Overall Review

2.7
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

10 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    33%
  • Satisfied
    8%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    13%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    46%
  • Wait Time 16.8 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

4.0 of 5
June 7th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Gross has a good sense of humor and is quite knowledgable. He doesn't spend too much time with you but I haven't had severe situations that would require that.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 31st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He's the worst skin doctor ever I would never recommend anyone to this man. He doesn't care about what you have to say to him or anything. He tries to get you out fast and the appointment to see him will be a month later. I just wanted to cry. He should be FIRED!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2015
Two strikes you're out
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Gross nearly always has a student, or once, his son, with him for appointments. He seems much more interested in interacting with them than doing exam. Strike one was when I pointed out a spot on the edge of a place on my nose where I had a basal cell cancer removed previously. He glanced at it and said it was nothing. I came back the next year and again pointed out the spot. He did a biopsy and it was basal cell returning. I had to have extensive surgery to remove it. It would have been much better if he had listened the first time. Strike two - for two years in a row I asked him about a spot on my back. The first time he gave me some cortisone, the second time he said it was probably just a keratosis. I have moved and my new dermatologist took one look at the spot on my back and said it needed to be biopsies. Turns out to be squamous cell carcinoma. So it has been growing for 3 year s thanks to Dr Gross's two second glance and being too busy talking to whoever is with him. The man shouldn't be practicing medicine.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 4th, 2014
Didn't even look at me
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to Dr. Gross with some suspicious growths. He entered with a nurse and a medical student who he was obviously trying to impress. He asked why I was there and I showed him the first area of concern. He glanced at it briefly and said, "That's nothing" and started out the door. I stopped him and showed him the mole that another doctor had advised me to have checked out. He gave it a glance and said, "Oh, that's nothing" and started out the door again. I said, "Wait a minute, Dr. Gross. I have one other mole that has changed colors and itches." Again he glanced at it and said, "it's nothing but I can take it off if you want". He never did a body check or spent over 5 minutes in the examining room with me. I don't know if he was trying to impress the med student or was late for a tee time, but he had no interest at all in me. I will not be going back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 18th, 2012
GREAT DR.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
NEVER HAVE TO WAIT MORE THAN A FEW MINUTES. FOUND A MELANOMA AND REMOVED IT. FINDS THE PROBLEM FAST AND FIXES IT. NICE PERSON, NICE STAFF. SEEMS FAST, BUT THAT'S BECAUSE HE IS THAT GOOD.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 12th, 2012
Just another number
Wait time
10 minutes
The nurse I had was super nice. Dr. Gross and a medical student came in and checked my problem. Dr. Goss was luck warm and uncompassionate. I was rushed through and out the door in time. I was never asked any questions about my health. I went prepared with questions and was not given time to ask. I feel that Dr. Gross tries to impress his student and does not listen to the patient, the Visit cost me $200 and nothing was done for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 3rd, 2010
Nurse was very brisk and uncaring; bordered on rude
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
-I didn't have to wait, DR was on time-I was never greeted by the nurse I had, she was EXTREMELY brisk and impersonal, when they suggested taking off a mole without numbing it and I told them I'd rather have the numbing, this nurse got a very disgruntled look on her (behind the DR's back) and actually ALMOST rolled her eyes at me, she continued to make payment comments to me as if she was afraid I was not going to pay my bill (I paid the non insurance portion of the medical expense right after this visit before I left); just really didn't appreciate her lack of caring and she did not remind me of someone who "cared" for patients at all. She seems as if she wanted to be anywhere but there. As a patient spending money her briskness was very unacceptable to me-Dr was ok; business oriented, not real talkative -receptionists were very efficient and nice and said they had had complaints about this nurse before-was in and out in an acceptable time-
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 18th, 2010
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Gross has a rude and degrading manner. His staff are cold.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 6th, 2010
Great Doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was nervous about seeing Dr. Gross due to some of the reviews I read. I was pleasantly surprised and had to respond. He was pleasant, timely, diagnosed my problem and explained it clearly, shook my hand and wished me well. What more could I ask for!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 21st, 2009
no return call
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
afer sitting in the wait room for over an hour the doctor came in, spent less then 30 second looking at my skin and prescribed a oral and topical treatment and left. less then 2 minutes. The treatment further inflammed my skin, upon trying to reach the doctor, I never could speak with him and left messages, never to recieve a return call. Canceled my follow up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Gary Gross, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Salem, VA.

Doctor

Dr. Allison Divers

17 years experience

3.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Aleksandra Brown

7 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Chad Johnston

10 years experience

3.8 of 5