Dr. Fayette Mcelhannon Jr MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Orangeburg, SC

Overall Rating

3.0
  • 31 patient ratings
  • 15 comments

Last 12 months:

3.5 (+ 0.5)

31 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    42%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    13%
  • Poor
    3%
  • Bad
    42%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 27.1 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 1st, 2015
Knee replacement
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
In 2012 he did a total knee replacement, and put the wrong size in. After weeks of therapy with no results i was told by another Dr. That it would never bend because it was to big. So i had to have it replaced again by another dr. With the right size. He is rude and very unprofessional person and I would not recommend him to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 19th, 2015
Avoid this hateful Doctor
Wait time
45 minutes
I went to this man to find out what was wrong with my shoulder. He was very rude and asked unnecessary questions.. He asked how at 51 I can be so lean and in shape. He asked me if I was taking enhancement drugs, as if that was my reason for not being over weight with sagging weak muscles. (Jealous I guess). Didn't spend much time with me but was very hateful and when he left the room he said," Go, Go do whatever it is your going to do." Do not go to this doctor. The only reason he got 1 star is because I could not submit the review without it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 18th, 2015
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
He has poor bedside manner with both patient and family. I would NOT recommend him for treatment because he shows no compassion and has an attitude.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 14th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor Mack was great. He's very direct and an excellent surgeon. He might seem brusque, but I don't want my doctor to be ambivalent. Plus, he's funny, well-informed and experienced.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 22nd, 2013
WORST DOCTOR EVER
This Doctor is very unpleasant, unhappy, and judgmental. When you walk into the office it is just a miserable place to be. He almost gives you the impression that he is "secretly" practicing, another words, he should have retired a long time ago. He is bitter and condescending. He does NOT enjoy his work, he should have never became a Doctor. If you value your health and your recovery, do not go to this man. And if you don't believe me, schedule an appointment with him today and see for yourself, then you will be writing a review. The only reason I gave him the one star is because the website makes me at least give him that but, he doesn't deserve it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 21st, 2012
...And Wrong!
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Appropriate Follow-up
To add insult to injury (literally) he did in fact misdiagnose me!Pro-tip: You don't see ligament damage on X-rays, you need an MRI.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 7th, 2012
great
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
love this doctor
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 26th, 2012
Rude and Condescending, Doesn't Listen
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I have to repeat what others have said about this doctor being rude. I don't need "fluff" from my doctors but I do need them to listen to me. He ignored me I explained which joint I had pain in (he insisted I had pain in both), flat out called me a liar about losing weight, and practically ran out the room as I was trying to ask follow-up questions.Regarding my ratings:This was a referral; I don't know how hard it is to get an appointment on your own.My wait was 30 minutes past the start time but I wasn't waiting long once I got in a room.Time will tell if the diagnosis was accurate.He doesn't intend to follow up with this so...meh.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
March 20th, 2012
Excellent, no nonsense doctor!
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I suffered with severe pain in my lower back and legs with muscle twitching in both legs. I spent over a year going to Emory Clinic as they ruled out neurological disorders. Doctor McElhannon informed me on the second visit that I had Congenital Lumbar Spinal Stenosis that required surgery to try to correct. He was very honest with me, stating that surgery had about a 70% success rate. He did not push me to have surgery, stating it was a "life changing" decision I must make based on the information provided. I have had 2 surgeries to try to correct the problem, but unfortunately I still suffer from pain in my left leg and low back. Doctor McElhannon is an excellent surgeon who was totally honest and extremely helpful in my recovery. If you need an excellent ortho surgeon who will be totally honest with you about your care, Dr McElhannon is your doctor. He will tell you straight up what needs to be done, even strongly suggesting getting a second opinion when surgery is recommended. I highly recommend!

1.0 of 5
May 7th, 2011
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
no bedside manner. rude,arrogant, did not investigate, the problem and did not help me. wanted to do surgery very disapointed and wasted my time and money.will have to get a second opinion
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 10th, 2010
NO BEDSIDE MANNER!!!!
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This man is on the verge of being vicious. He is very rude and very very cold. We had to redo the surgery because he did'nt get it right.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 17th, 2010
My Wife's Back Surgery
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
One of the best doctors we have ever been to. His staff is the best, Melissa and Patty are an asset to his practice. After my wife's back surgery he was in touch with her everyday even though he was on vacation in Alaska. He was calling her from his personal cell phone at least 3 times a day to check on her. His bed side manner is old school but that is a plus, he will tell you like it is with no fluff. You know where you stand with Dr Mac. I would recommend anyone to him that has an orthopedic issue. He is doing a second surgery on her tomorrow, that's how we feel about his professionalism and his ability!! He is the best in Athens or maybe even in Georgia!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Fayette Mcelhannon Jr, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Orangeburg, SC.