Dr. Gerard Maritato MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Scranton, PA

Overall Rating

3.4
  • 12 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.6)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    50%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    17%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    33%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 38.3 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
December 1st, 2016
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I see some of the negative comments people make about this doctor, and it says more about themselves than it does about him. I saw him in the ER a few weeks ago, where I needed a painful procedure done. I was extremely nervous. dr M spnt a lot of time calming me down and preparing me. It took a long time before I was able to go through with it. hen visitied my room several times until I was ready. When he did the procedure, his skill was so good that I had no pain at all. later I found ou that he stayed an hour past when his shift wwas done for me. The discharge nurse told me that he always does right by the patients and they are always glad when he works.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 28th, 2016
Amazing
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to the ER twice. Once when i thought i was misscarrying my twins ( in which not much later i did lose one baby ) he was absolutely the most comforting, nice doctor i ever encountered. This time as i sit here waiting to be discharged im again, very happy and pleased with this gentlemen. His bedside manner is the most proffesional and comforting that i have seen in a long time. For those giving him bad reviews, might possibly be that maybe you have no patients or filter?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 27th, 2016
rude and arrogant
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My daughter went to the ER with extreme pain - another kidney stone- in which he told her to stop drinking ice tea and drink lemon juice instead. When I started to ask questions he said I was getting him frustrated! Really!! I was concerned about my daughter and I had the right to ask questions. He has no bedside manner and I would never recommend him to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 27th, 2015
Daughter of the patient
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
My elderly mom had been brought to the ER on three different occasions. The first visit, sent my mom for ct scan and testing for appendicitis, when I KNEW from experience, it was sciatica. The dr. DIDN'T bother to listen. When the test results came back, it wasn't her appendix - what a surprise! The second time mom was brought in, was for leg pain and swelling. I gave him mom's history. Again, without bothering to listen or spend ANY time answering my questions. When I did track him down (behind the desk, gabbing with the nurses), to ask a question after waiting for so long; I very rudely told by Dr. Marittato I was getting on HIS NERVES and to go back and sit down! Again, misdiagnosed my mother as having cellulitis when it turned out to be a BLOOD CLOT! This time I reported him to the patient advocate of the hospital. The third time, he saw my mom before I got to the ER. She had been brought in again with the same leg symptoms, and once again he missed diagnosed her! Thankfully, the shift had changed and I didn't have to deal once again with this rude, arrogant, unprofessional doctor! After talking to the new shift doctor ( who was kind and compassionate towards my elderly mother!), for FIVE MINUTES, ordered the proper tests, and lo' and behold , it was ANOTHER blood clot! From then on, I made SURE to call the ER before my mom arrived, just to be sure this so-called 'experienced' doctor was NOT working at the time! If you EVER come across this man, RUN, DON'T WALK to the nearest exit!! I wouldn't trust this man with removing a splinter!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 13th, 2012
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
very kind and takes the time to listen-Write about what you like or dislike about your physician-Write about whether you would recommend-Write as if you are talking to a peer who is asking your opinion
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 29th, 2011
Rude, self centered.
Wait time
55.0 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He would not listen to what I had to say. He was rude, and exhibited a disgust in having to listen to me. As if I was holding back from something.Would not recommend.

5.0 of 5
September 9th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
August 25th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
August 24th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 3rd, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 20th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 10th, 2012
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Gerard Maritato, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Scranton, PA.