Dr. Francis Pecoraro MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.1
  • 52 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

2.5 (-0.6)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    44%
  • Satisfied
    8%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    13%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    35%
  • Wait Time 30.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
November 16th, 2016
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am a 71 year- old male who has been physically injured, due to the injections administered to me by Dr. Pecoraro for back pain. Prior to the injections, I was a healthy male with minimal limitations in my daily physical activities. After the injections, the area became inflamed and infected. I currently have nerve damage, unsteady gait, walk with a limp and have frequent leg spasms. Upon trying to follow up with Dr. Pecoraro, I received a letter saying he no longer wanted to see me. Besides his malpractice and mistreatment of his patients, he hides from his victims. BEWARE.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 26th, 2015
Pleasantly Surprised
Today was my first time to see this Dr. Until now I had only seen his PA. I had to reschedule due to the office accidentally scheduling me on a holiday. That was not an issue, things happen. In any case, when I rescheduled I was told I would need to see Dr. Pecoraro. I checked his reviews, which did not read many positive entries, so I was quite concerned. Cutting to the chase, I must say my visit was pleasant. He does seem very busy but considering they were 2 hours behind, it is quite understandable. His demeanor was stern, to the point with time as a clear factor, what you would expect from a Dr faced with a daily flood of patients, patients that abuse medical treatment and those who actually need pain relief and the need to weed through such madness. He listened, asked relevant questions and did a good check on me and my function being that it was my first visit with him. My current medication treatment was continued and new less medicated options were suggested for more invasive treatment for the near future. I learned of some new options for my treatment and left the office without some major incident, so all in all, this was a great visit. My suggestion to anyone coming in to see Pecoraro, be respectful, don't whine and give a sob story, just tell him what you are having trouble with. Be clear about your issues.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 24th, 2015
Promptness
Friendly Staff
This MD is a pill-pusher ... nothing less, nothing more .... Worst experience every ... believes in himself as the godess "in white" One Star because of indicated field - not because of any other reason
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 6th, 2015
Best Doctor I've Ever Had
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very intelligent and doesn't treat me like a number or "robot," but as an individual.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 18th, 2014
Not a Fan
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would not recommend , there are enough other Dr.. to choose from, he is not pleasant and I felt uneasy in his ability. I would recommend most Dr. in this organization however he is not one of them. He was very unpleasant and seemed like he was up to late nite before...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 30th, 2014
Where Did These Negative Reviews Come From?
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After reading these reviews prior to my procedure, I was prepared for a rude, arrogant, "get it done and over" doctor and an unpleasant experience all around. NOTHING COULD BE FURTHER FROM THE TRUTH! To begin with, I arrived five minutes ahead of my appointment time at Ortho Wilmington, was greeted warmly by the staff and taken right at my appointment time. I chose to not meet with Dr. Pecoraro. prior to my procedure. Since I had been referred by my Orthopedic Surgeon with specific instructions from him, I felt it not necessary to meet with someone I was predisposed not to like much. Upon entering the room, he introduced himself and got right to work. I was getting a cortisone epidural in my spine, and I admit to being a little uptight about the whole deal. While undergoing the procedure, I had a vasovagal episode where my blood pressure suddenly dropped and I was in danger of passing out. Dr. Pecoraro and his assistant Lauren immediately responded to my distress and kept me calm and reassured through the last few minutes of the procedure, then quickly addressed the low blood pressure issue. This was not my first experience with vasovagal syncope, but Dr. Pecoraro was the first doctor to take the time to explain to me what happened and why. Contrary to the low ratings and complaints that I read on this site, I would rate Dr. Pecoraro and his assistant Lauren higher than a four-star if I could. They were both so efficient and at the same time so genuinely caring. I realize it often takes several shots to relieve pain like I have; and although I truly hope I don't need another one, I know that if I do, I will be better prepared to handle my tendency for vasovagal episodes and I can depend on Dr. Pecoraro and Lauren to get me through again if needed. THEY ARE A WONDERFUL TEAM!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 8th, 2014
very bad am looseing my leg
I saw this Dr. twice one time for injections for my legs they lasted for three days I was to go back for injections for my back as I was getting ready I ask the nurse if I was signing the same papers that I signed before she said yes every body signs them but they still sue us I suppose that should have gave me a red flag.When this Dr. went in my back he hit a nerve and I sit there for over an hr. with nothing below my waist after my feeling started coming back they put me in my car and sent me home after a yr.and a half I am slowly looseing my left leg...I hope to some day see a class action lawsuit against this Dr. I don't believe I am the only one he has hurt
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 10th, 2013
Great doctor
I think Dr Pecoraro is a fabulous doctor. He is a kind, gentle mn who understands everything that I have gone through medically.He is wonderful, and has helped me a lot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 25th, 2013
Amazing doctor!
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Actually understands hard to treat illnesses and learns more about them to help even more.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 31st, 2011
Caring, knowlegable Dr.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I highly recommend Dr. P to anyone who wants a kind, caring doctor who will actually take time to listen to your problems and find a solution to them. He is the first doctor I've had that truly understands Fibromyalgia & the pain,fatigue & depression that goes with it. He is a great doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 9th, 2010
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After years of suffering from chronic pain and trying every possible treatment and solution (Family Doc, Neuro, Acupuncture, Chiropractor and so on) I was referred to Dr Pecoraro at the beginning of 2010. I was willing to try anything at this point. After my Family Doc sent the referral it took the office over 2 weeks to call me for an appointment that was 5 weeks later. (I too had called and called to see what the holdup was and was told I could only speak to one person who wasnt even the person who called me back) First appointment I waited over an hour in the waiting room and then another hour and a half in the back office. First seen by I assume a LPN, then Dr Pecoraro came in pushed around on my head, shoulders, neck, checked my motor skills, asked a few simple questions (and did not want to take the time to hear about my past 10 years of what I have been trying) said youve got xxxxx, you will probably need Botox but try Physical Therapy first. That took another 2 weeks to get scheduled as its also at Atlantic Ortho. PT staff was friendly and seemed like they genuinely cared and even admitted after 3 sessions that it wasnt going to help and I should inquire about the Botox. During all of this I was given muscle relaxers and Percocet the max strength ( 325-10 I believe ) and I weigh 120 pounds and made it clear that I drove in my car all day and I had a 3 year old. Anyhow, I am already prescribed Vicodin from my regular doc that works well. I never had the script filled and just dropped it at Walgreens as a hold. Later I receive a call that they called him and tore it up because I was already receiving Vicodin from another doc( Which was no secret when I told them what meds I was taking). I called and left a message at his office that I was not getting it filled to begin with and that I had just left in my file at Walgreens. Next, 30 days later after Therapy, I go back and see his PA Jill. Explained again the mix-up at Walgreens as I never had intentions to get it filled and I didnt want them to think I was some sort of drug addict ( I did try the muscle relaxers and that was not an option for me with being behind the wheel of a car all day, everyday). I was at that appt merely to see whats next for Botox injections. She left the room and had me complete a form on drug abuse policy. I signed it, then she in 1 minute or less said, we will have him write a letter to your insurance company for Botox approval. In the meantime, we will see you in thirty days. I ask, why come back? Will I be approved by then? She then says no but you will need med refills right? I said no, that I had the vicodin from my regular doc and that I again I never had the Percocet filled ( obviously) and the muscle relaxers as I know that is too much for me to take. She then wrote me another script for Percoet, and one for another muscle relaxer ( that was supposed to be non-drowsy and gave me samples and told me to at least try try on the weekends when you dont have to drive. That I did, and spent a day asleep in bed on a Saturday, never even got past the muscle relaxer sample pack). I then decided that wasnt going to work and when I needed a refill for the Vicodin I called my family doc. Before my 30 day follow up I called and called, leaving numerous messages, was Botox approved? Will some one please call me back No response. So I went to the appt, was told it wasnt approved or denied and to call my insurance company to see what the hold up was ( again another $40 co-pay ) At the beginning of that appt the LPN checked my vitals, asked how the meds were working and I said I tried them and could not take. But after I was abruptly told by Jill that I needed to call my insurance company she says, You signed a policy that you would use us as your place for prescriptions, and we know you had Vicodin filled I said yes, I just told your med-tech that and even offered to give the Percocet back to the PA ( but she doesnt want to listen to one word I am saying), unused except for the pills that I had taken on Saturday ( they were at home and I was willing to go get them ). She then said, well then I assume you will have meds filled with the other doctor, call your insurance company yourself and if you get approved call us to make an appointment and we will administer Botox. I was trying to ask additional questions as she was walking me to the check out counter. At this point I was so furious for the way I was treated like a drug addict, insurance, lack of assistance, etc.. I just checked out and left ( again this was a 2 hour wait appt ) I got in my car an immediately called my insurance company and was told that Atlantic Orthopedics never sent anything to them to approve. After weeks of calls and messages, someone finally called me back and left a message while I was working and said it was sent in. Days later I receive denial from insurance, so another week of calling Atlantic to find out what to do next, Im told, you need to see Dr Pecoraro and have him re-examine you and he will submit another letter ($40 again ). ( In the letter from insurance, the reasons for denial would not have been reason if on the first appointment he would have listened to me ) because it was saying I had not tried other therapies, meds etc which I had. At this point Im so furious I call my regular docs office and ask about going elsewhere or if they could do Botox there and help get approved but that is not something that is done from that office. I stayed upset for a few weeks but with migraines and neck pain decide to suck it up and call for an appointment to be examined. 5 calls later over 2 weeks time and no response, I call and just keep pressing 0 until someone will listen to me, I could kick myself for not writing down her name she says oh, well if thats all you need is an appointment I can do that It was scheduled for 4 weeks later. On the day of appt, I get there 15 minutes early expecting to spend half my day there waiting and was determined that he was going to listen to what I had to say. At this point, I have co-pays and PT bills. Guess what? No one made me an appointment, they added a note in the system that said I called inquiring about my Botox approval. So furious, because the check in rep that could care less was not helpful.. Unless I wanted to re-schedule again this was 5 weeks out again. I asked for my medical records and was told to go to front, sign papers and pay for them to be mailed in 7-10 days. This is where I stand, except I have read comments here and other sites that all sound the same, so I am now going to get referred to another Pain Management specialist. I do not recommend this place, I feel like they are just out to get as much $ from co-pays, insurance and therapy. They are rude, careless and have terrible bedside manners. Last, the person who commented before me about him yelling, ironically, I heard him yelling at someone on my second visit while I was being seen by the PA. I was in the room over and couldnt make out what, but it was obviously uncalled for, no matter what, you dont yell at the customers/patients that pay your expensive bills.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 5th, 2009
Very unprofessional
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
From the moment he walked in the door he was angry about the condition of medical field due to the possibity of new laws by government. He went on a long time about his anger. About how the AMA did nothing for the doctors at all.He did look at my x-rays, but none of my reports, didn't read one. He never mentioned my spinal stenosis, my herniated discs at all. He did a slight physical exam & began to talk about injections for my arthritis. I asked about my spinal stenosis, he told me I didn't have any signs and I asked him what the signs were. One is the inability to walk for more than 10 minutes. I began to explain that's whats wrong with me, He told me to lower my voice,then per his words " I'm to be treated with respect and dignity, I'm the doctor and you're not and the fact is I don't even have to treat you, in fact, I won't treat you, get out"!!!!!!!! There treatments are about 6 yrs behind the ones I had in Chicago, apparently they don't care about updating their field. If someone like this cannot seperate his personal views from the patient than all his patients could be in jeopardy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Francis Pecoraro, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Wilmington, NC.

Doctor

Dr. Robert Lubanski

28 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Stephen Wells

8 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. William Mccrea

28 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor