Dr. George Stankevych MD Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology McHenry, IL

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 41 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

3.3 (-0.4)

41 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    54%
  • Great
    5%
  • Good
    12%
  • Poor
    10%
  • Bad
    20%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 14.6 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
September 1st, 2016
HIS WAY OR THE HIGHWAY...
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was very hopeful to see this doctor; it turned quickly when I started asking questions. He was pushing a certain procedure and then remarked that I should see a couple of other physicians. No, couldn't put on that paper gown and let him explore female bits. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 14th, 2016
Don't let this guy touch you
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I did not want a male doctor and he was involved in surgery and he made a comment saying "you didn't want me to pop your bag but now I am gonna be all up inside you"! He also told my husband "I am gonna go play with your wife's intestines now". Just wow!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 9th, 2015
He's nice, but...
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I really like Dr. Stan for his personality and bedside manner. I have had some questionable advice from him, however. The nurses and telephone staff are cold, and more often than not, I was made to feel like any phone call was burdensome. My medical history of cesarean and my discomfort with the idea of a vbac seemed unimportant, and I feel that had I stayed with the practice, a vbac would have been what would happen contrary to my comfort level. Unfortunately, I had to go elsewhere because I just grew too uncomfortable to stay in this practice. If I were not having children, and just seeing him as a gynecologist, I would have been very pleased with the office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 4th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor almost cost me my life, he never saw me personally and had his "nurse practitioner" see me for years and I went to see another doctor only to find out this office was wrong and I had a very serious condition all along. Thank God I saw a different doctor or I would not be here today to write this review. He should not be practicing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 15th, 2012
nicest doctor
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Stankevych has the most caring bedside manners I've ever dealt with. He delivered my 3rd child and he made me feel comfortable and cared for. An excellent choice for any woman.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 8th, 2012
Wonderful!
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Stan and his staff have helped me delivery two babies, and get through a leep procedure. In all cases the doctor and his nurses and midwives have been excellent. They are so caring and professional. I couldn't have asked for more. I would highly recommend this practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 1st, 2012
Fantastic :)
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
WOW! I am very suprised clients are giving this practice negative reviews. I have been a patient since I was 16 years old, honestly NEVER have I experienced a negative interaction with the Doc or his staff. Also I find it remarkable that since my first visit (12 years ago) the office staff remains consistant, he must be a great guy to work for too! Dr Stankevych has delivered all three of my children and perfomed a high risk surgery while I was 20 weeks pregnant! I highly recommend this office :o)

5.0 of 5
January 30th, 2012
hes wonderful
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
his staff is exceptional
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 6th, 2011
pregnant patient
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Overall, I found the entire office staff, dr included, awesome. They spent time answering my questions, addressed any concerns I had, and prepared me for what I should expect. I went there for two of my pregnancies and will go again if we decided to have more. There was no "pushing for induction" at all as previous reviewer experienced. Very little wait time except on ultra sound days or if there was something going on at the hospital. Awesome and I would recommend anyone go there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
June 28th, 2011
great if you want to induce
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to this doctor for my first son. My pregnancy didn't present particular problems so things went pretty smoothly. I saw him most of the pregnancy and then right at the end he switched me to Gretchen Dabrowski, his midwife so I ended up delivering with him. I was not asked, I was just switched. The switch was actually good though because Gretchen was a lot warmer and put me more at ease than the doctor ever did. The nurses always struck me as very cold and uncaring. He insisted on inducing saying my baby was very big when it was absolutely not true and I later found out he does that to EVERY single patient, even scaring some into inducing. He is very experienced but perhaps old fashioned.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 4th, 2010
One of the Best
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Being an older woman, it is tough to find a doctor who can take the time to deal with all of the problems that come with age. Dr. Stankevych definitely has the skills that are needed to not only care for older women, but meet the needs that we all have. I would recommend him to anyone who wants a caring and understanding individual.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 6th, 2010
Only interested in obstetrics
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I don't understand why he even calls himself an OB/GYN, when he has no interest in women who aren't currently or planning to be pregnant. He ignored my complaints for years before ordering an ultrasound at the hosptial, where it cost me twice as much as it would have in his office. (I had no insurance.) Then he never followed up with me on the results. His only concern was when I planned to start a family. I know of other women (most of whom were older) who have had similar problems with him --after getting the brush-off from him, one woman found out she had cancer when finally getting a second opinion. I know of women who rave about him as an obstetrician, but beyond that beware of this one!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. George Stankevych, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near McHenry, IL.