Dr. Harvey Handler MD Patient Reviews

  • Dermatology Sylvania, OH

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 27 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

1.0 (-3.0)

10 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    67%
  • Satisfied
    7%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    7%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    19%
  • Wait Time 12.7 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

4.0 of 5
April 21st, 2015
Eczema care
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Handler has helped my eczema immensley in a short time. I liked him the first time I took my son to him for alopecia when he told me to have labs drawn on my son and he would let me know the results. He himself phoned me to let me know the results-that doesn't happen very often anymore-quite impressed. I feel he is a good doctor who knows his stuff!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 13th, 2012
caring physician
Wait time
15 minutes
I have been to many derms for my chronic disease of ezcema. Everyone gave me creams and more creams and told me to relax. Dr. Handler actually listened to me, understood my problem and anxiety with this problem and then put together a program to help me. While I cannot "cure" my disease, I have improved immensely and can function much better in my job and socially. Also, if I have a flare, his office staff is always helpful in getting me in quickly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 19th, 2012
Great service
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr handler is a very attentive Doctor. He listened to my concerns and spoke to me at length about my options. I did not feel hurried. And he does not over prescribe or over treat. I think he and his staff are all wonderful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 29th, 2012
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Handler was professional and personable. My first 2 visits went well without too much wait time. I would definitely recommend him to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 11th, 2011
Dr. Handler best dermatologist in Ohio!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have to respond after reading the previous bitter post. I was seeing a dermatologist in Perrysburg and was not getting better. Not only that, I rarely saw the actual derm but saw their assistant! On the advice of a friend who sees Dr. Handler, I went to him. He diagnosed me within seconds and gave me some type of mixture which helped me in one week! He was not only kind, but very friendly and on my level. He DID NOT act like he had a god complex and was unbelievably personal. He is very to the point as he actually wants you to do well and not just have you come in to pay your copay. My friend has gone to him over 20 years and has had nothing but great experiences with him and his staff. I found his staff very friendly and all had smiles on their faces and was obvious they enjoyed working for him. I have a feeling the very bitter post about him may be coming from other factors such as this person having to pay a bill for services rendered or the person not doing what Dr. Handler told him to do and doesn't like being told they were wrong. My friend who recommended me said over 20 years Dr. Handler has NEVER acted above him and all his patients love him! You definitely need to consider the source when reading these reviews I have found! I will continue to go to Dr. Handler and ignore this "bitter" inaccurate portrayal of him that obviously stemmed from other factors.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2011
Dr. Handler was very Rude, Yelled, and Threatening
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I was a new patient at my follow up visit and wanted to discuss that the new ointment he prescibed for me was not working. He told me to keep using it. When I tried to ask him follow up questions about the medicine compared to other medications he became very upset. I was sitting in the chair and he walked towards me, raised his voice, and pointed his finger in my face. He said in a raised voice "I have more knowledge about this in my little pinky finger than you know about everything in your whole life". He then said that if I was going to question anything that he had to say then to get out of his office. I was shocked and speechless. Rage and a god complex is not the qualities you want in a doctor. It's also pretty sad that I had to give him money to be treated like this. Needless to say I never went back to see him again. Horrible experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 10th, 2011
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have always felt that Dr Handler tried to give me the best advise he could for someone who had Rosacia. He is kind and caring
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 2nd, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had a changing mole and was given several choices within 48 hours in which to be seen. Waited approximately 15 minutes in reception area and 5 minutes in exam room. Dr. was very professional and open and understood my anxiety over this mole. He looked at it with a special light and assured me it was nothing to worry about. He then examined me totally (chaperon present) and found several other spots that were nothing to worry about. Would go back to him without question. His staff were very helpful regarding insurance coverage and filing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 1st, 2010
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was misdiagnosed by 3 other doctors and he diagnosed me in one minute. I was treated for a problem I had for years and was better in 2 weeks. He was personable and office staff was friendly and very outgoing. I have recommended all my family members to him and they have all agreed. you can tell he enjoys what he does.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 3rd, 2009
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Not enough office hours and they need someone to answer the phones for possible questions. Basically, I do not believe this doctor has enough office hours.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Harvey Handler, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Sylvania, OH.

Doctor

Dr. Omar Salem

38 years experience

4.4 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Mounir Boutros

26 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Craig Burkhart

38 years experience

3.9 of 5