ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Gary Shapiro Is this you?
  • 11
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
20.7 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Gary Shapiro?


18 Ratings with 6 Comments

1.0 Rating

December 31st, 2015

CAUTION CAUTION CAUTION

Went to see this guy for a knee/shoulder injury the guy walks in the room with a condescending arogant smug attitude says why are you here when I tried to tell him he said it's been two months and you should not be in pain I have an mri report that suggests a surgical fix but he says if you aren't walking I'm not doing surgery hello can't wait bear but no surgery to fix why I can't walk also I'm in pain because when I got hurt the injuries include my ankle knee mid to lower lumbar and shoulder and the other dr at kwoc had me on meds for pain and I was due to refill the prescription I was called a drug seeking f$@king piece of s@$t and to get the f out of his office he's not going to be my Dr any longer and I could not return to the facility either so if you need orthopedic help this dr and facility is not the place unless you like being treated badly for seeking help for obvious problems

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 15th, 2015

Callous jerk. He enjoys mocking patients and literally tossed a cheap plastic leg brace at me that was arranged backwards (I could buy one at any drugstore for 30.00) When I stated I did not know how to put it on, he laughed, snorted and walked out of the room. He later charged 560.00 to me - kind of like a 900.00 toilet seat - only free insults included. Little shop of horrors Dentist comes to mind

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 3rd, 2014

lack of bedside manner

Dr. Gary Shapiro of Sarasota Memorial Hospital, Orthopedic Practices left a negative impression on me and my family He has no bed side manner, is curt and acts like he is above it all. I come from a family of physicians Dr. Shapiro can learn a thing or two about bed side manner, and really care about his patients. Not thrilled about his attitude. That is one thing that medical schools lack in teaching physicians how to treat their patients. Dr. Shapiro needs a refresher course on his manner and how he treats his patients, whether they are new or old patients.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 15th, 2014

The Only Sports Medicine MD That Cares For My Kids

I am a physician in Sarasota with four children who have all been active in sports as they grew up. Dr. Shapiro is the only sports medicine othopedist I have taken them to when they have been injured. Over the past 20 years that has accounted for many visits. I and my children have great confidence in his opinion and treatment. He is an excellent orthopedist in all respects.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 8th, 2013

W/C patient

Because I was a w/c patient, I was referred to his office for a second evaluation. If your quick to judge, you won't wait for the results. Dr.G found a brake the first Dr. missed.Personality misunderstanding aside, he proved to be determined to see a complete recovery with complete satisfaction as to what I saw and felt about the outcome. Compare that to my numerous experiences with past doctors and I will tell you, on of the best experiences aside from Dr. Baker OBGYN, and Dr. Makey in Bradenton,these three doctors made me glad they went into medicine. I recommend them to everyone! And I'm a cranky Southern women who doesn't appease easy.Again, thank you Dr.G!!!And Lori, his physical therapy miracle worker!!!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 29th, 2008

Very Professional and Helpful

My son broke his leg and Dr. Shapiro handled everything beautifully. He made sure everything was done in a caring professional manner. We are extremely pleased with his experience and ability to handle all issues that came up.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 27th, 2017

5.0 Rating

March 1st, 2016

5.0 Rating

January 16th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

December 10th, 2015

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

October 15th, 2014

5.0 Rating

October 11th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Gary Shapiro is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Sarasota, FL.

  • Dr. David Klein

    Dr. David Klein

    Surgery of the Hand, Orthopedic Surgery

    Sarasota, FL 0 mi

    4.0
    (12)
    21
  • Dr. Patrick Oneill

    Dr. Patrick Oneill

    Foot and Ankle Orthopedics, Orthopedic Surgery

    Sarasota, FL 0 mi

    3.3
    (38)
    15
  • Dr. William Kennedy III

    Dr. William Kennedy III

    Orthopedics Reconstructive Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery

    Sarasota, FL 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    49