Dr. George Katsamakis MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.2
  • 50 patient ratings
  • 17 reviews

Last 12 months:

4.6 (+ 0.4)

17 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    76%
  • Satisfied
    4%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    12%
  • Wait Time 10.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
November 28th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Condensending, badmouthing other doctors and leading institutions, rude, didn't bother to run a single test and declared a diagnosis without them. Hated patient taking notes, the list goes on...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 8th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr George was fantastic very nice Dr answers questions that I had for years I really like him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 1st, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
The 2 area's accurate dignosis & follow up visit, i cant rate yet. But what i did see & experience was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 29th, 2015
Great doctor, awful staff
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I really like Dr. Katsamakis. He explains my options and lets me choose which one I want. My previous neurologist just prescribed and didn't at all care about the side effects of the drugs. The problem with Dr. Katsamakis is his staff. I have never once called and actually had a person answer the phone. I always have to leave a message after going through a telephone maze and sitting on hold for a long time. Then I have to wait for someone to call back. Sometimes it takes days, and often the person calling back is downright rude. I want to keep seeing Dr. Katsamakis, but every time I've had to call for an appointment or prescription refill, I'm ready to go somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 18th, 2014
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This Doctor diagnosed me looking at my original MRI when 5 other neurologist couldn't. I fully trust this Doctor to do what is best for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 13th, 2013
Of the many MS specialists in the area, Dr K is the best!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He never rushes his appoinments, always lets me know that he's here for me even when I just need a question answered, great doc!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 22nd, 2013
Been with George 14 years
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When no one else could figure out what was wrong with me Dr. Katsamakis made the diagnosis. That was when he was at Rush/Pres. When he moved I followed him. I now live/move all over the country volunteering for the National Parks and still make the trip "home" to see only him. He calls back every time, and at theist off hours. He has never rushed my appointments. He shows a personal interest in me & my life. I'm in it for the long haul with him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 1st, 2013
home
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
i really liked him when he was at rush med center. now that he has his own practice, he seems more rushed and like so many other reviews, i was let go as a patient because of a bill of $100.00. thats poor business. its almost like, money is what they are looking for instead of patient care...i will be looking for a new doctor and praying he/she will fit the bill
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 21st, 2013
Less than useless.
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I went for a diagnosis, a prognosis, and information. I left with a prescription, and *NO* new knowledge. *Zero* discussion about diet, exercise, or anything else that was related to MS. OK..... I've got MS.... Now what? I *DID NOT* ask for a prescription for a "medicine" that have side effects *INCLUDING DEATH*. I wanted his "expertise". Do I think he's worth the effort, time, etc.... No. A winning smile, and an o'er weening sense of hubris doesn't make for a doctor. Overall? He has all of the fluff, and zero substance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 18th, 2012
BLLING PRACTICES ARE AWFUL HERE!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Katsamakis is a fantastic Dr., however, the office staff is less than helpful and the billing practices are unacceptable. I was discharged from the practice over a $115.00 outstanding balance that I was NOT informed of until I reached out to them to update my address. I then explained I was in a pending bankruptcy case due to divorce, which didn't seem to matter to them. It's unfortunate because I'm fairly certain Dr. Katsamakis doesn't even know this is happening. Poor practice managment. Be careful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 17th, 2012
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The Dr, never really gave any advice on things I should do to better myself or try, just said these are the drugs for MS pick one. It really appeard to me like I was doing a survey for him, only asking questions whats worse or any new symptoms. Like yep theres nothing he can do for me & thanks for your visit, next. I've heard of Dr.s only in it for the money this is one of them. I found out I owed him $202.00 with a letter saying I will no longer be able to serve you as your physician any longer. I find it necessary to terminate our physician- patient relationship at this time. whatever you do dont become disabled & cant work, billing dept not willing to work with you, beside trying to call & wait 10 minutes for the computer msg. you end up leaving a msg.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 24th, 2011
Best of the best....
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been a patient of Dr. Katsamakis for 11+ years. I was diagnosed with MS in 1995 at age 21 and had seen 6 Neurologists prior to finding him. He is THE BEST Dr. I have ever experienced. Not only does he spend time explaining a disease that can be confusing & overwhelming, he takes the time to answer all of my questions and educates me on the latest developments in research & disease modifying meds. Finally, he is extremely responsive with my calls when I have symptoms and has a great bed side manner. I feel blessed for being in such great hands with my MS journey.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. George Katsamakis, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Barrington, IL.

Doctor

Dr. Jeffrey Farbman

24 years experience

4.4 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Ahmir Khan

13 years experience

4.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Andrew Gordon

18 years experience

4.1 of 5