The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Evan Karas Is this you?
  • 14
  • 2
  • 1
  • 3
  • 9

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
12.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Evan Karas?


29 Ratings with 10 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 29th, 2016

Best Doctor for orthopedic problems.

Dr Karas performed rotator cuff surgery in 2015, three ligaments were torn. He fixed my shoulder and the outcome was excellent. Dr Karas will explore every possible alternative before he recommends surgery. He has always given me his full attention during visits. He is very personable and caring. I have never felt rushed or ignored. I rate Dr Karas a 5+. His staff is also very friendly and attentive. Never have a problem speaking directly with his nurse. If you have an orthopedic problem Dr Karas should be your first choice. I was not paid to write this review nor am I a friend or family member of Dr Karas

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 21st, 2015

Positive results

After seeing 2 other doctors, Dr. Karas diagnosed my daughters shoulder problem. He was professional and performed surgery to remove bone spur and calcium build up, which cause tremendous pain in my daughters arm every time she threw a softball. Following the surgery and 5 months later, my daughters arm was stronger than ever with zero pain. She just finished an incredible year and will be playing at a D2 school. Thank you Dr. Karas!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 20th, 2015

Stay far away

Horrible comp. experience , was rude arrogant and misdiagnosed me. Ruined my life. My shoulders are so bad he did not fix anything refused to listen. He was a know it all. I wished I never stepped foot in his office. I can not believe how he treated me. I am struggling to make ends met. He ruined my comp case. Do yourself a favor go to someone else. I meet someone that worked for him and they said he was arrogant!!!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 22nd, 2014

This doctor not only did not explain the specifics of my bone break, but he told me to come back in a month and then cancelled my appointment with no provision to have me seen by another doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 27th, 2014

Excellent experience and outcome

From my first appointment trying to determine what was wrong with my shoulder through the 3 month checkup after surgery, my experience with Dr. Karas was as professional and qualitative as any medical experience I have had. His approach is pleasant and honest with excellent communication skills. Every appointment was on time throughout the process and the surgery experience could not have been better, from the in processing at the hospital, to the interaction with his nurses and assistants. His surgical expertise fixed my debillitating shoulder condition, and he did it with a pleasant approach which is so sorely missing from some circles of the medical profession these days. I would not hesitate to recommend Dr. Karas.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 26th, 2013

Arrogant and bad results from my surgery and unfortunately I found out later many others in the community. Don't go!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 22nd, 2013

Stay far away from this one!!!!

The most arrogent and condesending person, should not be a Dr. He ruined me and would not take resposibility. Did not listen to my concerns and kept saying I do not know why your in pain. Really, sorry I stept foot in his office. He was my comp. Dr. I wish the Ins. Dr was my treating Dr. he helped me more than this poor excuse of a Dr. He was like the Tasmanian Devil, barely spent any time with, I don't think I could pick him out of a line up that's how much time he spent with me. I made a major mistake and I have to live with that decision the rest of my life. Thanks Dr. Karas I don't know how you live with yourself. I wish I could give no stars.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 4th, 2012

Did not fix problem. MRI stilled showed that I had a tear but he never told me about it just brushed it under rug. Still having problem with shoulder 2 years later and worse then before I had surgery. Very nasty and doesn't answer your questions. He makes you feel like your bothering him. I used him for a workmens comp. case. Gave me a horrible percentage loss. The IME was way above what he gave an he was suppose to be my Dr. The IME took his time an explained everything to me. Dr. Karas was suppose to do that. Can not say anything positive.
Wait time
2 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

2.3 Rating

December 27th, 2011

Dr Karas performed orthoscopic surgery to remove a bone spur and rotator cuff surgery to repair torn rotator cuff. A year and a half later, the shoulder was still painful and an Xray by another doctor showed the bone spur had not been completely removed. In addition, Dr. Karas was condescending and all pre surgery visits were rushed and cursory.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 16th, 2011

Dr.Karas is a surgeon who leaves surgery to the last option. Explains condition and causes fully.Very specific as to follow on treatment or management. Very human. A top percentile off physicians.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

October 26th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

October 15th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Evan Karas is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Fishkill, NY.

  • Dr. Marshal Peris

    Dr. Marshal Peris

    Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine, Orthopedic Surgery

    Fishkill, NY 0 mi

    4.5
    (27)
    21
  • Dr. Daniel Kelmanovich

    Foot and Ankle Orthopedics, Orthopedic Surgery

    Fishkill, NY 0 mi

    4.4
    (18)
    9
  • Dr. Yigal Samocha

    Dr. Yigal Samocha

    Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine, Orthopedic Surgery

    Fishkill, NY 0 mi

    4.2
    (29)
    10