Dr. Ginny Merryman MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.1
  • 37 patient ratings
  • 14 reviews

Last 12 months:

3.3 (-0.8)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    65%
  • Satisfied
    11%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 20 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 9th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Never on time for my appointments and never apologizes. Shockingly unprofessional during my last visit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
December 2nd, 2015
Dr. Merryman Visits
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am surprised that I see negative reviews on Dr. Merryman. I have not had surgery or a delivery, but I have been seeing Dr. M for many years for my annual gyn exams. Never has she been rude or abrupt with me. She has always been gentle, caring and efficient. When I had to have a second mammogram, she personally called to offer assurance that it didn't necessarily mean I should be concerned. I was impressed that she personally called me. Her office staff has always been very reliable and prompt in person and over the phone. I recommended Dr. Merryman to my daughter and I would recommend her to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 6th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I love her! her dry sense of humor makes me feel so comfortable. Would definitely recommend her to anyone!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 7th, 2013
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been with Dr. Merryman for 17 years. I love her, she is a great doctor and does what is right for you. She is blunt at times, but I would rather have that then someone who sugar coates things that should not be.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 6th, 2013
TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Merryman was extremely rude. My daughter (18) was overwhelmed by the abrupt, inappropriate responses made by Dr. Merryman. Dr. Merryman: Do you orgasm during sexual intercourse? My Daughter: Not always? Dr. Merryman: Then why do you have sex? My Daughter: Is the low dose estrogen birth control medication "less" effective (appropriate question, I believe) Dr. Merryman: Do you think it would be available if it wasn't? 100% UNACCEPTABLE patient care. Thank you Dr. Merryman for the emotional trauma, I'm sure it will stay with my daughter for some time to come.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 6th, 2013
Love her!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Merryman is awesome. She delivered my son this past Sept (via repeat c-section) and I have nothing but wonderful things to say about her. She is knowledgable, friendly and easy to talk to. It is a busy office but worth the drive and wait for me. She'll answer any questions you have but won't stay around and shoot the breeze with you. Again, it's a busy office so if there aren't any issues, you'll be in and out of your appt. GBMC was a wonderful place to deliver. HIGHLY recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 30th, 2011
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you need "warm & fuzzy"- go elsewhere- if you need the best OB/GYN for your body- who will fight for you & get you the best medicare- this is your doctor. I had 2 miscarriages at 38 & 39 and was told to give up. Dr. Merryman figured out the problem and I had a healthy baby at 41- he is 4 & she is still my Dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 15th, 2011
Great doctor, bad bedside manner
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She believes a little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing in a patient and doesn't like to be questioned. She knows her stuff though.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 22nd, 2010
Rude
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I visited Dr. Merryman for an initial visit and was shocked at how rude she was. When I asked if a certain medication was safe during pregnancy, she replied "No, I'd recommend something that would hurt your baby." She was rude a number of other times. While I hear she is good in the delivery room, I do not want to work through my first pregnancy with someone with such poor bedside manners.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2010
Barbara Ogden
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I never leave reviews, but after reading some of the more negative ones regarding Dr. Merryman, I feel inspired to chime in on what my experience as her patient has been. I've been a patient of hers for 5 years or so and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND her. Her bedside manner is excellent - not only does she meet w/you ahead of time to check in and catch up on the last year but on the one occasion where she was unable to do that w/me (b/c she was delivering a baby) she apologized profusely, completed the exam herself (gently - I've NEVER been so comfortable w/any other doctor, especially of that nature) but she called me at home, on a Sunday afternoon - her day off, just to touch base w/me since she hadn't had the time, prior to my exam, on the day of my appointment. This year before my annual appt. w/her (which is next week), she referred me for my first mammogram. The results came back inconclusive and I was encouraged to have more imaging done. Dr. Merryman (to whom I haven't spoken w/in a year) called me personally to make sure that I had a proper perspective of what I was being asked to do and why. I had the further imaging done and it was recommended to me that I have biopsy conducted. Again, Dr. Merryman called me personally to make sure that I had a proper perspective of the results and of what I was being asked to do and why. If Doctor Merryman weren't the kind, thoughtful, considerate, informative, gentle doctor that she is, I imagine that I'd be a lot less comfortable with what my body is doing and or needs these days and I cant say enough good things about her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 1st, 2010
Harsh Doctor
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have seen this doctor for a few years and have never taken the time to find another doctor like i should have. My last visit with her was last year. She is so abrupt, harsh, and hurts me every time she examines me. Even after I remind her that pushing on my abdomen so hard hurts me. She is a very angry person and you can tell that her personal life (marriage ended), has interfered with her professionalism. I have since found another doctor that does not take out her frustrations on my body. Thank God.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 29th, 2010
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I love Dr Merryman and her staff I have been driving 45 mins up the beltway for over 6 years just to see her. She has delivered all our of children and is great with high risk pregnancies
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Ginny Merryman, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Towson, MD.

Doctor

Dr. Ricardo Yazigi

38 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Caren Craig

26 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. W Supplee

31 years experience

4.6 of 5