Dr. Garry Karounos MD Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology Allentown, PA

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 54 patient ratings
  • 22 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (+ 0.4)

54 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    44%
  • Great
    13%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    2%
  • Bad
    37%
  • Wait Time 26.9 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 20th, 2017
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have seen this doc for 10+ years. Normally I ignore his inability to listen and talk over me because I just want the exam to be over, but today I could not. I see others have commented here that he seems to have a problem with strong female personalities. (Wrong business to be in, doctor). He's rude, ignores your interjections, talks over you and does a lot of mainslpaining (which I hate). He even admitted he did it today when I called him on it. Lots of other woman are complaining of the same thing.I went to write a review on Facebook and before I posted it I noticed that I had been blocked from the page (this was immediately after I left his office). What is he so afraid that I'll say?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 5th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I just read some of the negative comments and was shocked. I've been going to Dr. Karounas for over 20 years and my daughter has gone to him. We both have strong personalities and never have trouble speaking with him. He is always personable, attentive. responsive to questions always gets back to you if you call in an inquiry and speak with his nurse. Two things impressed me when I first met him. First was his bedside manner, he balances professionalism with warmth. Second was his statement, "all of you is my patient not just your female organs." As such I have used him as my primary care physician at times, and he always is knowledgeable about medical matters, no matter what the specialty.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 5th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He discovered my thyroid cancer and three months later another doctor couldn't feel it and was amazed Dr Karounas had detected it. (Thyroid cancer is very slowing growing so surgery wasn't performed right away.(by a prominent specialist at University of PA hospital).
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 16th, 2016
I defiantly recommend Dr. Karounos. He is caring, understanding, listens to his patient's has compassion for his patients and their family's. Down to earth he has been my doctor since 1995 He's awesome.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 15th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Bedside Manner
I have never felt so uncomfortable at a gynecologist before.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 14th, 2016
Highly Reccomend
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I have been seeing Dr. Karounos for about 10 years. He has done several surgeries on me for unavoidable medical issues, he delivered my second child and has always taken great care of me. He is personable, and easy to talk to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 16th, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The doctor always made me feel strangely uncomfortable. Go elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 6th, 2015
Zero should be an option.
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Terrible experience here. Doc is an egomaniac and staff was rude. Not well respected among his medical peers either. I went elsewhere and highly recommend others do too.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 5th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A speculation about Dr Karounos: He has been deeply traumatized by bossy women, and when confronted by women who "want to be in the driver's seat," he ridicules them instead of strongly suggesting they find another doctor. His hurting aggressive women is a form of revenge that he doesn't even know he's committing. But he does enjoy it. Solution? Go elsewhere.

4.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2015
He is a topnotch person and doctor, but he has developed some questionable defenses against offensive people. Don't go to him to start s personal relationship. Go to him instead to benefit from his very fine care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 1st, 2015
Great man as well as doctor
He is far better than even he thinks he is.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 12th, 2015
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Go somewhere else!
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Garry Karounos, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Allentown, PA.