Physiatrists
14 years of experience
Video profile
Accepting new patients
Bayshore
Atlantic Orthopedics Pa
8115 Market St
Ste 108
Wilmington, NC 28411
910-763-2361
Locations and availability (5)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
2.5
  • Currently 2.5 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

25

Total Reviews

9

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 2.3529411764706 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 2.25 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 2.4117647058824 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 2.625 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 2.5 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 2.5 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 2.2666666666667 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 29 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Run the other way & fast!  |  show details
by Miss T on Feb 19th, 2014

Run the other way. Has a temper if you don't get results immediately after injections. He discusses politics and anything else he's p o'ed with at the time of your injections, not listening to your concerns, feelings or pains you are having at that time. I've had more trouble from all the injections that I received from him, causing other problems. FIND ANOTHER DR!!!!. No other pain management Dr. will see me after receiving my records from him. I had to give a one star ratings to get my review in. I TAKE IT BACK!

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  very bad am looseing my leg  |  show details
by Charles South on Feb 8th, 2014

I saw this Dr. twice one time for injections for my legs they lasted for three days I was to go back for injections for my back as I was getting ready I ask the nurse if I was signing the same papers that I signed before she said yes every body signs them but they still sue us I suppose that should have gave me a red flag.When this Dr. went in my back he hit a nerve and I sit there for over an hr. with nothing below my waist after my feeling started coming back they put me in my car and sent me home after a yr.and a half I am slowly looseing my left leg...I hope to some day see a class action lawsuit against this Dr. I don't believe I am the only one he has hurt

Mark as Helpful  | 5 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Great doctor  |  show details
Sep 10th, 2013

I think Dr Pecoraro is a fabulous doctor. He is a kind, gentle mn who understands everything that I have gone through medically.He is wonderful, and has helped me a lot.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Amazing doctor!  |  show details
Mar 25th, 2013

Actually understands hard to treat illnesses and learns more about them to help even more.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Unprofessional  |  show details
by J and J on Mar 9th, 2013

Dr.Francis S. Pecoraro,MD was referred by my Internal doctor. My first visit was scheduled at 0840 AM. arrived ten minutes late at front desk. Had to wait 20 minutes while person before me was processing.at desk. My information and picture was taken and copay was given Receipt for paying Co-pay was typed 0900 hrs. Sat in waiting area, filling out forms, for at least 15 minutes. Nurse called my name and walked over to inform me that the doctor told her to inform me, I could not see the doctor because I was one hour late from time of the scheduled appointment. I was told that I could come in the next day between 0900 to 1000 hrs. i arrived the next day at 0855 hours. told front desk that I had an appointment between 0900 to 1000 hrs. Sat in waiting room for 15 minutes, nurse called me back and I was placed in examining room and nurse asked questions and wrote down information. a second nurse came and took PB and pulse. Waited with husband for 15 minutes. Asked husband to look and see when doctor was to come in room. As husband opened door to see, Dr. Pecoraro immediately met him and asked him what he was doing. Dr .Pecoraro instantly became adamint towards me and stated that he could not be my doctor and that he could recommend other pain medicine facilities and he immediately turned to his nurse, who was standing at open door and handed him a paper containing the information. His action immediately suggested that he had already made up his mind even before entering the examining room, and had never seen or spoke to with me. Dr. Pecoraro was unprofessional in his actions and words, especially having never met me as a patient.

Mark as Helpful  | 9 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Feb 1st, 2013

He said twice he couldnt spend much time with me as soon in the beginning of our doctor patient initial interview. Also most of his staff is very rude!

Mark as Helpful  | 9 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Caring, knowlegable Dr.  |  show details
Jul 31st, 2011

I highly recommend Dr. P to anyone who wants a kind, caring doctor who will actually take time to listen to your problems and find a solution to them. He is the first doctor I've had that truly understands Fibromyalgia & the pain,fatigue & depression that goes with it. He is a great doctor.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jun 9th, 2010

After years of suffering from chronic pain and trying every possible treatment and solution (Family Doc, Neuro, Acupuncture, Chiropractor and so on) I was referred to Dr Pecoraro at the beginning of 2010. I was willing to try anything at this point. After my Family Doc sent the referral it took the office over 2 weeks to call me for an appointment that was 5 weeks later. (I too had called and called to see what the holdup was and was told I could only speak to one person who wasnt even the person who called me back) First appointment I waited over an hour in the waiting room and then another hour and a half in the back office. First seen by I assume a LPN, then Dr Pecoraro came in pushed around on my head, shoulders, neck, checked my motor skills, asked a few simple questions (and did not want to take the time to hear about my past 10 years of what I have been trying) said youve got xxxxx, you will probably need Botox but try Physical Therapy first. That took another 2 weeks to get scheduled as its also at Atlantic Ortho. PT staff was friendly and seemed like they genuinely cared and even admitted after 3 sessions that it wasnt going to help and I should inquire about the Botox. During all of this I was given muscle relaxers and Percocet the max strength ( 325-10 I believe ) and I weigh 120 pounds and made it clear that I drove in my car all day and I had a 3 year old. Anyhow, I am already prescribed Vicodin from my regular doc that works well. I never had the script filled and just dropped it at Walgreens as a hold. Later I receive a call that they called him and tore it up because I was already receiving Vicodin from another doc( Which was no secret when I told them what meds I was taking). I called and left a message at his office that I was not getting it filled to begin with and that I had just left in my file at Walgreens. Next, 30 days later after Therapy, I go back and see his PA Jill. Explained again the mix-up at Walgreens as I never had intentions to get it filled and I didnt want them to think I was some sort of drug addict ( I did try the muscle relaxers and that was not an option for me with being behind the wheel of a car all day, everyday). I was at that appt merely to see whats next for Botox injections. She left the room and had me complete a form on drug abuse policy. I signed it, then she in 1 minute or less said, we will have him write a letter to your insurance company for Botox approval. In the meantime, we will see you in thirty days. I ask, why come back? Will I be approved by then? She then says no but you will need med refills right? I said no, that I had the vicodin from my regular doc and that I again I never had the Percocet filled ( obviously) and the muscle relaxers as I know that is too much for me to take. She then wrote me another script for Percoet, and one for another muscle relaxer ( that was supposed to be non-drowsy and gave me samples and told me to at least try try on the weekends when you dont have to drive. That I did, and spent a day asleep in bed on a Saturday, never even got past the muscle relaxer sample pack). I then decided that wasnt going to work and when I needed a refill for the Vicodin I called my family doc. Before my 30 day follow up I called and called, leaving numerous messages, was Botox approved? Will some one please call me back No response. So I went to the appt, was told it wasnt approved or denied and to call my insurance company to see what the hold up was ( again another $40 co-pay ) At the beginning of that appt the LPN checked my vitals, asked how the meds were working and I said I tried them and could not take. But after I was abruptly told by Jill that I needed to call my insurance company she says, You signed a policy that you would use us as your place for prescriptions, and we know you had Vicodin filled I said yes, I just told your med-tech that and even offered to give the Percocet back to the PA ( but she doesnt want to listen to one word I am saying), unused except for the pills that I had taken on Saturday ( they were at home and I was willing to go get them ). She then said, well then I assume you will have meds filled with the other doctor, call your insurance company yourself and if you get approved call us to make an appointment and we will administer Botox. I was trying to ask additional questions as she was walking me to the check out counter. At this point I was so furious for the way I was treated like a drug addict, insurance, lack of assistance, etc.. I just checked out and left ( again this was a 2 hour wait appt ) I got in my car an immediately called my insurance company and was told that Atlantic Orthopedics never sent anything to them to approve. After weeks of calls and messages, someone finally called me back and left a message while I was working and said it was sent in. Days later I receive denial from insurance, so another week of calling Atlantic to find out what to do next, Im told, you need to see Dr Pecoraro and have him re-examine you and he will submit another letter ($40 again ). ( In the letter from insurance, the reasons for denial would not have been reason if on the first appointment he would have listened to me ) because it was saying I had not tried other therapies, meds etc which I had. At this point Im so furious I call my regular docs office and ask about going elsewhere or if they could do Botox there and help get approved but that is not something that is done from that office. I stayed upset for a few weeks but with migraines and neck pain decide to suck it up and call for an appointment to be examined. 5 calls later over 2 weeks time and no response, I call and just keep pressing 0 until someone will listen to me, I could kick myself for not writing down her name she says oh, well if thats all you need is an appointment I can do that It was scheduled for 4 weeks later. On the day of appt, I get there 15 minutes early expecting to spend half my day there waiting and was determined that he was going to listen to what I had to say. At this point, I have co-pays and PT bills. Guess what? No one made me an appointment, they added a note in the system that said I called inquiring about my Botox approval. So furious, because the check in rep that could care less was not helpful.. Unless I wanted to re-schedule again this was 5 weeks out again. I asked for my medical records and was told to go to front, sign papers and pay for them to be mailed in 7-10 days. This is where I stand, except I have read comments here and other sites that all sound the same, so I am now going to get referred to another Pain Management specialist. I do not recommend this place, I feel like they are just out to get as much $ from co-pays, insurance and therapy. They are rude, careless and have terrible bedside manners. Last, the person who commented before me about him yelling, ironically, I heard him yelling at someone on my second visit while I was being seen by the PA. I was in the room over and couldnt make out what, but it was obviously uncalled for, no matter what, you dont yell at the customers/patients that pay your expensive bills.

Mark as Helpful  | 11 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Very unprofessional  |  show details
by Joanne Parnell on Nov 5th, 2009

From the moment he walked in the door he was angry about the condition of medical field due to the possibity of new laws by government. He went on a long time about his anger. About how the AMA did nothing for the doctors at all.He did look at my x-rays, but none of my reports, didn't read one. He never mentioned my spinal stenosis, my herniated discs at all. He did a slight physical exam & began to talk about injections for my arthritis. I asked about my spinal stenosis, he told me I didn't have any signs and I asked him what the signs were. One is the inability to walk for more than 10 minutes. I began to explain that's whats wrong with me, He told me to lower my voice,then per his words " I'm to be treated with respect and dignity, I'm the doctor and you're not and the fact is I don't even have to treat you, in fact, I won't treat you, get out"!!!!!!!! There treatments are about 6 yrs behind the ones I had in Chicago, apparently they don't care about updating their field. If someone like this cannot seperate his personal views from the patient than all his patients could be in jeopardy.

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse