The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Gary Glass Is this you?
  • 12
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
7.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Gary Glass?


24 Ratings with 9 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 3rd, 2017

Amazing Doctor

Dr. Glass is a no-nonsense kind of person. He is very kind and he knows his profession well. I highly recommend him

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 28th, 2015

Beware

Dr Glass is a horrible man!!! I wish I could be more specific but I cant. He takes terrible advantage of his female patients in the worst possible way! It makes me sick to see that he is still in practice. Please do nothing to him under any circumstances.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

March 20th, 2015

I agree about Dr.Glass' poor service. I have gone in multiple times to address anxiety and he ignored my concern and simply tried to up my dose on my mood stabilizer. I did not feel I was being heard. I have been charged an outrageous amount for prescriptions (each being $5 even at appointment) and any note ($20) for school. He takes anything he can get money wise and I feel he does not sincerely care during sessions. Also, there is also absolutely no way to communicate with him and it is all via office staff and this makes me uncomfortable due to confidentiality.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

July 12th, 2013

Only fair experience in three years of consistent therapy

I would definitely not choose this doctor again.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 26th, 2013

Thank you Dr. Glass

I was shocked to see the negative reviews here, since my experience with Dr. Glass has been life saving. (And I am not exaggerating). Before I began seeing Dr. Glass, I was in a severe depression, was having severe mood swings, and was having suicidal thoughts. He correctly diagnosed my condition as bipolar II (which two previous psychiatrists had missed), took me off one med that was aggravating my mood swings, and put me on another. I feel like myself again after 20 years of being in a very tenuous mental state. Medications for any mood/mental health disorder are tricky at best because so little is known about how the brain processes them (and they work differently for everyone). This means that the first, second, or even third medication might not work well or might cause side effects. When that happened with me, I called Dr. Glass's office and scheduled another appointment rather than waiting until my next scheduled one, and we tried something different. Not only did we find the right medications, I was able to cut back or eliminate some of the meds I was needing for anxiety and sleep.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 21st, 2012

No help at all

Went in for depression and anxiety disorder. My regular doctor had prescribed medication for the depression until I could get a appointment since there was a waiting list, so by the time I met with Dr.Glass, the depression was much better, but the anxiety was still out of control. Dr.Glass kept me on the anti-depressant I was on, and prescribed a mood stabalizer, which I hoped would help with the anxiety attacks, but I had a reaction to the medication and had to stop taking it just a few days after it was prescribed. He did not call in anything to replace it so I had to wait another month for my appointment and any hope for help not to mention the cost of the money and the meds was wasted. At my next appointment, he prescribed a different mood stabalizer, that I also believed was suppose to help with the anxiety disorder. When I met with him a month later I told him the medication seemed to be working well, but my panic attacks were increasing and not getting better so its not doing much for them. That is when he told me that it is not suppose to help with that. I was in shock. I suddenly realized that for 2 appointments, he had completely ignored the issues I was having with panic disorder. None of the medications he prescribed were intended to help at all. As I sat there I wondered if he planned to address the issue during this appointment. Apparently not, he suggested I increase the dosage of the mood stabalizer that he just told me was not intended to help with panic disorder. He asked me how many attacks I have per day, and that was it, he said nothing else about it and offered no suggestions for help. If he mistook me for some drug user looking for pills then he could not be more wrong in his judgement, which makes me question his ability to diagnose people. I do not use any drugs whatsoever nor have I ever been a drug user, and I do not even drink, with the exception of maybe a margarita with mexican food which is very rare. In fact, since most of my attacks happen while I am driving, I would rather have not taken a medication that impairs me, certainly there must be something that can help that is not a "drug" but he never even talked about it. Since this disorder went untreated for so long, I was left with no option but to find a doctor closer to home that I could drive to.I am glad I changed Doctors. Turns out that there is a medication I can take that helps with anxiety, Is not a narcotic and does not impair me, and he suggested counseling since he feels that the attacks are triggered by PTS, and no amount of medication will help long term without counseling. In one single appointment I have already found more help than I did in the months I met with Dr. Glass. Would not recommend this Dr. for treatment of panic disorder! I came to him for help, and I was ignored.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 2nd, 2010

Prescribes dangerous drugs without proper evaluation

Diagnosed and prescribed ritalin to adult patient without a psychiatric evaluation. Patient later received an evaluation and was deemed not to be ADD as Dr. Glass had surmised .

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 28th, 2009

Professional mental health physician

I've been a patient of Dr. Glass for several years and the things I've noted are: He listens to your concerns and does his best to address them; He's flexible and takes into consideration your opinions; He has the benefit of experience in his field to offer you his best diagnosis; He's not a "coddler" but he is caring and considerate. If you need a person to watch you cry and give sympathy, he will recommend a good psychologist. Dr. Glass will monitor your progress and your overall mental health.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 18th, 2009

Dismayed

My opinion of Dr. Glass is very low & my personal opinion is that he's incompetent.

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 28th, 2017

2.0 Rating

January 4th, 2017

5.0 Rating

November 17th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Gary Glass is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Austin, TX.

  • Dr. Kelley Farmer

    Dr. Kelley Farmer

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Austin, TX 0 mi

    3.8
    (19)
    25
  • Dr. Deborah Shelton

    Psychiatry

    Austin, TX 0.09 mi

    4.7
    (11)
    20
  • Dr. Roy Hammer

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Austin, TX 0.19 mi

    36