ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Geetha Athappilly Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Geetha Athappilly?

Chronic Dry Eye

Get the facts about chronic dry eye, including the causes, symptoms and doctors who treat this condition.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Geetha Athappilly?

Ratings and Reviews

15 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    0
  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    0

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
18 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 15 Ratings with 7 Comments

5.0 Rating

June 21st, 2017

Professor Maria B Serpa

I am very grateful for her profound caring and her extraordinary professionalism and knowledge in diagnosing and addressing my eyes health challenges. Her care made a world of difference in the healing of my eyes. My many thanks to Dr. Athappilly!

Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 24th, 2017

papilledema due to increased intracranial pressure

I first visited Lahey Medical Center after having experienced the symptoms of minocycline induced intracranial pressure for approximately 7 weeks. At that time, I was experiencing constant severe headaches, neck pain, shoulder and back pain, double vision, and "tingly" arms (for lack of better word). The symptom that stood out and caused the most concern for all the doctors that I visited was the double vision, I was sent to Dr. Athappilly's office immediately after I was diagnosed with papiledema due to increased intracranial pressure. I was immediately welcomed by the staff in Dr. Athappilly's office and reassured that I was to be taken care of with every resource they had available. Dr. Athappilly proceeded to conduct every eye exam and optic test she could in order to completely evaluate my condition. My symptoms had gotten so severe that Dr. Athappilly found it necessary that I undergo surgery, optic fenestration, in order to relieve the pressure on my optic nerves as soon as possible. After surgery, I started to feel better almost immediately. The care that Dr. Athappilly provided for me absolutely saved my vision and I couldn't be more pleased and grateful. Today, I feel like myself again for the first time in months, and I can honestly say that it was because of the care I received at Lahey Medical Center and Dr. Athappilly's care.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 7th, 2017

Excellent

Pleasantly direct, thorough, and to the point.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 25th, 2015

One of the best physicians I have ever seen. An expert in her field.

Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 3rd, 2013

She is terrific

I saw Dr. Athappilly about 3 weeks after having lost vision in one eye. She told me that I had all the symptoms of Giant Cell Arteritis but it would take a biopsy to confirm that. She explained the implications and what could happen particularly since so much time had elapsed. She offered encouragement that there was still a small window of opportunity to save my other eye but action had to be taken immediately. It wasn't advisable to wait for a confirming biopsy. In a short while I was in ER being fed steroids intravenously. Dr. Athappilly stopped by later to see how I was doing and informed me that the inflammation count from my blood test was exceedingly high. She also stopped by my room two other times while she was off-duty which was very much appreciated. I see her every 6 weeks or so to monitor the health of my good eye. She also had the foresight to recommend that I wear safety glasses to guard against an accident to my good eye. I credit her quick action for leaving me with at least some vision.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 20th, 2013

Impressive

Dr. Athappilly is so knowledgeable in her field that she gained my trust when she diagnosed me with a golf ball size meningioma that had entangled itself on my left optic nerve. No wonder I was having a bit of difficulty with the vision in my left eye. She took the time to explain everything so that I could understand everything. I am in awe of her abilities and I feel lucky to have found my way to her expert care.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 21st, 2013

I feel truly blessed to be under the care of Dr. Athappilly. She is very knowleable of my disease making sure everything is being done and I understand exactly what is going on. Her kindness, caring and concern is very comforting. A great doctor.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

August 3rd, 2017

5.0 Rating

May 8th, 2017

5.0 Rating

March 24th, 2017

5.0 Rating

February 20th, 2017

5.0 Rating

September 29th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Geetha Athappilly is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Burlington, MA.

  • Dr. Brendan Mccarthy

    Dr. Brendan Mccarthy

    Ophthalmology

    Burlington, MA 0 mi

    4.6
    (14)
    20
  • Dr. David Ramsey

    Ophthalmology

    Burlington, MA 0 mi

    4.5
    (2)
    5
  • Dr. Susan Tucker

    Dr. Susan Tucker

    Ophthalmology

    Burlington, MA 0 mi

    4.4
    (11)
    30