Dr. Fred Van Alstine MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 17 patient ratings
  • 8 reviews

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.2)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    65%
  • Satisfied
    6%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    29%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 30 minutes

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 21st, 2015
Great!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I read the other review about waiting. I guess I always came at a good time. I never had to wait more than 10 minutes. I've been there probably more than 10 times. Also, he has been nothing but nice and seemed to care about me. I would recommend him! He is also affiliated with Memorial and Genesys. Which is nice!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 2nd, 2015
Dishonest
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor is only after your insurance money and nothing else. He had me off work with no income for over two months and he could care less. All he wanted was to do test after test with no reason. When I asked him why I needed all these tests he stood over me and tried to intimidate me, but that did not work on me. Then about a week later I got a registered letter from his office that he would no longer be my doctor because I was combative and argued with him. Good riddens...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 4th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you are looking for a doctor that cares about his patients this is the one. If you want a push over keep looking. Dr. VanAlstine is a caring and courteous doctor that is honest and upfront with you about everything. He doesn't pull any punches. One of the best doctors I have ever had the pleasure of seeing. Staff is wonderful as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 28th, 2012
exceptional
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
For urgent problems it is a first come first serve basis so wait times can be long.I don't have insurance so most places called would not see me.Not free but reasonable and a whole lot better than ER,
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 9th, 2011
Mrs. Dana Bisson
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to doctor Van Alstine for many years and he is one of the most caring physicians I have ever had. His bedside manner was top notch! He was very thorough, understanding, and respectful. He was willing to take extra time if need be to hear patient concerns, perhaps that is why some reviewers have had a bit of a wait. I think that a proper diagnosis is worth an occasional extra wait. I always felt he genuinely cared about every member of my family. I sincerely miss Dr. Van Alstine and his staff, as I now live in another state.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 16th, 2011
Horrible
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was a patient of Dr.Van Alstine's for about 7 months before I finally gave up and changed drs. He was impossible to get into, they would always make you see the after hours doc instead of him. The very last time I went to see him I had a fever of 103.5 and he told me I had a simple cold and go home and sleep it off. He then told me if the fever didnt go down within two days (I had already had it for 3) then he would put me on antibiotics. I was so sick I could barely stand up. Needless to say the next morning I was at the afterhours getting antibiotics and I NEVER went back. Horrible horrible doctor. Would never recommend him to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 26th, 2010
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Don't question his medical opinion, he will ditch you as a patient.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 5th, 2010
Waste Of Time!
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you are looking for a doctor who will see you in a reasonable amount of time Dr. Van Alstine is not for you. He exhibited total disregard for appointments and patient time constraints. Save yourself the anguish and go somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Fred Van Alstine, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Owosso, MI.

Doctor

Dr. Angela Badra

23 years experience

4.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Anthony Patsy

10 years experience

3.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Douglas Strong

3.9 of 5