The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Gary Vandenberg Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Gary Vandenberg?

Ratings and Reviews

14 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
12.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 14 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

February 23rd, 2015

Amazing & compassionate!

I can't say enough about my experience with Dr. Vandenberg. I had an abdominal hysterectomy and he was amazing! I lost faith in my local GYN to perform the procedure and was recommended to Dr. Vandenberg from a friend. I saw the Dr. for my initial appointment and was scheduled for surgery the next week. He visited or called me personally every day in the hospital and to top it off he called me at home 3 days in a row to check on me after my release! Amazing! I will never go to another GYN again!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 29th, 2014

D
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

April 1st, 2013

I have never met a doctor whose motives were more suspicious than Dr. Vandenberg. I see him sometimes when my usual doctor is unavailable. He will conduct tests or send things to labs that you do not ask him to do, or even if you explicitly ask him NOT to do so - he actually did a pap on me last year, before a full year had elapsed since the prior year, such that insurance did not cover it. It is unclear to me whether he is being "thorough" or whether he just wants the fees for each procedure - he will do a pelvic ultrasound each time I see him despite the fact that I have not had an ovarian cyst in over a year, and I tell him I do not think it is necessary. He requires you to make an appointment to come see him to go over any test results, resulting in an additional office visit fee. He would not give me or go over my pap results unless I came in for a visit, bluntly refusing to discuss anything over the phone or to mail me a copy of the results so I can give it to the ob/gyn I normally see. I will avoid seeing Dr. VDB as much as I possibly can - my wallet cannot afford it nor do I trust his motives.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 26th, 2011

He is a fantastic doctor. He never rushes my appointment and he always shows that he cares. He was a big help to me when I was diagnosed with cancer. He referred me to a specialist when he saw that the surgery would be complicated. I'm very grateful to him.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 31st, 2011

Love Dr V!

I had my 2nd baby last year under Dr V's care and it was a wonderful experience. Dr V really cares about his patients and devotes a lot of time for each appt. I love that he is "old school" and you see him at every appt and he does the ultrasounds himself. With my first baby I went to Scripps Carmel Valley and I felt like I was in the cattle herd and my doctor didn't know me at all. Dr V's small office setting makes the experience so much more enjoyable!! I also really like his staff...Jessica, Pam and Kirstin are awesome.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 15th, 2009

pl. dont waste your time

I went to this doctor but i dont know what i should say to him when he didnt do any thing to help me and instead wasted my time and money..he made wrong promises and absolutely have no professionalism.I wish if there was any chance that I cud avoid paying him,he should instead as he wasted my time.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 5th, 2017

5.0 Rating

January 18th, 2016

1.0 Rating

April 28th, 2015

1.0 Rating

February 13th, 2015

5.0 Rating

September 30th, 2014

5.0 Rating

August 31st, 2011

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Gary Vandenberg is similar to the following 3 Doctors near La Jolla, CA.

  • Dr. Timothy Bilash

    Obstetrics and Gynecology, Gynecology, Obstetrics

    La Jolla, CA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    26
  • Dr. Seth Bulow

    Dr. Seth Bulow

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    La Jolla, CA 0.01 mi

    4.9
    (27)
    32
  • Dr. Steven Brody

    Internal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility

    La Jolla, CA 0.04 mi

    4.2
    (14)
    36