Dr. George Shires MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.7
  • 29 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (-0.9)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    79%
  • Satisfied
    17%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 36.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shires saved my life. His diagnosis and surgical skills are the best. He is straight to the point but you know he cares. He is the best.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 27th, 2013
Emergency surgery
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent staff, hospital & Doctor. Great recommendation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 24th, 2013
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Office staff took time over phone to explain process, Dr Shires was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 30th, 2013
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Easy access to the office. Went to see the doctor with what I was told an awful diagnosis and left there with good news. No surgery for me needed but Imhad had to pick a surgeon this would be my Dr. I found the office staff to be very friendly,talkative trying to make me relax. Good atmosphere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 19th, 2012
Excellent Dr
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Went to see Dr Shires with some grim news. Admitted me from his office for emergency surgery. His staff made all the arrangements for me and it could not have been an easier process. Dr. Shires helped me through a difficult time and I can say today I am doing great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
August 14th, 2012
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After such a long wait to see the Dr. he came in and suddenly we forgot how late he was running. I know if I was that patient in the hospital he would be there taking care of me, and as it turned out I was and he was there with me. My experience with his nurse was kind and efficient to the last detail. On occasion it was necessary for me to see his partners and they were just as thorough.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 30th, 2012
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was very kind, thorough, and patient. He was very good at explaining everything to me and my family. He came highly recommended and I am so glad we made the call. I would definitely go to him first if I ever needed more surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 25th, 2012
Wait time
50 minutes
Dr Shires very nice, treated me well, office staff very nice and helpful with scheduling surgery. My outcome was good.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 21st, 2012
Great Dr., Poor Staff
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I agree with other reviewers that Melinda demonstrates little concern for patients, and expends only minimal effort to accomodate thier needs. Calls to Melinda often are not promptly returned. Waiting time to see Dr. Sires is sometimes lengthy, but when the Dr. comes in he takes whatever time is needed to thoroughly explain the patient's condition and address questions and concerns. This is much better than quickly rushing in and disappearing as many doctors do. Dr. Shires explanations are related in "shirt sleeve english" rather than using a lot of medical jargon that I can't comprehend. I've seen Doctor Shires multiple times in recent years for an ongoing pancreas condition. I feel there isn't a more qualified physician/surgeon anywhere. While I've experienced frustration with his staff, I trust Dr. Shires completely.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 2nd, 2012
Worth the wait!
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am not one to wait on a doctor it this ones well worth it. He saved my life after getting a horrible diagnosis of pancreas cancer. He never made me feel rushed even though I knew he had many hospital patients. His office staff was very helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 12th, 2011
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent doctor, worth the wait, staff very helpful and courteous.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 19th, 2011
EXCELLENT SURGEON!!!
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Truly believe he saved my life! The entire time I was in the hosp. he came by daily to check on me. I have never had a more caring, professional doctor! I would recommend him to anyone needing his services (without any reservations whatsoever!)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. George Shires, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Dallas, TX.

Doctor

Dr. James Sanders

7 years experience

3.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Mohammad Frotan

9 years experience

4.2 of 5

Doctor

Richard S Anderson

be the first to rate this Doctor