Overall Review

3.7
  • 52 patient ratings
  • 31 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 0.6)

31 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    62%
  • Satisfied
    4%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    25%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 25.5 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
March 26th, 2015
Dr.Bunch is the most rude doctor that I ever came across. This man made me cry in my hospital room all the way down to the O.R. The last thing I remember was crying when they put me under. Dr. Bunch just cares about money money money. No compassion at all. I will NOT GO BACK TO SEE HIM.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 6th, 2015
Excellent, Skilled
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. G Bunch explained what needed to be taken care of and why and how it would be corrected. Gave me instructions on what I needed to do after surgery. Surgery was easy...this guy is very skilled at his job. He knows his job and how to do and explain it to his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 19th, 2014
MONEY HUNGRY SURGEON
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to the emergency room at Blake due to horrible abdominal pain, Dr. Bunch was on call and came to see me. The first thing that came out of his mouth to me was, " I guess I will be doing your surgery for FREE! " I was in terrible pain and had insurance through the VA and this man has the nerve to say this to me? After my emergency surgery I expressed my feelings about him to the Nurse taking care of me, she told me I was one of his many unhappy patients. I saw him in his office for a follow up appointment. He literally spent all of 30 seconds with me, I had to chase him down in the hallway to get my one question answered. His nurse cearon saw me and answered my questions. She also took me back in an exam room and actually looked at my incisions! I had 12 staples! His nurse was the only one to care about any of my concerns. I came back a few days later to have my staples removed by her, she apologized for him and said he is retiring! Thank goodness! Please take your rude self somewhere far far away. I would NEVER recommend him, all he cares about is money!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 1st, 2014
Couldn't ask for better....
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would like to thank Dr. Bunch and his staff for his excellent medical care and compassion. I was referred to Dr. Bunch by family doctor after I was diagnosed with breast cancer. Dr. Bunch performed a mastectomy on my left breast. The staff was friendly and kind and made me feel comfortable and at ease.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 28th, 2014
Fantastic Office
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I consulted with Dr. Bunch regarding a hernia repair. His staff was pleasant and very helpful. The young man at the front desk was delightful. Has the best smile ever! I would recommend Dr. Bunch to anyone needing surgery. He always goes the extra mile to make you feel at home and comfortable. Superb physician and a great office!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 5th, 2014
Great surgeon, horrible staff!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient of Dr. Bunch's for over 3 years now, I have referred my mother, sister & good friend's to see him. Through the years I have always appreciated his kind staff. I recently made a follow up appointment. . . The entire staff was new! Only his nurse Sierin (spelling? ) was still there (Thank Godness, she is outstanding).I had to come back in 3 weeks, new staff again! I love Dr. Bunch, but this for some reason made me feel a little uneasy? Also, the "new" office manager spoke to Dr. Bunch in a very inappropriate and unprofessional way! I am very dissatisfied with all of these changes, I will no longer continue to follow up after my last visit. The new office staff was incompetent and just plain rude!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 13th, 2013
My favorite surgeon
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
About 3.5 yrs ago I ruptured my colon from an infection. Dr Bunch was called in and performed immediate surgery and a colostomy bag was put in place. I recovered in a few short weeks after having my stomach cut open and 65 plus staples. I was riding my dirt bike again in 1 month. (I was around 42 when this happened). In 5 months I went back and had it removed, another 65 plus staples. Bunchs partner at the time did the reversal surgery and hernia repair. I recovered quickly again sans a small stomach infection. After that surgery I blew about 5 more hernias (Probably mostly my fault as I was feeling good and very active in building cars, riding dirt bikes etc). Anyway, went back in to see bunch and he put mesh all behind my stomach muscles and I have had NO further problems. In fact he called out his prior partner for not doing the job right the first time during the reversal. I probably could have sued but Im not built like that. I appreciate his straightforward, call it like it is, attitude.While I had no issues with his bedside manner, I could care less about that, give me a straight shooting stand up dude any day. He really did save my life, no question about it. When I told him to kiss my butt if he was going to put a poop bag on me, he said I had two options: "you can take the bag or lay here and die". My response was 'bag please". Despite being in RIDICULOUS PAIN he still made me laugh! I know who I am going to see if I need surgery again. NO DOUBT>
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 18th, 2013
LPN
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Over many years, both professionally & personally, I have met many surgeons. I was referred to Dr. Gary Bunch for a surgical consult for an upcoming hernia surgery, I immediately notices his sense of humor! When I had a critical health crisis arise unexpectedly, Dr. Bunch was called to care for me. My surgery took 5 hours and required several procedures including 3 recesitations on the table. DR. BUNCH SAVED MY LIFE!!! I can't say enough about how I would recommend him. Anyone who has him as their surgeon is in great & skilled hands.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 25th, 2013
Excellent Surgeon
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Love this man. He really cares about his patient and is one of the best at surgery. I would recommend him to any of my friends and family needing surgery care!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 27th, 2013
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was recently diagnosed with DCIS breast cancer and underwent bilateral mastectomy. Dr. Bunch is my surgeon for the breast tissue removal. From my first visit to current visits, I have been amazed at his incredible attentive, knowledgeable care. His easy manner and total accessibility is just the type of care I need. His office staff is wonderful; they reflect his caring, friendly attitude and the support I've received from all of them has been amazing and comforting. At Dr. Bunch's urging (along with several others), Blake Medical Ctr. has instituted a program of Nurse Navigators for patients of breast cancer. Patty Madsen was my Nurse Navigator and was (and is) with me through this whole period. Kudos to Blake for listening to caring sensible doctors. I feel so fortunate to have found Dr. Bunch . He and his staff have made this difficult journey so much easier for me and my family. I consider all of them to be one of life's unexpected blessings.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 10th, 2013
A surgeon with a heart!
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Bunch is compassionate and will go out of his way to help you. Dr. Bunch performed my mastectomy. He was an excellent surgeon and helped me through a diffcult time in my life. He is the best surgeon in town and I would refer him to anyone!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 26th, 2013
Awesome Surgeon
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to Dr. Bunch after much research online to have my hernia repaired. It was easy to make an appointment and he was a very down to earth person. I felt very comfortable with him. He performed my surgery and life is good. I would recommend him to anyone that needed surgery. Excellent doctor and friendly staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Gary Bunch, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Bradenton, FL.

Doctor

Dr. Jose Erbella

17 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Ted Kadivar

26 years experience

4.3 of 5

Doctor

George J Childs

be the first to rate this Doctor