Dr. Garth Ballantyne MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

2.7
  • 16 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    38%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    6%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    50%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 36.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

1.0 of 5
December 23rd, 2011
RN
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor is a danger to the community. I have seen more complications from his and Dr sommers surgeries than all the other doctors at L&M put together.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 6th, 2011
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ballantyne performed surgery after assuring me that he had done many similar procedures. The surgery was not successful, and after many follow up visits, lasting almost a year, in which he kept assuring me that there was nothing to be concerned about, finally admitted that the surgery would have to be re done. He let me suffer in pain all that time instead of admitting the truth. He suggested doing a procedure, that he initially said was an inferior type of repair, to correct the first procedure. When I questioned why he let me suffer for all that time, and what went wrong, and why he was suggesting an inferior repair procedure, he became defensive, aloof and uncompassionate. It seemed he was more concerned about a possible malpractice than the welfare of his patient. He should be ashamed of the way he treated me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 7th, 2011
Ill intent
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He did an exploratory surgery, woke up in tremendous agony no pain killers post op ,he gave me a prescription had to drive in horrible pain for an hour to get to the drug store !Also referred me to a incompetent doctor who damaged me for life , Told me he was one of the best he could of did the same medical protocol . Also fabricates records with malice intent . Nice guy!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 17th, 2011
RN
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He has brought more adverse complications to L&M hospital. I strongly recommend you avoid receiving his care. He and Dr Sommer are dangerous to patients
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 24th, 2010
Very Disingenuous
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Ballantyne seemed like one of the nicest doctors when I first met him , there was a lot of hope and compassion . I was set up for same day surgery in his Manhattan office , Which I experienced a tremendous amount of pain , Dr. Ballantyne actually wrote me a prescription rather then administering a pain med post surgery . I was in agony leaving his lucrative very authoritative self influenced center without anyone to answer to , There after I requested my medical records I swear if my name wasn't on the heading I'd swear he was referring to someone else extremely negative malicious fabricated dis-informative documentation about myself I couldn't believe the unethical unorthodox nature he has was VERY surprised ! Since he has a timid demeanor with a smile constantly ,a true Dr jekyll and Mister Hyde !
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 16th, 2010
Good doctor, hate to see him go!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ballantyne left the hospital over personal reasons, a big mistake for the hospital. He provided excellent service and always encouraged the patient to take part in their health care. I'm a more healthier and better looking person because of the care and service I received from him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 2nd, 2009
Nissen fundoplication
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Got my nissen done 6 month ago. Terrible mistake!Gerd is back as previous to the operation plus I'm always bloated and full of gas. Don't belive his stats pretty good doctor but destroyed my life...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 11th, 2008
Great Bariatric Surgeon
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Did my Gastric Bypass surgery. I had complications (not his fault) which he handled well> I am healthy & doing well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Garth Ballantyne, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Branford, CT.

Doctor

Dr. Robert Schlessel

40 years experience

2.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Raymond Ippolito

43 years experience

4.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Beth Collins

15 years experience

4.3 of 5