Browse Health
Dr. Gerald Schell, MD
Neurological Surgeon, Surgeon, Neurologist
29 years of experience
Video profile
Accepting new patients

Patient Reviews ? Write a Review

Overall Rating:
3.0
  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

69

Total Reviews

26

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 2.825 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 2.9677419354839 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 2.9 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 2.9047619047619 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 2.6904761904762 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 2.7380952380952 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 2.7857142857143 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 35 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Dec 3rd, 2014

The Phrygian is means more then the flighty staff

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  fire your staff and get people that care  |  show details
Nov 25th, 2014

His office staff is rude and refuse to help with anything other then taking your money. They dont put all info in your records. I dont think they even care what he says to the paitent listen to dr schell.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Neurosurgeon Gerald Russell Schell  |  show details
May 28th, 2014

Back in 2011 a friend told me there was something wrong with her friend she asked me if I knew a neurosurgeon I said yes I asked her where did your friend go to see a neurosurgeon she said Saginaw I said tell your friend it should go back to Saginaw and ask to see neurosurgeon Gerald Schell

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Recommended to a friend Jodi when she told me her in law saw this neurosurgeon because of a brain toomer I said Jodi tell your in law to go back to this neurosurgeon to get rid of the brain toomer then she told me what is ring with her grand kid I said tell your daughter to also take your grand kid to this neurosurgeon  |  show details
Mar 24th, 2014

My grandmother has been complaining about something that happened over 13 years ago I said to her if it was not for this neurosurgeon I would not be on this earth over 12 years ago my grandmother's conilogical sister or also say half Nancy had surgery by this neurosurgeon my grandmother kept telling her conilogical sister Nancy what happened over a year before Nancy had surgery

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Dr Field Patient that has seen Dr Shell a couple times when they worked together.  |  show details
Dec 17th, 2013

Dr Field and Shell parted ways and Dr shell kept most of the phone numbers. All my contact numbers from 1 1/2 years ago rang into Shells office but I was trying to get a hold of Dr field (he's the one that removed the huge tumor from my wifes brain 11 years ago). Dr Shells receptionist would not help at all. When I asked if Dr field was still practicing she said she didn't know. I informed her Dr field was well known and could not believe she did not know if he was still in practice. I asked if she had a phone number or any contact information and she said "I work for Dr Shell and I cannot help you". I finally got Dr Fields number from St Marys and they said this is a very sad and common occurrence. I can understand doctors having great differences and separating practices but I sure cannot imagine one of them would be so low as to have receptionists that are this rude and unhelpful to someone that is in need of medical help. Dr Schell, you should be ashamed.

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  One of the best neuro surgeon  |  show details
by James on Jun 7th, 2013

Dr. Gerald Schell is one of the best neurosurgeon. Very much satisfied by the conduct of his work

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  My experience with Great Surgeon - Dr. Schell  |  show details
by Jasicca on May 29th, 2013

My entire experience with Dr. Gerald Schell and her staff was positive. I am very happy with the back surgery result. Thanks Dr. Schell.

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery in Michigan  |  show details
by William P. on May 22nd, 2013

Thank you all so much for all your care and support during my recent Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery. I am very happy with the results. It was immediate relief and I am enormously grateful to him. I would like to highly recommend Dr. Schell

Mark as Helpful  | 5 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Dr. Gerald Schell - Best Spine Surgeon Michigan  |  show details
by Longoria on May 21st, 2013

Dr Schell is the best spine surgeon in Michigan. My family and I love him and we will not be able to thank him enough for helping me walk.

Mark as Helpful  | 5 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Marvelous Neurosurgeon – Dr. Schell  |  show details
by Daksayan S. on May 21st, 2013

Most marvelous neurosurgeon ever! I have very good results and I would like to highly recommend Dr. Gerald Schell for back surgery.

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Highly Recommend - Dr. Schell  |  show details
May 21st, 2013

Dr. Schell started working with me 2 years ago. He has done an excellent job correcting my spinal problems, staying with me the whole way. I would like to highly recommend Dr. Schell

Mark as Helpful  | 8 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Experience with Dr. Schell  |  show details
by Jorge Clark on May 20th, 2013

Dr Schell gave me hope; he gave me options; he gave me data and clarification. I have never had a doctor give me these three things in one visit. Thank you Dr. Schell

Mark as Helpful  | 8 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Best Surgeon - Dr. Gerald Schell  |  show details
by Kelly P on May 20th, 2013

Dr. Schell is very competent, homed in on my issues and gave helpful suggestions in the first visit.

Mark as Helpful  | 8 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Dr, Schell - Good Surgeon  |  show details
by Jeniffer S. on May 20th, 2013

I was extremely impressed by Dr. Schell. I've seen a lot of doctors for my back lately and he was the best prepared. He made me feel safe and has an incredible reputation

Mark as Helpful  | 8 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Best Spine Surgeon in Michigan  |  show details
by Tom Ellis on May 18th, 2013

My experience with Dr. Schell has been positive from the very first visit to my follow-up visits after the surgery. Dr. Gerald Schell explained everything little thing about spine surgery both to my family and me. He was very clear in his explanation. I would recommend him for spine treatment.

Mark as Helpful  | 8 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Great Physician  |  show details
by Jeff S. on May 16th, 2013

Dr. Schell is a great physician, my outcome has been fantastic.

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Best Michigan Spine Surgeon  |  show details
by Joseph Cerna on May 15th, 2013

I had a tumor in my spinal cord. Dr. Gerald Schell removed the tumor and saved me from paralysis. Dr. Gerald Schell is very knowledgeable and brilliant, thank you so much Dr. Gerald.

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Best Neurosurgeon  |  show details
by Lissa Ray on May 15th, 2013

Dr. Gerald Schell did a great job on my back surgery. I am very happy with the results. It was immediate relief and I am extremely grateful to him. Thanks you Dr. Gerald.

Mark as Helpful  | 7 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Sep 11th, 2012

Poor after care! Did major back surgery and wrote for strong pain medicines, then just dropped be 8 days later and says get your family care Dr to handle everything. Expressed its not his job to explain medications he's prescribing and he's just a surgeon not an after care Dr. Very poor manners and did not follow through with his after care plan drawn up before surgery! Great surgeon but don't count on him after surgery he's to busy getting his money from the next guy to finish with what he started!

Mark as Helpful  | 12 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Very gifted surgeon  |  show details
Mar 8th, 2012

Dr. Schell gave my son his life back after many months of suffering with a pinched nerve. He was compassionate, explained everything, worked him into his schedule and did a remarkable job of surgery to correct the problem. He was there when we needed him the most. Thankyou!

Mark as Helpful  | 7 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 2 of 4 stars
 |  Get a second opinion!  |  show details
by WB on Jan 2nd, 2011

Just wish I had recieved more information and a second opinion before I put my life in his hands. I am worse now than I was before surgery and that was over 8 months ago.

Mark as Helpful  | 13 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Oct 27th, 2010

Arrogant and condescending. To "Busy" to see a patient, we were told by nurses. Does not communicate well. I wish I'd of had more information prior to my sugery about this physician

Mark as Helpful  | 13 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  GOD BLESS THIS MAN  |  show details
Oct 11th, 2010

Dr. Schell truly is a world class surgeon. I can only describe his work on me as miraculous. Thank you so much Dr. Schell THANK YOU!

Mark as Helpful  | 7 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Phenomenal  |  show details
by Richard E. Rider on Aug 28th, 2010

Dr. Schell removed a ruptured disk for me back in 1992. I have had absolutely no side effects, and am thankful to be able to function normally. A couple of years ago I was experiencing some pretty terrible pain in my lower back. Doc shared the MRI with me and informed me that I had no cartilage between my tailbone and my spine. No one ever cautions against being overactive when you are younger, and a very hard worker. He recommended that I do whatever necessary not to have surgery. Therapy was my first step, and now I am doing wonderful. I will only project the ultimate in respect for Dr. Schell, as I am sure thousands of former patients do also.

Mark as Helpful  | 8 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Excellent physician and surgeon  |  show details
by JFM on Nov 12th, 2009

Dr. Schell removed a benign spinal tumor, (that had grown back after surgery in 2005 by his partner), at the top of my spinal cord in 2006. He was very aggressive surgically so that I would not have to have radiation therapy afterwards. He visited almost every day while I was hospitalized, even if it was late at night and answered my questions thoroughly without hurrying. I was not impressed with his PA, who was in and out in a few minutes. Dr. Schell is very knowledgeable and talented. I would recommend Dr. Schell and Saginaw Valley Neurosurgery highly.

Mark as Helpful  | 8 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  good job  |  show details
Oct 20th, 2009

He did a great job on my back surgery

Mark as Helpful  | 5 people found this helpful Report Abuse