Dr. Fayez Chahfe MD Patient Reviews

  • Otolaryngology Utica, NY

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 27 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 0.4)

27 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    56%
  • Great
    19%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    7%
  • Bad
    19%
  • Wait Time 38.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 2nd, 2016
saved my life
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
16 years ago this Doctor operated on me for throat cancer. After chemo and radiation. I am cancer free. In 2015 I had to go back to the hospital the radiation had caused the area separating my lungs from my stomach developed fissures causing aspiration of anything I swallowed after trying many procedures he was able to correct the problem. So that was twice he saved me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 11th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Your worst nightmare
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 5th, 2015
patient
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
horrible bedside manner, per se, in that he tells you nothing. Sniff this. What? Sniff this. I gagged, choked and sneezed. He handed me a tissue and went out the room. He could have told me he was anesthetizing my throat so he could look at my vocal cords. Im not a child. He tells you nothing, just does it. I knew the lesion on my uvula was big. He said, no problem, in and out, iv sedation, can go to work the next day. It took the whole uvula, stating he needed to increase the margins so it did not return. Duh. They did general endotracheal anesthesia, without even telling me! I told them I had neck problems and was so sore from the positioning, I could barely move the next day. His staff treated me like I was a bother, there is no communication, courtesy, etc., AND the preop instructions were so rude, misspelled words (amblatory), capitalization, wording (highighted and capitalized) IF YOU DO NOT KEEP YOUR PREOP ANESTHESIOLOGY APPOINTMENT, YOUR SURGERY COULD BE CANCELED. Really? the whole page highlighted and declared. I felt devalued. Suggestion: To ensure you surgery goes as planned, please follow these instructions, and if unable to for any reason, call this number to report the problem. I mean, people, I came to you for help, dont treat me like cattle lined up for slaughter! and Doc, inform your patients on what to expect. I dont want a narcotic, why wouldn't you asked me? and suggest something else. Im done.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 29th, 2013
terrible doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I do not understand why this man is still in practice. He horribly misdiagnosed my mother causing her months and months of agony and dizziness. When I tried to get an appointment with a different ENT in the city of Utica, I was told by EVERY other ENT I called they would not see my mother if she had been to this man. I had to leave the city and take her to another ENT in another city. He is only intersted in how much money he can get from you. And I am still waiting for a call back --- I won't hold my breath,
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 26th, 2012
Probably knowledgeable, but terrible service
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He's seemingly highly trained/educated and involved with his profession on a national scale (associations, etc.) However, unless you're a serious/cancer patient, etc. (not that we have experience with this severity, but I hope the service is better for them) you're seemingly a statistic/bill payer from the time you walk in. You'll typically wait 1 hour avg and then spend less than 4 minutes with the Dr himself. He'll walk in, look at you, talk for a minute & then you're done. Come back in 6 weeks. A week after seeing Chahfe for 3 mins (we timed it) & hearing everything's fine, we took our daughter to another ENT somewhat in the area and everything was not fine at all. Far more thorough- they took weights, measurements, etc. (Chahfe's had never done that - how do they even know the right anti-biotic script?)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 10th, 2010
Up coming surgery
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
To receive a call from the staff about an upcoming surgery has been 3 days now and no call back to me. The Doctor is EXCELLENT but to schedule anything takes an excessive amount of time and the answering machine tells us that our call will be returned...but they are not returned in over 3 days now!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 20th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 20th, 2017
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 of 5
May 12th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 22nd, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 19th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 17th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Fayez Chahfe, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Utica, NY.