Dr. Gregory Helm MD, PHD Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Charlottesville, VA

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.3)

30 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    57%
  • Great
    3%
  • Good
    13%
  • Poor
    3%
  • Bad
    23%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 15 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 12th, 2016
Disappointed
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I visited Dr Helm and was not impressed. I was treated at the emergency room and told to follow up.I had back surgery 24 years ago and my hardware broke soon after the surgery. I've had no problems until September. I went to Dr Helm seeking treatment advise. I researched his accomplishments and felt that I was making a good decision. I was wrong !!! I have multiple problems including disc and fusion issues.The disc problem is noted on my CT report. The problem with my leg is pain.He offered to do a CT Mylo gram but said he was confident that the problem was not my back.He never addressed the disc problem and much to my surprise he referred me to pain management. I've been in the medical field for 22 years and I've never had a doctor show as little concern for his patient as Dr Helm. I believe that he thought I was seeking pain medication. I was so disappointed. I've not been treated for any pain or back issues in 24 years.I have 2 broken screws, 2 disc bulging and pain in my left leg. Well it time to continue the search for a doctor that can help me . The last thing I need is to be addicted to drugs. Yes I do agree that pain management is good for some but I work in the medical field and I have to be able to function clear minded and with no drugs on board.If I wanted drugs I could have gotten them any day of the week. I wanted and needed help. This kind of treatment is a bad reflection on UVA. I know they are a wonderful facility. That's why I'm so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 7th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very polite , spend plenty of time with me and great knowledge and insight about my problem. When he came to the room he had already looked at my MRI.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 12th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I thought Dr. Helm was extremely good especially since he completely eradicated the pain.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 6th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor did not seem interested in helping me nor in providing help. If it wasn't an easy fix he does not appear interested. I was very disappointed all around. I have seen numerous doctors and he definitely displayed the least amount of care towards a patients care. Did not even do a general examination considering symptoms. I felt he had made his decision prior to seeing me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 14th, 2014
Highest rating
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This Doctor did not watch his clock with me. Took his time in explaining, was very kind and considerate. I am keeping this Doctor, and would recommend him highly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
July 16th, 2012
Very good doctor he is quick and to the point and has really made a diffrence in my health problem.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
April 4th, 2012
Not impressed
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Felt like cattle, doctors and nurses are suppose to show some empathy. I was treated like I was wasting their time with my medical problem. They did nothing to help. Never bothered to sit down and go over any possible solutions. Don't wast your time or money at UVA.

1.0 of 5
September 8th, 2010
would not recommend
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
treated like a number not an individual. absolutely uncaring and totally not helpful. I have never been treated in this manner by anyone let alone by a doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 4th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 20th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 22nd, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Gregory Helm, MD, PHD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Charlottesville, VA.

Charlottesville, VA
3.8
Charlottesville, VA
3.4