Dr. Gary Pess MD Patient Reviews

  • Surgery of the Hand South Amboy, NJ

Overall Rating

4.4
  • 36 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (-0.4)

36 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    75%
  • Great
    11%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    6%
  • Bad
    8%
  • Wait Time 20.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 26th, 2017
Understanding and caring
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I found Dr. Pess to be very understanding and caring. He took the time to listen to me and was able to cure my problem simply. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
August 8th, 2016
good doctor, bad staff
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband uses Dr. Pess who is very good and personable. He originally saw another doctor who was just had a horrible bedside manner. We see him is the Freehold office. My problem with this office is their schedule times. They do not have late hours and do not accommodate or even bother to try to fit in a post operative patient. Their front desk representatives are not helpful nor do I feel even willing to work with you. Unfortunately I feel that since the front desk staff of any medical practice sets the tone of the practice. I will base my opinion on it and will not got to a practice that is not set in a friendly and inviting atmosphere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 31st, 2016
Excellent doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
we first saw a different doctor in the practice who was rude and extremely rough. We scheduled our follow up visits with Dr.Pess and the difference was remarkable. He took the time to explain to us what was going on and was gentle during examinations
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 9th, 2016
Excellent Care
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Pess offers excellent care. He establishes a treatment plan and will follow through for the patient's successful outcome. Dr. Pess defines process and if needed procedure care. His expertise in far reaching and most appreciated. His office staff is most helpful and accommodating.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 9th, 2015
Trusted doctor.
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Pess has been treating me for arthritis in my thumbs for the past few years trying different treatments, most recently with cortisone injections. They were working on and off, but we both decided it was time for surgery. Hopefully this will help with the long term pain.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 23rd, 2014
Happy
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Traveled from Central Pa. Dr. Pess, long trip but worth every mile and would do it again if needed. Great Dr. lovely man
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 2nd, 2014
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My hand surgery (carpal tunnel and trigger fingers) and total experience with Central Jersey Hand Surgery and Dr. Pess was so pleasant. I put the surgery off expecting a painful experience and long recovery. I was so wrong to wait. I am so pleased with my outcome!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 28th, 2014
Promising
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Pess was the third Doctor I visited. The first two had good reputations but were a distance away. Their diagnoisis was C Tunnel and an impingment on my elbows. Dr Pess was not accepting their diagnosis without any testing for the elbows. The result of the EMG was that the elbows wee ok. Surgey was not required. This event and care of Dr Pess made my decision easy and with almost no discomfort. Not all doctors can baby you.

1.0 of 5
August 28th, 2013
Don't go to for Duputryens
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Waited over 2 hours; procedure felt rushed and he split immediately after aponeurotomy leaving me to talk to a splint salesman (who I thought was a staff member). Finger is now worse after 5 years than before. Charles Eaton performed similar surgery over 10 yrs ago on opposite pinky and it's still in fantastic shape so draw your own conclusions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Doctor's Response

I agree that 2 hours is much too long to wait and this has been corrected by modifying the scheduling of patients. I have performed NA on right and left hands and sometimes one hand is perfect and the other worse. This is a disease without a cure and is very unpredictable, I make every effort to try to correct fingers as best as I can.


1.0 of 5
January 28th, 2013
Don't bother
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Lousy results after dupytren surgery. Arrogant and rough. Great staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Doctor's Response

There is no guarantee of results with NA (or ANY treatment for Dupuytren Contracture). Not all fingers are perfectly correctable.


5.0 of 5
November 14th, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Pess is a superb Dr...very professional with a relaxed and compassionate demeanor. I have had three different surgeries with him and after each procedure I was more impressed. Over the last four years, I had carpal tunnel and trigger finger on my left hand and trigger finger on my right. My recovery time for each was quick with no discomfort.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 23rd, 2010
Dave Marshall
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Pess has operated on my right and left hand for trigger fingers. The results have been excellent.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Gary Pess, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near South Amboy, NJ.