Dr. Gary Slaughter MD Patient Reviews

  • Dermatology Charlotte, NC

Overall Rating

2.9
  • 50 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 1.4)

50 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    36%
  • Great
    6%
  • Good
    8%
  • Poor
    10%
  • Bad
    40%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 12.9 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
July 26th, 2017
Dr. Gary Slaughter is a godsend
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had been to 2 dermatologists in Charlotte with no improvement for what I was being told was atypical dermatitis then diagnosed as rosacea just by visual assessment. Dr. Slaughter did a punch biopsy my first appointment with him. Within 2 weeks I have a definitive diagnosis and treatment plan. My face is looking 150% better. Dr. Slaughter was professional but personable and listened to my concerns. I will recommend him highly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2017
Pre-cancerous Moles
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've seen Dr. Slaughter multiple times for the many moles on my skin. He always addresses my concerns about certain ones and removes the ones that might be a problem and given how melanoma runs in my family - he's very thorough. Between the 6-8 I've had removed by Dr. Slaughter - a couple have come back as precancerous and he's even had to take more from them. I've healed nicely and am very satisfied with the treatment I've gotten. The nurses and assistants are also great - I become faint around needles/blood so they sit with me and make sure I'm okay before I leave.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 18th, 2016
Very good Dr.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very solid general dermatologist. Spends time to help understand my skin issues. Focused on best options for me and my skin.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 8th, 2014
Worst MD I have ever seen
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to Dr Slaughter for Melasma on my face, and requested Laser to be done. He stated "Yell I have heard a thousand people say they want laser and do not get it." I told him I was not a thousand people and I can afford the laser. I ask him how much does it cost and I promoise his response was "You tell me, you the one that want it." I started to walk out, but being a professional I looked at him and just shock my head. He wrote me a prescription for Tru-Lumen. I ask him how many refills and he stated shrugging his shoulder "it makes me no differents to me 1 month 2 months or 12 whatever." I know you are only to use this for 8 weeks but he did not care. The ---with this no good, none caring piece of a doctor. I will never walk in his office again, and hopely no one else will. HE IS A JOKE AND DO NOT CARE ABOUT HIS PATIENTS NEED TO BE REPORTED TO THE BOARD OF PHYSICIANS.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 20th, 2014
Only about money
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr slaughter by my primary care doctor for a rash on the side of my face. His assistant looked at it and decideded to do a biopsy. After taking the sample he said " oh you don't have insurance, that will be an additional $108.00". When I told him I couldn't pay it he said that if he noticed I didn't have insurance he would not have done biopsy. He gave me some cream to treat the rash. The rash got worse and I returned to my primary care doctor who called Dr Slaughter. Turned out that I needed an antibiotic. I still have the scar from the biopsy and rash that was not treated in a timely or correct way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 1st, 2014
Disrespectful and inefficient
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr slaughter made me feel at fault for the problem I had and even said it was gross. He was judgemental and did not provide any proper education or directions for prevention. His staff then failed to send in my prescription and put me on hold for an unreasonable amount of time
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 4th, 2013
Very impressive
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When I arrived at the Office, I was able to get in with no wait. He corrected all my skin issues and he treated very well. He took time to get to know me as a person, He also made sure I knew what to do for long term care. I was very impressed.

1.0 of 5
July 9th, 2013
Terrible Experience
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Gary Slaughter sucks! I was referred to him for hair loss. He rushed through my appointment, didn't listen to my concerns. He told me to come back for a biopsy, yet he didn't even look at my hair. This appointment was a waste of time and money!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 26th, 2012
Keep Searching...
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I decided to visit Dr. Gary Slaughter Jr. despite reading the negative reviews because I was given his name by one of his patients. I too felt as if he had someplace else he needed to get to as I was telling him about the reason for my visit. I felt as if he wanted to be in the room long enough to check the box and get paid. I did not feel as though he was concerned about me as a patient. I felt as though he was treating me as if I didnt have insurance or was asking for something for free. He also prescribed me the maximum strength of one of the creams which broke me out (my issue was not severe enough for the maximum strength and this was my first time being prescribed this medication; therefore, he should have prescribed a lower strength). I would still recommend Charlotte Dermatology, just see another doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 6th, 2011
I would not return to this doctor
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Neither Dr. Slaughter nor his assistant would get a good review in my opinion. He was very fast, and deferred to his assistant for answers???????? His diagnosis might or might not have beencorrect, but he hardly spent enough time with me to turn around. Neither wanted totake the time with me to answer my questions or clarify treatment options.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 3rd, 2011
Abruptness
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. was very abrupt. Seemed to be in a great hurry and no explanation of what he was going to do. I didn't know until after, that he was doing a biopsy and no instructions were given for care of the site.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2009
poor personality
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
HE DID ONE BIOPSY, LEFT ROOM AND HADCERTIFIED MEDICAL ASSISTANT DO FOURBIOSIES. QUESTION I HAD, WOULD BIOPSIESBE SENT OUT TO LAB. ALSO, SAID THEY COULDDO TESTING AT THEIR FACILITY.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Gary Slaughter, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Charlotte, NC.