Dr. Frederick Schaerf MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.5
  • 31 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.5)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    52%
  • Satisfied
    6%
  • Neutral
    6%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    29%
  • Wait Time 18.5 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
February 24th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Best Doctor I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 17th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Schaerf and Karry have over and above the call of duty met my needs. The pleasant demeanor and knowledge is a safe environment for honesty. The fragil subject one experiences is cared for with respect.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 8th, 2015
I'm Just Saying
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am forever grateful to Dr. Schaerf and his staff for properly assessing my situation many years ago in my deepest, darkest time of need. Neuropsychiatric Research Center and Dr. Schaerf managed my crisis with a combination of psychology and medication to help replenish my serotonin levels and give me a proper prospective into the causes of the illness I was experiencing. Without delving into specifics, I will attest that Dr. Schaerf ultimately saved me from the brink of my own destruction. Every Day for the last 22 years has been a complete gift of life for me, thanks to the quality and professional care of Dr. Schaerf and his team.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 12th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doesn't accept insurance. Bombards you with Medications. More concerned with getting paid and his practice as a Forensic Psychiatrist than with patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 29th, 2013
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This guy was my husbands dr for several years before I ever met or spoke to him. I believe my husbands success for the early years was due to the caring and compassionate understanding of his former nurse practitioner, Georgia. His new one, Kerry, didn't respond or welcome spousal input like Georgia did. In fact, upon finally meeting both she and the dr they both seemed to take my now unmedicated spouses words as truth. Yet the dr sent a certified letter stating my husband should be on meds. I guess they are great until you question them. If your spouse is bipolar stay away, they don't consult with those who live and see the behavior. Even if your spouse signed a disclosure form. GEORGIA WAS AWESOME AT THAT.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 23rd, 2012
Well worth waiting for
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I waited several months for my first appointment but, boy, was it worth it. Dr Schaerf & his RNPA took nearly two hours for intake of my medical, behavioral & social history as well as my medication regimen. I was astounded by their knowledge of medications, side effects and interactions. I was, and still am, included in medication decisions. I feel respected and cared for at all times. I am always encouraged to contact either Dr Schaerf or his RNAP with any troublesome reactions to meds or changes in symptoms. I also have substance abuse issues and my continued recovery is always at the core of our discussions about medications. Dr. Schaerf does not accept any insurance. I wish that he would reconsider this policy. I have highly recommended him to many friends but his insurance situation has kept away many who could benefit from becoming patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 21st, 2012
Worst Psychiatrist EVER! (MUST READ)
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw Dr. Frederick Schaerf for around 7 months....He was more concerned with getting PAID than helping me. He put me on several psychiatric medications that FAILED to help me. Infact, they made me a lot worse!On my last visit, he told me that they (him and the ARNP, couldn't help me anymore).Kerry walked out of the office and back in with Dr. Schaerf. They both walked in with a Tissue in their hands. As they walked in , He said to me - " Were throwin in the TOWEL". Both Kerry & Dr. Frederick Schaerf waved the tissue in their hands (in my face) while saying it.That said that to me, like it was all some big joke. Dr. Schaerf is EXTREMELY Unprofessional and has no clue what he is doing. I hightly recommend that everyone stays as far away from him & his practice as possible.I needed to goto therapy because of what they did/said to me.Stay away from Neuropsychiatric Research Center of SWFL & Dr. Frederick Schaerf!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 10th, 2011
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor is very self absorbed. More times than none you are pawned off to one of his clinicians who asks you the same ridiculous questions every time you visit. Then, if you are lucky, you will be "blessed" with his 5 second appearance. He will never admit that he is wrong and will just make one excuse after the other why he feels his so called diagnosis is right.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 28th, 2011
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Schaerf it is one of the most realistic profesionals I have meet my whole life, also his knowleageable staff. He in his own way is very caring and direct wich I appreciate from a Dr. and his staff, I want to say Thank you for helping me and my family that there is light at the end of the tunnel
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 7th, 2011
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Schaerf treated me for one year. I sought treatment for post partum depression and major depressive disorder. In one year I saw the Dr Schaerf three or four times and the rest of my time was spent with a clinician. I had approximately 15 visits that year. Throughout the course of the year, I was placed on five separate medications which made my condition much worse. During my visits I would tell the clinician of all my new symptoms that I had never experienced before; ex: picking at legs until they scarred, extreme excessive behaviors, compulsive shopping. Nothing was done about this obvious mental decline. By the end of the year, my nails were falling off, my hair was falling out, and I was dangerously suicidal. Dr Schaerf decided to step in at that time and inform me that "no antidepressants would make any difference for me. My problems were not biological". Which is simply not true. My depression can be traced back to four years of age. I feel very fortunate to have escaped this ordeal with my life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 15th, 2010
Mr. Patient
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
To busy about himself to care about you
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 13th, 2010
Thoroughly sane psychiatrist!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
We were referred to this specialist because he is trusted by his neurologist community to deal with medicine interactions. We found him to be extremely knowledgeable and unusually willing to share his thinking with the patient in prescribing a plan for the desired outcome. He was very forthright about those areas not within his specialty nor practice experience and is very helpful in referral.Most of all, he is invested in his patients and in their treatment. He has called or been accessible when called at all times including Saturdays and Sundays. You can be confident in his care. We are.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Frederick Schaerf, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Fort Myers, FL.

Doctor

Dr. Roxann Sangiacomo

33 years experience

4.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Robert Pollack

41 years experience

3.1 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Steven Machlin

30 years experience

4.0 of 5