Dr. Gena Ghearing MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurology Iowa City, IA

Overall Rating

3.4
  • 15 patient ratings
  • 5 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (+ 0.3)

15 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    53%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    7%
  • Poor
    13%
  • Bad
    27%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 25.1 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 26th, 2015
Dr. Ghearing is AWESOME
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ghearing was AWESOME!!! Even though we had to wait 6 months for an appointment it was worth it. Don't let her youthful look and ponytail mislead you, she is a very good doctor specializing in seizures. She was so caring and respectful toward my mom. What a nice doctor. Dr. Ahmed Yassin who worked with her was also very helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
July 7th, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ghering is great, but maybe too great. It's really hard to get into see her now. And when you schedule an appointment in advance, we always get a letter changing our appointment to some time that your not available!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 26th, 2015
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Gearing far exceeded my expectations with her indepth examination. She took the time to ask me my concerns and gave me a full evaluation. She has monitored me closely during my entire pregnancy, checking in monthly to ensure I was receiving proper care etc. I would recommend her to any patient suffering from epilepsy. She brought clarity and reassurance to my situation. Only downside was the wait but after seeing her, I understand why she falls behind. She never rushed me despite seeing me nearly an hour behind her own schedule.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 22nd, 2015
The staff and office is terrible but not doctors fault
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Diagnosed my epilepsy and helped with legalities in my workplace. Because of Pittsburgh area health insurance conflicts, I had to part ways. Office was also too far of a drive for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 5th, 2014
I would not recommend to anyone. On my first visit she decided to slowly wean me off my current medication because of all of the side effects (which I agreed with 100% and still do) During the 2nd phase of the weaning process I had a reaction. It took 2 days and 3 phone calls to get anyone to return my call. The response was I could either go to the emergency room for the side effects or go back on the original meds and we will see you in 3 months.I decided to call 4 pharmacies and describe the symptoms and the dosage changes of the medicines to the pharmacists and all 4 said "call your doctor immediately". When I told them the response not one could believe it. I called my PCP who monitored me during the medicine change to make sure I didn't have another seizure and told me the response of "go to the emergency room" was a CYA on her part to avoid a lawsuit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 8th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 21st, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 19th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 11th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 30th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

2.0 of 5
March 26th, 2016
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 of 5
August 4th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Gena Ghearing, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Iowa City, IA.