Dr. Fred Chu MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology Chesterfield, MO

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 31 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

31 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    61%
  • Great
    10%
  • Good
    3%
  • Poor
    6%
  • Bad
    19%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 43.9 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 26th, 2015
He's simply the best
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I have extropia. Dr chu performed my corrective surgery. Great bedside manner and knows and cares about his work. Would recommend to everyone for their eye care
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 5th, 2011
Caring and Thorough plus friendly
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Chu always goes the extra mile for his patients. This may result in a longer wait in the reception area. If i have ever had a problem he has taken the time to explain or make sure i understand before leaving. So, actually, i don't mind the wait. As far as his staff goes, he generally employs university students that are either premed, or medical in nature. Plus, of course there are other professionals in the office to. We have been his patients for lots of years and after being treated shabbily after going for a 2nd opinion at another Dr., we will always count Dr. Chu as a treasure.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 4th, 2011
2nd opinion needed
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The initial visit was thorough. Follow up scheduled visits had terrible waiting times. After my eyesight worsenedand Dr. Chu advised me that nothing could be done I went for a 2nd opinion, got Eye Surgery and am seeing well and can drive again.His Office staff looks unprofessional and has a non-chalant attitude.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 21st, 2011
When other doctors failed, Dr. Chu corrected my daughter' s wandering eye & saved her vision
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After endless patches, glasses and voodoo excercises, I took my beautiful 5-year old daughter to Dr. Chu. Within a week her eyes were permanently corrected, ending her headaches and letting her big brown eyes work together. It took one outpatient surgery and he had my little girl totally at ease and my husband and I so happy and relieved.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 18th, 2010
Cannot recommend
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He doesn't take time to explain. As an educated patient, I wanted to know the reasons behind his diagnosis, the risks and what could go wrong. It was like "I'm the doctor. Take my word and don't question me." He was rude and uncaring. I walked away.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 25th, 2010
Find a doctor who cares - NOT Dr. Chu!
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Instead of calling me himself, Dr. Chu had a secretary call to deliver the news that my child's test results showed that my child couldn't see well enough to get a driver's license, glasses wouldn't help, and there is no treatment for the eye problem. A second opinion with an excellent pediatric eye doctor was totally different, he saw no signs of the condition Dr. Chu saw, now my child has glasses and can definitely pass his driver's license exam. Dr. Chu was unprofessional, rude, dismissive, nonchalant, and impatient as well as unkempt and late. I recommend that you find an eye doctor who cares. That doctor is NOT Dr. Chu!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 28th, 2009
This is the eye doc to go see. Check out his resume - great attitude for kids - wonderful staff.
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This is the eye doc to go see. Check out his resume - great attitude for kids - wonderful staff. Very well known and respected for his skills. The appointment process is long - so don't plan on getting out of his office quickly. But you will not feel like Dr Chu and his staff did not spend enough time with you, or reviewing your concerns.

1.0 of 5
May 1st, 2009
Took 2 hours to see me and needs bedside manner 101 course.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Packed with people and I was on his "assembly line" for 2 hours! Once able to see him his arrogance threw me off and was rushed without ever understanding or being able to get specific info. Don't waste your time...he sure wasted mine. Awful experience and will never be back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 4th, 2009
great but you wait
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
An outstanding doctor, but pack a lunch when you go in. We have waited literally hours after our appointment time to be seen.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 21st, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 28th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 19th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Fred Chu, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Chesterfield, MO.