ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Harold Rekate Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Harold Rekate?

Ratings and Reviews

103 Ratings with 39 Comments

  • Excellent
    54
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    42
  • Excellent
    54
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    42

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
28.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 103 Ratings with 39 Comments

4.0 Rating

April 19th, 2017

very honest,caring, investigative careful doctor.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 8th, 2017

He is brilliant but more importantly very caring!

He helped us when we had almost given up. Having already seen 7 neurosurgeons he with no answers., Dr Rekate finally diagnosed my son.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 1st, 2016

"Dr" Rekate attempted to perfform UNNECESSARY brain surgery on my autistic son. He was 3 hours late for our app, not because he was busy, we saw him during the 3 hr wait just wandering the hall of his office. He lied about my son's obvious diagnosis, claiming it was requiring surgery, when it only required watching. Why did he do this? $$$$. He thought hecould get away with it. When i started getting "pushy", he was mortally offended, and refused to see my son anymore! I was blacklisted, and i was sure my son's imminent death was going to be because of my big fat mouth. Luckily, we got a second opinion app aweek after rhe now cancelled surgery, and that dr diagnosed it as a benign condition, and said the other condition wasnt even a optional diagnosis based on the mri! Why did Rekate say it was so desperate? Because my son was already autistic. And the $$$, of course. Dr Rekate? Try dr mengle.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 24th, 2016

He saved my child's life.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

September 15th, 2015

He saved my daughter life I was losing her with every body crash she had. Now after surgery she is improving everyday.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 21st, 2015

He saved my son's life.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 18th, 2015

Dr Rekate was my surgeon when he was at Barrow's in Phoenix and he is the best!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 1st, 2014

Amazing!

Words cannot describe how grateful I am for this doctor! He changed my life and has ALWAYS been available if I ever need him. (I once emailed him with a medical question and received a reply within 5 minutes). He is unlike most doctors you will encounter. He truly takes ownership and does not disappoint. I am almost 5 years shunt free when other doctors told me that would never be possible. Dr. Rekate went above and beyond for me and I will always be grateful.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 22nd, 2014

Excellent Surgeon!!

Dr. Rekate operated on my 17 year old daughter. She had Chiari decompression surgery. She has been free of all previous symptoms since the surgery. It is amazing to see her pain free! Dr. Rekate was fabulous from the first appointment on. He is compassionate, understanding and takes the time to explain the details. I also appreciated that he did not rush to surgery. My daughter had a lot of symptoms and he took the time to explore all her symptoms, having her see other specialist to be sure surgery was the best option for her. I highly recommend Dr. Rekate without reservation. We also had a good experience at the Cohen Children's Medical Center and at the Ronald McDonald House. Having a child with a serious medical condition is scary; I am so glad we had Dr. Rekate through it all.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 11th, 2013

Serious concerns over whether he should still be doing surgery

After our first consultation, Dr. Rekate recommended surgery and explained why. In the follow up letter he sent, there were typo's, he wrote incorrect information on it, and it even had food on the paper. We got other opinions, and declined surgery. At our second consult (we gave him the benefit of the doubt that possibly it was a clerical error prior), and after waiting 2 hours to see him, he spent 9 minutes with us. He again, gave us incorrect information, WAY off from what any other surgeon and radiologist told us, and told us our son has no restrictions, even though he still has Chiari, EDS, and symptoms from both. Then, in the follow up letter, he again sent us the wrong measurements and incorrect information about our child. I feel like their office is poorly run, the doctors are seeing too many patients. I honestly question whether he was even looking at the correct MRI's, as he would not look at them with us in the office at our appointment.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 19th, 2013

Lying egomaniac

Dr Rekate is dishonest and hides mistakes he makes from his patients. He is not a doctor to be trusted and preys upon those in need of help and hope.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 30th, 2013

he saved my life

He listened and believed in me, where other doctors couldn't see the forest thru the trees. Amazing doctor.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Harold Rekate is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New Hyde Park, NY.

  • Dr. Paolo Bolognese

    Dr. Paolo Bolognese

    Neurological Surgery

    New Hyde Park, NY 1.86 mi

    4.1
    (56)
    28
  • Dr. Stephen Onesti

    Neurological Surgery

    New Hyde Park, NY 1.86 mi

    4.0
    (1)
    31
  • Dr. Alan Mechanic

    Dr. Alan Mechanic

    Neurological Surgery

    New Hyde Park, NY 1.86 mi

    3.8
    (9)
    37