Dr. Eric Olson MD Patient Reviews

  • Psychiatry Midland, TX

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 29 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.3)

29 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    62%
  • Great
    3%
  • Good
    7%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    28%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 23.8 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
March 22nd, 2017
Just too much
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband and daughter were both patients. I was present at appointments. They each took the first available appointments so they could get it done early and on to work. However Dr was late to every one of the appointments by at least 15 min and a couple of times by 30 min. Of course he claimed we were there too early on both of those. The office manager/staff was never there so I had to remember to call back or drive back to pay for the appointments. So we adjusted the appointments to mid morning and the same thing happened with both dr and office staff. During appts Dr tended to try to speak in lofty terms that made appointments too drawn out. Not because as a patient they had too much to say but just because he talked way more than necessary to relay simple explanations. As patients they were just ready to leave and didn't share what they needed to share. In the end we would have excused all of that but to add insult to injury his office staff/manager is short, rude and unprofessional. She treats patients/family as if she is inconvenienced having to communicate with us. Does not remember that we are customers as well as patients. So much so that I had to ask her if we had offended her at some point. She corrected her behavior for a short period and instead stopped returning our calls when calling to pick up prescriptions. My husband and daughter both changed doctors last month.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 13th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had seen many Dr's before and they could not diagnose or help me, including a brain trauma center. He was able to help me and continues to ensure my health is well today.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 17th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Extremely knowledgeable and not your average P-Doc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 18th, 2014
retired teacher
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Olson is Innovative about drugs, keeps up with your other medications, health conditions and runs test when required. Easy to talk to and never forgets anything you tell him. Doesn't have to look at your chart to remember your diagnosis and treatments. I have been seeing him for the past ten years.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 22nd, 2013
Great Doctor; Poor People Person
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor is superb as far as a diagnosis of a problem and finding the correct medication. However, tends to over medicate the patient. Tends to pontificate more in sessions at an academic level that a lay person cannot understand. Appointments are usually an hour or more late. I feel like another statistic in the psychiatric world under his care, not an individual who has feelings and problems with solving behavioral issues. Doctor will at times not come into his office, and not inform his patients of his absence.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
June 22nd, 2013
Dr. Olson
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He keeps up with new developments in his field. He will do Skype or phone appointments for established patients so I did not have to find a new dr when I moved. Very knowledgeable about medications.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 20th, 2013
After many, many different psychiatrists, he's been the best
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2012
LISTEN TO THE TRUTH ABOUT DR. OLSON
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent doctor. I have been seeing him for 8 or more years. He manages all my medications and communicates with my other doctors. He cares about me and my health and listens intently to anything I have to say. He answers all my questions so that I can understand. I HAVE NO COMPLAINTS ABOUT DR. OLSON
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 6th, 2012
Nurse vs Shrink
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This is the most conceited man I have spoken to ,at length ,that I have ever seen !!!!! He talks a lot about himself in patient sessions. HE has a problem bigger than ours 2 ex patients. Avoid if possible
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 25th, 2010
A good experience
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Going to the doctor is never high on my list of enjoyable events, but all things considered this was a good experience. Wait for the initial visit was long, but I understand this to be a national trend because of the shortage of psychiatrist. He spends 45-60 minutes with each patient and does not rely on physician extenders such as PAs or Nurse practitioners.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 12th, 2010
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Olson has been most helpful with our adolescent's needs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 15th, 2009
Regret it
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I got worse under his care and much better once I left. He seemed nice at first. But, you might want to read your records. He wrote some rude comments in my medical records that had nothing to do with treatment. That wasn't helpful. I would have been much better off had I spent the money on a trip to Hawaii instead.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Eric Olson, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Midland, TX.