Dr. Erik Koon MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.0
  • 31 patient ratings
  • 10 reviews

Last 12 months:

3.1 (-0.9)

10 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    68%
  • Satisfied
    3%
  • Neutral
    6%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    19%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 11.4 minutes

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 19th, 2016
Most Knowledgable, Caring and Compassionate Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Koon has been treating my family member for the past several months -- hers has been a high risk cancer, but I don't think we could have made the decisions we were able to make without the caring, compassionate input for Dr. Koon -- I'm convinced that my family member is alive today because of his extraordinary expertise, his willingness to take on a difficult case, and his exceptional sensitivity and compassion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 13th, 2016
He operated without looking at my CT scans . It ended up 9 hours . The robotics became explore lap. Fixed my right kidney. Turned out I didn't have a right kidney. My cancer Stage from 1 became stage 4 after 8 months , because there was no chemo done, I had an aggressive kind. I complained pain... No CT scan was done 3 -6 months after my hysterectomy of stage 1 , grade 2 uterine cancer . I was one mess
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 26th, 2016
Above and Beyond
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I live in Austin and after my diagnosis I was anxious to start my treatment. The Austin office didn't give me much hope of seeing me very soon so I requested an appointment at the Dallas Texas Oncology. My records were sent over on Wednesday and by Wednesday evening I received a phone call from Dr. Koon. He was concerned that my file might have been misdirected since I lived in Austin. I explained everything to him. He offered to talk with Dr. Teneriello in Austin and see what could be worked out. About 3 hours later at 9:30 pm, he called back and told me he had contacted Dr. T and he gave me the name and number to call in the morning. On Thursday morning I was given an appointment for the NEXT day with Dr. T. Then on Friday morning as I was waiting to see the doctor, Dr. Koon called me again to check to make sure if I had gotten in and assured me that he would treat me if I wanted to come to Dallas but reassured me that I would be in good hands in Austin. This is a doctor that went above and beyond to assist someone he did not know, long distance, and after hours. I wish I were in Dallas because I most certainly would be his patient! Words cannot express how I appreciate his help. Thank you Dr. Koon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
March 10th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Koon is incredible. He took what could have been an incredibly difficult experience and made me comfortable and confident. He was skilled, accurate, prepared, kind, compassionate, and very attentive. I recommend him without hesitation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 25th, 2014
Honorable Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My first meeting with Dr Koon took away much of my fear of surgery. By the end of the meeting I found I trusted him completely. He was very thorough in his examination. My second meeting prior to surgery, also gave me confidence in him as I perceived a bold, yet reassuring person. The surgery was a long and difficult one, but there have been no complications. Dr Koon is a caring competent surgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 16th, 2013
Successful and Satisfied
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Surgery is not on my list of most anticipated things to experience. Dr. Koon and his staff helped bring calm to a frantic situation. I highly recommend them!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 18th, 2013
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I just had my first appointment with Dr. Koon. I am single and came to the appointment alone. I was very nervous and anxious. He did not seem to pick up on my need for a compassionate discussion of my upcoming surgery. He was all business and very serious. When he discussed possible complications, he did not share the likelihood of these complications and I just got more worried. I am sure he is very knowledgeable and competent, but I was not impressed with his bedside manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 11th, 2013
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am extremely thankful for being one of Dr. Koon's patients. I am certain he has given me the best care possible. He is gentle, kind, compassionate and professional. He listens to your concerns and cares about your well being. I would recommend him with a big thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 2nd, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Saved my life - very compassionate and personable bedside manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 12th, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Can't say enough good things about Dr. Koon. I was sent to him after first doctor botched my cancer surgery; he came in and literally saved the day. I am forever grateful for the care provided by Dr. Koon and his staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Erik Koon, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Dallas, TX.

Doctor

Dr. Carolyn Matthews

32 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Monique Spillman

18 years experience

4.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Claude Stringer

40 years experience

4.2 of 5