The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Harry Herkowitz Is this you?

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Ratings and Reviews

47 Ratings with 24 Comments

  • Excellent
    24
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    5
  • Poor
    8
  • Bad
    9
  • Excellent
    24
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    5
  • Poor
    8
  • Bad
    9

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
36.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 47 Ratings with 24 Comments

1.0 Rating

February 24th, 2015

Dr. Herkowitz did a spinal fusion in 2000. Because he put the screw in wrong, no doctor will fix his mistake. They don't want to be responsible for paralyzing me. I never went back to see him.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 5th, 2014

Kindest Resident to EVER work with.

Was a new RN starting on the 6th floor which was the orthopaedic unit. Dr. Herkowitz was a resident at the time. He showed great care for his patients and introduced new surgeries for them. He CARED about his patients. He was kind to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 19th, 2013

Will be missed

Rest In Peace, Dr. Herkowitz. Your act will be a tough one to follow. I am grateful for the time I had to be your patient. You have taught and inspired many to follow in your footsteps. I hope they do as great a job as you have done. You will be missed. Rest In Peace <3

Wait time
5 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 7th, 2013

GIFTED SURGEON.....

Dr Herkowitz is way beyond exceptional as a surgeon.... an artist. He just knows EXACTLY where, why, and how much to cut to fix your problem. He performed surgery on me in 1989 and 2010 to correct lumbar disc herniations. He is also VERY conservative.... he's honest enough to tell me that the triple fusion I need is only 50/50 for success and let's put it off as long as possible. And if that means he's short with you, consider yourself lucky.....your condition doesn't require surgery.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

January 23rd, 2013

No bedside manner
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

2.3 Rating

January 18th, 2013

Don't bother

Dr. Herkowitz has absolutely no bedside manner. He doesnf't go over or show you any test results. He just says looks good or doesn't. He may be a good surgeon but he is not good with his patients. It's like pulling teeth getting any information from him. I won't go back.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 8th, 2012

An Opinion from a Patient who is a Registered Nurse!

I have never encountered a more arrogant Dr. in all my years as a nurse. The reason he gives you 2 seconds of his precious time is because he is a stupid idiot and is unable to answer the questions asked of him. He really messed up my neck and I knew it. I called him on numerous issues but he refrained from answering the questions. He always had one foot out the door. I don' t even believe he did mu entire surgery. I think he told the residents what to do! How is this moron the head of the dept. It' scary to think that he is in charge and has no clue as to what is going on. His own office staff asked me to fill out a paper stating my compliments about him. Imagine that! I told him that the screws he put in my neck moved. They were not in the place he stated he put them in the operative report. He told me that was not a problem even though it was confirmed by MRI and a CTScan. Well, the screw he used is too long and now going from my cervical spine into my spinal cord. So I need more surgery on 3 areas of my neck. This jerk needs to stop doing surgery since he is not capable and also lies on his charting. I would advise anyone to chose another Dr. That is my professional opinion!

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 29th, 2012

Dr. Herkowitz gets a bad rap for being arrogant and lacking in bedside manner, I was expecting this and never got it. He is truly an amazing surgeon and man. Thank you for being who you are Dr. H!

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 17th, 2012

I went to Dr. Herkowitz for a second opinion. After looking at my test results and examining me he scheduled surgery four days later. This was my second back surgery with him and he is the best surgeon around. I traveled across the united states for his opinion and it was so worth it!!Thank You Dr. Herkowitz!!!

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

June 8th, 2012

We went to Dr. Herkowitz using a referel from a co-worker.We were sent to several tests, then told he didn't see anything and couldn't help us. When I asked about the CT scan report stating there was a crack in the bone and a bulging disc, his response was that this was nothing and there is nothing he could do.The total appointment with the Dr was less than 5 minutes, after waiting 40 minutes for him to see us

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 25th, 2012

Satisfied retiree

He was the best, told me my problem and corrected it. After 4 months I'm 90% cured. I'll always be grateful to Dr Herkowitz. As for his personality, it was friendly while being perfessional.

Easy Appointment
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 16th, 2012

Unbelivable

First you wait and wait and wait. Second you get 3 minutes with the doctor, he'd rather watch paint dry than to actually talk to his patient's. If you can't have surgery due to your issue may need conservative care he basically boots you out the door without so much as telling you what your problem is. He may have been a great surgeon back in the day but now adays I think he's a has been. He probably treats his staff so bad which is why they in turn treat you terrible as well. There are far too many good orthopedic surgeons in the Metro Detroit area so keep on truckin if you want one that will take more than 3 minutes and actually shows they care!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Harry Herkowitz is similar to the following 3 Doctors near West Bloomfield, MI.

  • Dr. Kenneth Gitlin

    Orthopedic Surgery

    West Bloomfield, MI 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    49
  • Dr. Richard Singer

    Dr. Richard Singer

    Surgery of the Hand, Orthopedic Surgery

    Farmington Hills, MI 1.21 mi

    3.6
    (65)
    39
  • Dr. Mark Mackey

    Dr. Mark Mackey

    Orthopedic Surgery

    West Bloomfield, MI 2.06 mi

    4.3
    (29)
    25