Dr. Frances Gurtman MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 9 reviews

Last 12 months:

3.0 (-0.3)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    53%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    37%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 27.5 minutes

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

1.0 of 5
February 24th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have written the last three reviews. If I could I would delete them to write just one but can't. I think each point is important for other people to evaluate. I have to follow with last issue. I came to feel she didn't like me, thought I was basically a complainer with anxieties. She essentially told me she didn't want to see me until physical. Were she familiar with all reactions to meds she would have known it wasn't anxiety. Each time she treated me this way I became more anxious about seeing her. This became an impossible situation for me over time. I left. A kind and patient cardiologist resolved bp issue easily. I recently had hip surgery and developed complications. My new Pcp stepped in, getting me into rehab quickly. It took a lot of effort and caring. I don't think I would have gotten this from Dr gurtman. She would have written it off to anxiety. A little respect goes a long way. I had once thought very highly of her. Unfortunately in my opinion has changed. I do think she caused me some harm by her attitude.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 27th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Not a good doctor if your problems are nebulous. If can't find answer downplays symptoms, too slow to bring in specialist even when asked. Blames anxieties. On two occasions specialists were shocked I hadn't been referred sooner. Actually need hip replacement but Gurtman said I didn't need to see orthopedist when I asked. In addition complaints about hip and back pain were dismissed with callous disregard. Advise walk a lot--sure while in agony. She had made it apparent she didn't know how to treat me and didn't like treating me but never suggested I change docs or see specialist. Her failing; mine was staying too long. Only good for some conditions. I won't advise seeing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 27th, 2015
Not for me
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She didn't grasp completely how sensitive I am to medications and thought I was overreacting. Insisted I stay on med that was causing serious side effects. I became sicker and sicker. She treated me in demeaning manner and told me to see a psychologist. She was not able to recognize the problem was physical. Fortunately, I was strong enough to use my own judgment, stopped med and was better immediately. Changed docs and realized how her approach had affected me negatively. Can't recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She used to be a better listener. However, now if she has her mind made up as to what is wrong she can't hear you. She caused me a great deal of unnecessary pain for quite a while because she dismissed what I was saying. I have changed PCPs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 10th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would highly recommend Dr. Gurtman to my friends and everyone! I love my Doctor, she spends time with me, doesn't rush me, very knowledgable and I feel comfortable with her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 19th, 2014
Mediocre at best
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
In the past two weeks, I had waited twice for more then 45 minutes and she never showed up. I left the practice without being seen due to other commitments.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 29th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great diagnostician thorough attention to details. Calm manner and great listener.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 7th, 2011
Will never see this doctor again
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very poor manner. Does not spend enough time with her patients and does not seem interested in the patient's welfare.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 26th, 2009
Truly a "Top Doc"
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I have been a patient of Dr. Gurtman's for many years. She is extremely caring, a great listener, and makes you feel heard. She has returned my calls on evenings and weekends at home, and personally follows up on test results. She's amazing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Frances Gurtman, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near West Hartford, CT.

Doctor

Dr. Deborah Keightley

24 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Susan Stone

17 years experience

4.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Elizabeth Fasy

23 years experience

4.1 of 5