Dr. Gary Hamlin DO Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 59 patient ratings
  • 17 reviews

Last 12 months:

2.9 (-0.7)

17 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    47%
  • Satisfied
    17%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    12%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    19%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 28 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
February 3rd, 2017
Very disappointed
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The doctor is rude and has a smart attitude. I read all the reviews and so many said he was a good Christian man. That was not the experience we had. He had no time for a sick patient. It was all I could do to get my husband to even go and we were told $25 it was $55. Got in there made him go next door to do blood work that he did not need and did not believe hed done it so he had to show them his arm where they had taken the blood. He went in with what we were afraid could be pneumonia. He said bronchitis so why the blood work? My husband has been very sick for over 2 weeks and we dont feel he was given proper care. When I called back to asked what the two prescriptions were he told me talk it over with the pharmacist. He's a very arrogant man. Needless to say we are headed somewhere else and won't return.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 4th, 2016
MOST TERRIBLE DOCTOR I HAVE EVER BEEN TO, STAY AWAY!!!!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went in to have my eye looked at, scratched by baby's hand. He checked vitals and touched my throat for a second then said cyst in lymph node......could be thyroid cancer, Lupus, and I needed to get it looked at right away. Then compared himself to Jesus when I asked how serious the neck cyst was. Told him I'm atheist and he was making me very uncomfortable TALKING ABOUT RELIGION TO A PATIENT. I asked him to stop talking about religion yet he continued. He then proceeded to berate me for not having a primary care doctor despite just having a baby. He made me feel like I was going die from cancer that I had ignored symptoms of. I had such a bad panic attack I could barely get home. I worried and cried so much before I could get into another doctor. Guess what? THYROID IS PERFECT, NO ISSUES NO CANCER!!!!!! BAD DOCTOR, MISDIAGNOSES PATIENTS AND INAPPROPRIATELY DISCUSSES RELIGION WITH PATIENTS AGAINST THEIR WILL.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 18th, 2016
OMG
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've never felt more comfortable at a doctors office in my life the office was a mess to begin with and I was only there to try to get back on Celexa to help with my severe anxiety and panic attacks l and he couldn't give me the medicine because I wasn't on birth control... he told me to go get on birth control then come back to get my Celexa.. I was very uncomfortable and very unhappy... would not recommend him to anyone!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 29th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
GREAT DOCTOR AND SERVER OF GOD.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
October 2nd, 2015
Don't assume
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
First visit, don't assume you know someone has poor eating habits just by looking at them, there could be other things going.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 20th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm so thankful for Dr. Hamlin. He is so reasonable on his prices. He has helped me so many times when I've needed a Dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 13th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
great doctor and even a better person
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 11th, 2015
good
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He saved my life I was close to stroking out when I went to see him, he not only doctored me he told me God had plans for me and that's why I'm still here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 8th, 2014
Great
I did a lot of research before I came in here. I read these current reviews 100 times probably. Well first off.. I was nervous for going in here. I have no idea why. What a painless process. The receptionist was kind. Yes they charge you double if you are not on birth control but they make it a point to tell you it will be half off if you get on some. Yes they ask you to sign a form saying you will try to stay abstinent. But really.. why is that so bad? It is a religious doctor. You are a fool if you are shocked by that. Anyway. Dr. Hamlin was great. Thourough and quick. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 27th, 2013
A joke
Would not give a physical for my 6 yr old perfectly healthy daughter for summer camp. How hard is it to look her over and sign on the line?! Told me to bring paperwork bc he wasn't spending time on calls and emails. This wast second I successful visit- first time for diet pills, wanted me to do a $75 blood year and sign a form saying I would stay sexually abstent since I wasn't married- not his business and unprofessional- never will go back. Wow!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 4th, 2012
LONG WAIT
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Two people in front of me. I still get stuck waiting for two friggin hours? He's kinda a jerk and doesn't listen all that much. Claims he only treats certain things so if it's anything other than the sniffles or phentermine, you'll have to go somewhere else. The wait time is absolutely unbearable. The waiting room is small with christian station K-Love blasting the whole time. An hour is a long wait time, two hours is absolutely unprofessional. Why bother with appointments you can't come close to keeping?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 12th, 2012
Craziest experience of my life
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have never been in such a crazy place. The office was in shambles, they herd you through like cattle and take no time to discuss issues with you. Brings up issues which I wasn't there for and do not have any problems with. It seems to me that he is a scam artist. He basically told me a regular visit was $25, if you needed a prescription for more than one thing then it would be $25 for each prescription unless your visit is for Tramadol then that will be $50 per visit and hydrocodone is $75 per visit, seriously does it take any longer to prescribe a pain pill than it does a blood pressure pill, the difference in the appointment cost is literally a scam for people who want pain pills and don't have a docotor of their own. I'd prefer not to see a pill pusher and I will never ever go back nor will I recommend him to anyone I know.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Gary Hamlin, DO is similar to these 3 Doctors near Joplin, MO.

Doctor

Dr. Michael Neely

43 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. James Tiemann

27 years experience

4.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. James Dailey

36 years experience

3.7 of 5