ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Gene Shaffer Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Gene Shaffer?

Dupuytren's Contracture

Dupuytren's Contracture

Dupuytren’s contracture is a thickening of the tissue beneath the skin of the palm of your hand

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Gene Shaffer?

Ratings and Reviews

23 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    5
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    5
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
28.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 23 Ratings with 7 Comments

5.0 Rating

November 4th, 2013

Fixed a bone spur on back of ankle for me, great work

In 2006, Dr. Shaffer operated on the back of my ankle to remove a bone spur (Haglund's Deformity), and also replaced my Achillles tendon since it suffered microtears. His choice to use my big toe tendon as a replacement was superb, and after 6 month's recovery (standard for the Achilles heel), I haven't had a problem since, and I work as a pilot with a major airline and need to pass physicals twice per year. His professionalism and straightforward communication was just my style. I would highly recommend him for anyone with foot/ankle injuries and surgery, especially people who prefer no-nonsense style and cutting edge surgery skills.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 23rd, 2012

Save my job.

I broke my ankle and ripped the tendons from under the big toe on my left leg. I went to an ER and was told by that doctor that I would never be able to perform my job duties any more. I go an appointment through a friend to see Dr. Gene Schaffer. He found the ripped tendon and broken toe that the ER never found and saw the break in the bone in my ankle. Within 2 days I was in the OR and Dr. Gene performed mericals. He repaired my tendon and toe and put a rod with 7 screws in my leg/ankle. Within weeks I was back at my old job and to this day I never get any aches or pains in the repaired area. Dr. Schaffer save my leg and my job. Thanks Doctor.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 10th, 2011

Another doctor recommended him to me. Mr. Shaffer needs to sign up for a people person, sensitivity & doctor bedside manners course. He was rude, arrogant and obnoxious. He did not want to listen to the surgical history for my visit. He treated & spoke to me as if was a piece of dirt. Will never refer or re-visit.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 19th, 2010

A doctor with absolutely no bedside manner

Dr. Shaffer seems like a doctor who knows what he is doing but as for how he relates and treats his patients ... that is another story. I found him to be very rude and rushed. Whenever I would ask a question, he would make it seem like I was annoying him. I would not use him again in the future for any medical needs. I will definitely look into finding another orthopedic doctor.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

May 24th, 2010

I agree with the first review. Poor bedside manner. Brusque and indifferent. Affirmatively refused to answer my question. Did not really want to hear about the problem I had.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 26th, 2009

Had a routine ankle surgery with him and ended up with a horrible infection. This is not why I gave him a bad rating-it was the indifference he showed with the situation after my first surgery. He would send other doctors in his orthapedic group to see me instead of himself, and offered no condolences on the issue. He didn't even think it was infected, I limped around for 2 months with an infected foot before going to a different surgeon. It required three more surgeries and months of antibiotics to fix it. I still cant get over how little he seemed to care about my situation and how little time he would give me before ducking out of the room.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 12th, 2009

Excellent doctor

Dr. Shaffer was very thorough not only in his explanation of my problem but also about what to expect after surgery. He answered my many questions and I never felt as though I were taking too much of his time. My surgery went very well, and the results have been excellent. I also liked that he didn't push me into surgery and explained my options.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 31st, 2016

1.0 Rating

October 6th, 2016

1.0 Rating

August 30th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

2.0 Rating

April 16th, 2016

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

December 23rd, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Gene Shaffer is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Philadelphia, PA.

  • Dr. Chris Williamson II

    Orthopedic Surgery, Residency

    Philadelphia, PA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    6
  • Dr. Joshua Pahys

    Orthopedic Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine

    Philadelphia, PA 0.01 mi

    4.7
    (13)
    10
  • Dr. Rosemarie Boehm

    Sports Medicine, Family Medicine

    Philadelphia, PA 0.01 mi

    4.7
    (4)
    20