The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Fariborz Ashtyani Is this you?
  • 10
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
  • 9

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
19.3 min
Spends Time With Me
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup
Bedside Manner

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Fariborz Ashtyani?


23 Ratings with 10 Comments

5.0 Rating

September 28th, 2016

The office staff was friendly and Dr. Ashtyani took the time to explain my condition to me, including me with my care which made me feel extremely comfortable. I highly recommend this MD.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 8th, 2015

Liars and thieves

I urge all potential patients to steer as far away from Dr. Fariborz Ashtyani as is possible. He is a money-grubber and a cheat. I went to the doctor with a concern about sleep apnea. Four weeks later I am undiagnosed and several hundred dollars in the hole. Dr. Ashtyani's racket goes like this: You go for a consultation and pay your copay; Dr. Ashtyani shows up late, orders unnecessary tests--falsifying your sleepiness report if necessary--, and charges your insurance $600. He brings you into the office as often as possible in order to wring every last penny from you, all the while beating around the bush and supplying unhelpful, potentially misleading information about your actual medical needs. I went to pick up a device for a sleep home test--and his office charged me another copay just for walking in the door. Hackensack Sleep & Pulmonary is a den of thieves. I beg you, don't make the mistake I did: Do your research about this scheming, thieving practice; stay far, far away from Dr. Fariborz Ashtyani.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 21st, 2014

Dr. Ashtyani saved my friend. He is very busy, but when we needed him the most he always gave us his time. I am always very nice to the office staff and they have always treated me the same.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 2nd, 2014

PLEASE SAVE YOURSELF TIME AND MONEY, FIND A DR WITH COMPASSION THAT RESPECTS HIS PATIENTS AND KNOW'S HOW TO COMMUNICATE WITH THEM. DR ASHTYANI IS NOT IT! HE IS RUDE , CONDESCENDING AND DISRESPECTFUL TO SAY THE LEAST !

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 19th, 2013

Irresponsible & Unethical Practice

Dr. F. Ashtyani runs a poor practice. All the practice cares about is making money. They made wrong recommendations for me that injured me. I am chronically physically ill, and my wish is that the medical board revokes his membership. The staff is as awful as him. Please go elsewhere!

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 1st, 2012

Followup is a joke

I have been waiting nearly two months for my equipment to begin treating my problem. I have called and emailed the office numerous times and get the same story every time, "the person that checked you out is no longer here but we will look into it and call you back". No one has ever called me back . I am considering notifying my insurance carrier that this doctor should be charged with insurance fraud as i have gone through a few office visits and mask fitting and very expensive sleep study and yet they refuse to provide treatment for my sleep apnea. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR TREATMENT FOR YOU SLEEP DISORDER - GO ELSEWHERE!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 8th, 2011

EXCELLENT
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

August 11th, 2010

Dr. Ashtyani does not like to spend too much time explaining or answering questions. Poor bedside manners. Office staff is rude and disrespectful. Wait time is unreal. Will not go back to this doctor again.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 4th, 2010

An excellent Physician

Dr F. Ashytani spends a lot of time discussing my condition and the ways to moderate my breathing problems. He has been my physician for eight years and has cared for me by keeping me as healthy as possible through the use of good science and sound judgement.I highly recommend Dr. F. Ashytani to all.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 10th, 2008

Dr. Ashtyani is especially good with sleep issues, he uses the sleep lab wisely, and really tries to pinpoint the problems. He also knows when to stop a patient from worrying too much, and how to dismiss a false alarm. A great sleep disorder diagnostician!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 6th, 2017

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me

4.0 Rating

August 28th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Fariborz Ashtyani is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Hackensack, NJ.

  • Dr. Deborah Goss

    Pulmonary Disease, Internal Medicine, Critical Care Medicine, Sleep Medicine

    Hackensack, NJ 0 mi

    4.3
    (29)
    20
  • Dr. Vivian Bethala

    Dr. Vivian Bethala

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Hackensack, NJ 0 mi

    4.2
    (24)
    41
  • Dr. Richard Lin

    Dermatology, Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Hackensack, NJ 0 mi

    4.1
    (12)
    18