The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Gerald Simon Is this you?

Filter Reviews

40 Ratings • 14 Comments

4.1
  • 26
  • 1
  • 6
  • 3
  • 4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
44.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Gerald Simon?

Showing 12 of 40 Ratings

Dr. Simon. Missing diagnosis

Posted on October 27th, 2017

I have been patient of Dr. Simon for many years. I have had regular yearly physicals, which were very limited, meaning he did not take urine or blood tests. As a result in 2015 I was diagnosed with cancer by VA doctor. I have since left him. Otherwise he gives you adequate time however his on time record is worst I have ever seen anywhere.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Fantastic Doctor

Posted on February 14th, 2017

you feel confident that you are receiving the proper care. I trust him.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

retired

Posted on November 23rd, 2016

MOST PATIENT AND DEDICATED PHYSICIAN. EXTREMELY KNOWLEDGEABLE. THE NURSE PRACTITIONER IS ALSO MOST CAPABLE AND DESERVES 5 STARS AS WELL SINCE SHE RECENTLY SAVED THE LIFE OF MY FRIEND WHO IS ALSO 72 YRS OF AGE. THE RECEPTIONISTS KIM AND JOAN ARE SO CARING THEY TREAT YOU AS FAMILY. YOU WILL NEVER FIND A BETTER GROUP.

Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

None Better

Posted on September 3rd, 2015

Dr. Simon is the most knowledgeable and empathetic primary care Doc I have known in my life. Always answers all of my science geek oriented questions in as much detail as I want.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 17th, 2015

Excellent doctor

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Rating

Posted on July 5th, 2012

I don't care how long a wait in the office. This is the best Physician I have ever encountered.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great Guy

Posted on March 19th, 2012

Dr. Simon is such a nice guy and so humble. He knows what he is talking about and unlike most doctors, he actually cares. The wait times in the office are a pain. My suggestion is to try and get one of the early appointments.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Wonderful, caring guy

Posted on January 7th, 2012

Can't say enough about his professionalism and dedication to his patients. He knows his stuff, too. Sometimes listed as a geriatric doc, he has a lot of older patients so good at older issues. His willingness to give his patients all the time they need sometimes means he gets backed up and it can take a while to see him (suggest you call before your appt to see how he's running) but that means he won't short you on YOUR time with him. His focus is on YOU. Great straightforward manner, too, with clear explanations and directions.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

BSN RN

Posted on October 31st, 2011

met this doc in the hospital hallway pushing a bed to CT scan in his rugged clothes, said, "Saw this guy in my office, i think he's having a stroke". Words can't describe how this professional on his 25. yrs experience be so humble and committed to walk the extra mile to make his patient get the immediete care.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great Doc ....

Posted on July 5th, 2011

but, waiting times are horrendous. You need to call and find out how far behind he is running prior to going to the office for your assigned appointment time.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 20th, 2011

What a great caring man and doctor, with a personalty that is a plus, you have to wait a little longer to see him but when you do he does know what he is talking about. It is worth the wait to have such individual attention when you are with him. He is very optimistic and up to date on his diagnosis. So refreshing to visit a doctor with some personality.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Take away his license - no people skills

Posted on May 18th, 2011

I have never seen a more incompetent doctor. We waited over 2 hours in the waiting room and were told by his staff that this was the norm. The nearby patients also waiting agreed by nodding their heads. We finally got a room and heard his booming voice chatting with a patient next door about a popular fim for 45 minutes. 45 minutes!When he finally arrived to see my husband, he cracked some jokes and used some slang meant to be cool but which left us both blinking and stunned. Who uses that sort of language with a patient?He never follows up on things as agreed upon by another review. I can really write a 5 page essay at how terrible this man is as a doctor. The only thing I can see as to why people give him a good review is that he is loose with prescriptions. He gave us over 100 Vicodins for a minor injury. I imagine a lot of his regulars may be hooked on prescription drugs if he's so easy going with him.So, if you want people skills and consideration, do no go to Dr. Simon.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Gerald Simon is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Countryside, IL.