The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Gary Vela Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Gary Vela?

Ratings and Reviews

21 Ratings with 11 Comments

  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
9.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Bedside Manner

Showing 21 Ratings with 11 Comments

5.0 Rating

April 26th, 2016

AWESOME DOCTOR

Dr. Vela is AWESOME! He is personable while professional. He takes the time to explain EVERYTHING "before" and "after" respective procedure(s). He follows up with his patients until your ACHIEVED results and guides you through various ways to maintain your best you (no matter how long it takes). He is a great doctor!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 9th, 2015

Plastic surgery

I had plastic surgery with him and he was awesome!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

June 24th, 2015

I have had 2 different jobs done and im going back f

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 13th, 2015

Nice til he gets the money

Wait time
10 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 4th, 2015

If you are searching for an incredible doctor, stop here!!

I have had 2 procedures with Dr. Vela and he is by far the best doctor!! He takes the time to talk to you, truly understand your view, as well as remain completely honest, professionally and personally!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 8th, 2014

Talented Surgeon

I decided to see Dr. Vela for a problem I've had for years. Many other doctors dismissed my pain, but Dr. Vela was very patient and professional during my visit. He not only understood my problem, he had a plan to fix it. The office staff was very accommodating and I was scheduled for surgery within a month. Dr. Vela was open an honest about what to expect during and after my surgery. He was also very kind to answer my calls/questions after hours! I am healing extremely well and my scar is perfectly symmetrical. I am quite impressed with his skills! I highly recommend Dr. Vela.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 27th, 2014

Dr. Vela did a nice job with my surgery (mole removal). He was personable and knowledgeable. However, the secretaries and the patient care coordinator are completely unprofessional, unorganized, and do not know how to do their job. It has been months and I still have not received a bill. I had to ask 3 times before I received a pathology report and it had another patient’s information on it. Overall, I was displeased with the services. If I was given an opportunity to do it over again, I would have chosen someone else; it just wasn’t worth the headache.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

March 12th, 2012

Honest, He will give you a straight answer. Friendly

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 19th, 2011

Great Surgeon

I have a disease which requires many cuts to remove tumors throughout my body and Dr. Vela's been able to do this while leaving me basically scar free! I had one cyst removed by another plastic surgeon and left a scar worst than the problem. I WILL ONLY GO TO DR. VELA from now on.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 5th, 2010

James

Dr. Gary Vela is a great surgeon who truly cares about his patients. After seeing the first Doctor for a consultation on removing a melanoma from my face, I decided I needed a second opinion. Dr. Vela had a much less aggressive treatment approach and made me feel comfortable every step of the way.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 31st, 2009

So Happy

I just want to say you will never find a more caring and talented surgeon. I couldn't be more happy with my Mommy Makeover. I would definitely consider Dr. Vela for all your plastic surgery needs.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 6th, 2017

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Gary Vela is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Columbia, MD.

  • Dr. Mary Boyle

    General Surgery

    Columbia, MD 1.54 mi

    29
  • Dr. James Brown

    Dr. James Brown

    Cardiothoracic Surgery, Thoracic Surgery, General Surgery

    Elkridge, MD 1.77 mi

    4.4
    (19)
    31
  • Dr. Jane Lingelbach

    Dr. Jane Lingelbach

    Vascular Surgery, General Surgery

    Elkridge, MD 1.77 mi

    4.3
    (3)
    24