Dr. Eric Smouha MD Patient Reviews

  • Otolaryngology New York, NY

Overall Rating

4.4
  • 40 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.6)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    78%
  • Satisfied
    8%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 24.2 minutes

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

5.0 of 5
February 23rd, 2016
A Life Changer
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I couldn't give any less than 5 for Dr Smouha or his staff. My sons eardrum was punctured as an infant and after many frustrating years, we found out that the bones of his ears were damaged causing a 30-40% hearing loss in his right ear. To make a long story short, at 20 years old, my son had reconstructive surgery by Dr Smouha. and my son's hearing is at 95% after a few months. He is so happy! This Dr is Brilliant and really cares about his patients and their quality of life. There is no need to look further for your Dr. You would be lucky to have him. The staff is also great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 19th, 2014
Disappointed
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was recommend to see Dr. Smouha. After my second visit I did not returned to his office. I don't mind waiting to see a doctor. But when I am in the examination room I would like a doctor to answer my questions instead of ignoring me and more focused on writing information onto the computer which was the same as the last visit. Since nothing had changed. After ignoring me and looked at the list of medications that didn't worked. Recommended me to go to Canada or Europe to get this medication that is not approved in the US. I was unemployed how did he even expect me to get it. After that told me to come back in a month and never did.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 15th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr, Smouha for treatment of benign positional vertigo [the diagnostic tests had already been done and the results forwarded to him], but complicated by two episodes of blood in my right ear without trauma and occasional ringing in the same ear. I was kept waiting for an hour and when he saw me, he was rushed, dismissive, and totally unattentive. When I mentioned the blood in my ear, he looked and said there was no blood there now and dropped the subject. He did perform the Epley manoeuvre or any other, and rushed out. It was the worst medical experience I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 8th, 2013
Father
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
One of the finest, compassionate, and BRILLANT doctors around. My daughter was born deaf in one ear and at 6 years old he performed complete reconstruction of her ear inside and out. I can never thank him enough. Other doctors said there was no hope, and now she can hear because of this man. Good things come to those who wait, and this “Genius” is worth the wait
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 24th, 2013
The best of the Best
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
You have to wait ? Big deal, wait He is so compassionate, kind and most of all knowledgable , I would recommend this Physician to all, but especially to those who haven't found an answer to their issue ,
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 14th, 2012
parent of patient
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
great doc- worth the waiting (room) time. Travel over 50 min. to see him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 2nd, 2012
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He saved my life. Enough said!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 24th, 2011
Simply the Best! No worries with Dr. Smouha
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Smouha did my mother's surgery 3 years ago. She contracted the deadly MRSA bacteria after surgery and I called him at 3am in the morning. He called me back five minutes later without a hint of attitude. He had to re-operate on my mother and pretty much re-do the first surgery from scratch. His follow up was great, he always called to check on her and he always answered any question I had without hurrying me along. He is highly intelligent and gets down to the matter. He diagnosed my mother with an extremely rare condition that four other doctor's misdiagnosed. I can't say enough about how great he is. I beleive he saved my mother's life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Eric Smouha, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.