3 major eye diseases (no tests taken). Then said I needed cataract surgery and asked if I have ins? When I said no but I was on the CATCH program, he stated he'd check out how that works and left the room I was in. CATCH set up the rooms, etc at either hospital in Sprgfld, then they tried to reach him, which took many attempts, asked him when he could volunteer his time, he changed his mind, now I don't need the surgery. They sent me to another for 2nd opinion and they said yes I needed the surgery, (a different place helped me and paid for the surg) however the surgery I had gotten in only one eye didn't turn out like it should have (now I'm afraid to do the other eye with the same dr) So this place said let's send you to Dr Lohse, tell him what happened, be honest and ask for his help and see if he'll help you. Well, I have never been so humiliated in my life! He was rude, acted as if I had committed a major sin by going to someone else and that I should go back to the other doctor and left the room!! He was extremely rude and would not discuss the issue with me. This is a doctor who cares about the MONEY as far as I can tell, not one who is caring or compassionate. I would NOT recommend him at all. NEVER!! I am still upset and I know my blood pressure is sky high right now. I was as nice and honest as I could be and I just left the office with my head hung down. Then I decided that if he treated me this way, then others should know about it. Maybe save them the humiliation I went through. NO I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS DOCTOR TO ANYONE!! I'm sure he'll know who I am but I don't care, Dr Lohse, I thought you were a doctor who cared, I was wrong. AND you owe me an apology for your rudeness!! Oh and you owe your nurse an apology also, she was trying to type it all in for you and you embarrassed her in front of me!!

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 15th, 2012

23 Year Patient

Dr. Lohse is absolutely one of the most caring and professional Drs I have ever met. I have been seeing him for over 23 years and I trust him explicitly and know that he is concerned for my well being. He takes the time to talk and if I need to see him, he gets me right in.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 19th, 2017

4.0 Rating

October 30th, 2016

5.0 Rating

May 11th, 2016

3.7 Rating

January 23rd, 2015

3.7 Rating

December 19th, 2014

5.0 Rating

September 26th, 2014

5.0 Rating

September 22nd, 2014

5.0 Rating

August 10th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Eric Lohse is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Springfield, IL.

  • Dr. Lance Steahly

    Ophthalmology

    Springfield, IL 2.62 mi

    45
  • Dr. Alan Oester Jr

    Dr. Alan Oester Jr

    Ophthalmology

    Springfield, IL 2.62 mi

    9
  • Dr. David Krah

    Dr. David Krah

    Ophthalmology

    Springfield, IL 6.55 mi

    3.5
    (14)
    29