Dr. Gary Blum MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.5
  • 43 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

2.7 (-0.8)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    51%
  • Satisfied
    12%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    7%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    30%
  • Wait Time 24.7 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 17th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Blum did what he could to save my arm and leg considering the extensiveness of my injuries. He was very straightforward and didn't sugar coat the future of my recovery. I appreciate his honesty
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 29th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
hardest time settimg up an appointment. always approx. a 2-3 week wait.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
July 10th, 2013
Messed up my surgery
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
First of all the positives: Dr. Blum is knowledgable and is part of a very reputable medical group. His mom is the receptionist and is very nice. Big tv in waiting room usually tuned to espn. The negatives: -Wait time is atrocious. Once my combined wait time starting from my appointed time till I saw him was over 1.25 hours. Average time for my 4 visits was probably 45 min+. -He screwed up my surgery. Broke my humorous in a spiral fracture. He put a plate in but managed to damage my ulnar nerves. I could not move my wrist upwards or to the side, I also had the grip strength of a toddler. His original estimated time away from work before surgery was 3-4 weeks. I was out over 3 months. He scheduled an appointment for me to see a nerve specialist. Did testing to confirm an error was made during surgery. He made me pay for the bill!!! I have good insurance and I still had to pay $150 out of pocket for the visit to the specialist to confirm his mistake! I called to confirm that I had to pay this bill because I was appalled and his nurse said he was busy and it was my responsibility to pay! The muscle atrophy in my arm due to the fact it was pretty unusable without wrist movement was disgusting. I was very active before surgery and considerably stronger than the normal person. It took over a year of PT and going to the gym to get my strength back after my nerves healed. In total, it took 1.5 years for me to be where I was prior to breaking my arm. After making me pay for the visit to the specialist, I found another doctor. He was everything Dr. Blum wasn't. -other negatives include the feeling that he is rushing through his visits because he is so backed up. I would wait nearly an hour to see him for under 10 minutes. Maybe spread out your appointments better? Also, longer time spent with the patient would help in informing them better. I never felt fully informed even after asking specific questions. He always seemed in a rush. -his nurse is very brash. She has no time for your questions. -you are a dollar sign to Dr Blum, not really a patient. I understand he is young with a young family and is still paying off huge school debts but we deserve more of your time. -one last thing, my scar is approximately 8 inches long and not straight. It's as if I tried to draw a straight line with my opposite hand with my eyes closed. Several doctors said it was a terrible stitch job (I work in a hospital and know surgeons of different specialties). I don't really care since I'm a guy but girls may care about the appearance of their scars.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 27th, 2012
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Took approximately 5 minutes to completely miss a diagnosis. I don't think he even took the time to look at MRI images before coming into the exam room. Do yourself a favor, find someone else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 23rd, 2012
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Blum is very caring and always smile...he has that ALOHA spirit :)Staff also friendly...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 15th, 2011
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor is very arrogant and did not spend the time with me that I felt was necessary to review my problem. Save your money/time and go see someone more caring
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 15th, 2011
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
This doctor should be avoided - triple bookings and loooong waits, all for a mediocre doctor with a horrible bedside manor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 29th, 2011
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was excellent, we took our daughter for a second opinion, and he excellent. Took the time to explain injury, and addressed all of our concerns.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 10th, 2011
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am very surprised to see some negative reviews about Dr. Blum. When I first visited Dr. Blum for my hand injury, I was afraid I may have to have a surgery. After carefully examined X-ray photos and my injured hand, he spent time explaining about what the real problem was, what had happened and possible treatments for it. With weekly physical therapy sessions for a month and 2 follow-up visits, my hand is finally gaining the mobility and slowly but surely started functioning normally. I am happy with the result and overall experience with Dr. Blum. He is friendly, caring, and absolutely a wonderful doctor. I highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 17th, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Blum immediately identified my problem, offered solutions with explanations and performed very successful surgery. He went out of his way to schedule the surgery during a demanding time, and gave me 100% satisfaction in what was accomplished with the surgery. I think he is outstanding
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 15th, 2010
Pretty much incompetent. Worst doctor I have met in my life. Dont know how he got his MD
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was absolutely not caring, barely examined me came to the diagnosis in the briefest minute he talked to me.Wow! I pitied myself and the other 1 patient sitting in the waiting room.Sorry if my feedback did not help you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 19th, 2010
Does he care?
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Most aloof, condescending doctor I've ever met.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Gary Blum, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Honolulu, HI.

Doctor

Dr. Jeffery Harpstrite

25 years experience

3.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Robert Atkinson

39 years experience

2.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Darryl Kan

30 years experience

4.2 of 5