The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Gary Mathern Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Gary Mathern?

Colonoscopy

Colonoscopy

Get the facts about colonoscopy, including how and why it's done and doctors who perform the procedure.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Gary Mathern?

Ratings and Reviews

22 Ratings with 9 Comments

  • Excellent
    8
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    13
  • Excellent
    8
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    13

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
45.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 22 Ratings with 9 Comments

1.0 Rating

May 1st, 2017

No way

He never gave the diagnosis to a suffering kid's parents

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 16th, 2017

He's an excellent Surgeon and gave my son a second chance at life. My son was considered high risk and turned away by every hospital for surgery. Medications were never able to control his seizures and it was all taking its toll. His future was very bleak. After surgery with Dr. Mathern, my son has been seizure and medication free for 5 years now. He's gotten his drivers license, graduated high school and now attending college. Sky's the limit!!!! Thank you Dr. Mathern!!!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 15th, 2015

I think money-preoccupied and only for himself shouldn't be rewarded

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 14th, 2014

A very rude man!

This Doctor needs to leave UCLA and let our hospital still have a good reputation. He is the rudiest man I have ever exposed my child to.!!! I know he must be good in his field but, being kind, and caring to patients is the most important !! Please someone 'help', talk to him or let him leave!! I do not think he deserves a star!!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 8th, 2014

Review

He did not do what he was supposed to do. When it was brought up, he charged for bringing it up. Worst experience due to his poor and very questionable behaviors

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 15th, 2013

Mother

Amazing surgeon, he gave my daughter her life back with very little side affects. Highly recommended

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 13th, 2012

disliked very much. very rude. talked about himself only.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 5th, 2012

Poor

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 22nd, 2010

bad

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 8th, 2016

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

October 30th, 2015

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

October 21st, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Gary Mathern is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Los Angeles, CA.

  • Dr. Gail Ishiyama

    Neurology, General Surgery

    Los Angeles, CA 0.01 mi

    4.9
    (11)
    25
  • Dr. Itzhak Fried

    Dr. Itzhak Fried

    Neurological Surgery, General Surgery

    Los Angeles, CA 0.01 mi

    4.0
    (4)
    32
  • Dr. Emad Farag

    Neurology, Neurological Surgery

    Los Angeles, CA 0.01 mi

    3.0
    (3)
    16