The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Harry Shapiro Is this you?
  • 35
  • 1
  • 7
  • 4
  • 8

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
16.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Harry Shapiro?


55 Ratings with 30 Comments

5.0 Rating

April 20th, 2017

great office

I love this office, the doctor was awesome and very helpful. Dr.shapiro has become my favorite and only endocronolist i would go to. Staff is great, very happy with my visit

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 20th, 2017

Love this Doctor

The office experience was totally satisfing. I was very pleased with the service. Staff was professional and thorough. Dr.Shapiro was excellent and answered all my questions. He allowed me to express my concerns and made me feel safe and at ease. I will be returning for a follow up to go over my results.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

February 8th, 2017

Gets upset when challenged

Started seeing Dr. Shapiro in Fall 2015, asked if I could try a different medicine and he said yes. A few months have to go by to see a trend in blood results, with any medicine. After maybe 4 months on this new med, my levels were very high and he did nothing about it. I thought, well, he's the Dr and knows what he's doing. A few more months went by and he did nothing. I had to tell the office to do something about my numbers by changing the dosage or frequency of taking the medicine. Dr Shapiro goes on a lot of vacation, ok why not, but when a patient's body is out of whack you call them, not hop on a plane or whatever, and leave your colleagues to handle the problem if need be. I've lost 39 pounds since seeing him, but not in a good way: I went from being hypOthyroid to hypERthyroid, my heart races all the time, I'm often shaky, and my head is foggy. Sure he's happy about the weight loss, and will tell you it's great, people feel better when they exercise... but I did nothing to achieve it on my own. He's impatient, and didn't like when I questioned his choice of dosage of the new medicine he finally changed me to after about 15 months. Looking for another endocrinologist, I'm the smart one now.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 20th, 2015

Carefully thought

He is a bit aggressive but gets the job done!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 6th, 2015

MY 1st visit was good. My 2nd visit was bad. He lashed out at me. did not listen to what i was saying. did not listed to any suggestions. Offered to get off vital medication just to see how my system will react. Nasty experience.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 21st, 2015

Heaven on Brighton!

Wonderful staff, very courteous... Always accommodation me when need be

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 9th, 2015

Not a personal patient experience

I read so many great reviews. I went far out of my way to see Dr Shapiro. Unfortunately I felt like i was put on a factory belt, carted off from one person to another, blood drawn before even seeing the doc and given no info. His bedside manner was appalling. He seems nice enough and is full of funny slogans but is easily irritated by questions.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 4th, 2014

OMG

After getting my appointment same day, i was amazed at all the testing that is done in-house.... i had my DX in few hours and on my way to recovery

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 11th, 2014

Wonderland
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

February 18th, 2014

Awsome
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

October 8th, 2013

life saving experiance

all I have to say is Dr. Harry Shapiro saved my life. I have been feeling ill for few weeks to a point that I just walked in and asked to be seen. I was so happy the answer was YES! front desk did all my paperwork and I was seen with in 10 min. After multiple test he told me to just change my regiment for my medicine and way of eating. After 4 months I 'am a new person. THANK YOU ALL FOR SAVING MY LIFE!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 13th, 2013

BRIGHTON BEACH SPECIAL!

ONE I CALLED AND ASKED TO BE SEEN SAME DAY AND I WAS A GREAT EXPERIANCE AFTER THAT. I WAS SEEN SAME DAY AND WITHIN 2 HOURS, NO WAIT WAS IN AND OUT HAD ALL MY TESTS DONE INHOUSE. DR. SHAPIRO IS WONDERFUL AND GAVE ME ALL MY RESULT BEFORE THE TEST IS OVER. NOW IM BACK ON TRACT AND FEELING GREAT. THANK YOU ALL FOR YOUR HELP!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Harry Shapiro is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Brooklyn, NY.

  • Dr. Jerome Dubroff

    Dr. Jerome Dubroff

    Cardiovascular Disease, Internal Medicine

    Brooklyn, NY 0.01 mi

    4.2
    (6)
    43
  • Dr. Steven Tawil

    Dr. Steven Tawil

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Brooklyn, NY 0.01 mi

    4.1
    (9)
    31
  • Dr. Alan Goldman

    Dr. Alan Goldman

    Rheumatology, Internal Medicine

    Brooklyn, NY 0.01 mi

    3.7
    (12)
    38