Dr. Helen Hilts MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Scottsdale, AZ

Overall Rating

3.2
  • 38 patient ratings
  • 24 comments

Last 12 months:

3.4 (+ 0.2)

38 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    45%
  • Great
    3%
  • Good
    5%
  • Poor
    13%
  • Bad
    34%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 32 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 15th, 2017
Condescending
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Appointments are never on time expect at least two hours minimum for a scheduled visit that is for a 30 minute visit. Attitude towards patients displays lack of empathy or genuine care. She is not attentive to the words of the patient. She is always in a rush to leave the room. She attempts to convince you that you need lab test that are unnecessary and costly. She enters the room with assumptions and pre scripted verbiage non relent to the patient. She is a money hungry doctor who will over bill and ask for countless visits just to make a quick buck. She will waste your time and make you feel worse than you got there with her degrading tone and talk downs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 18th, 2016
Very Impressed!
Dr. Hilts a is extremely knowledgeable, professional and caring. I have never had an MD put together my medical puzzle like she has. Very thorough intake. I think I have found a wonderful doctor, it has taken me years to fine one that was not condescending, rushed and egotistical. Dr. Hilts is none of these negative things, she's definitely 5-star.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 27th, 2016
Excellent Doctor
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Been suffering for so many years & been to so many different doctors,& then finding Dr. Hilits - who is determined., very caring, & she really saved my life!! She's a Blessing!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 9th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was told by nurse to nod my head yes to questions so blood work would be covered, after receiving bill for preventative exam and so called covered blood work spoke to nurse and she stated that she "warned me" very unprofessional. Was accused by nurse of making the appointment more about a condition rather then preventative and that was why it was charged out different. I thought the point of a general exam was to bring up questions or concerns with Dr?! Sorry to say will not be returning.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 28th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hilts is the most amazing & caring Doctor I have ever had, she spends time with you & cares about you. She & her staff deserve more than Five Stars.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 25th, 2015
very thorough
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is very thorough, which is unlike most doctors that I've visited. Anytime that I've needed her or her staff, they've always been responsive. She seems to actually care and she seems to keep up with current research and seems as if she discusses new methods with other doctors. She's simply not as apathetic as many doctors that I've seen.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 6th, 2015
Bizarre Experiences With Dr. Hilts
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor said something very bizarre, which shocked me. She told me that I am not really disabled and implied that I am "faking it." This, in spite of the fact that other medical professionals did many tests on me in the past, and determined that I am very disabled. She also changed her instructions to me, from appointment to appointment. She is very forgetful and sometimes seemed confused. She would forget what she had told me at my previous appointments; deny that she had given me certain instructions, etc. I wonder if she was having some post-menopausal or "senior" moments. She and one of her staff members also snapped at each other, in front of me. One of her staff members accused my insurance company of not paying Dr. Hilts in a timely manner. This was done in front of other patients, which was embarrassing, to say the least. It turned out that the delay was completely the fault of Dr. Hilts' staff member. Dr. Hilts required me to make numerous appointments and come in to see her, way too often, more than any other M.D. or D.O. than I have ever seen. I wonder if she was just trying to drain my insurance company of money. I would usually wait at least an hour-and-a-half to get to see her. First, the long wait began in the office "waiting" room. Next, I sat in an examination room, for an extremely long time, each appointment. She was abrupt and very rude to me. What a nightmare!

5.0 of 5
December 19th, 2014
Few doctors impress me; she does.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great PCP, especially for diabetics. Brilliant. Listens & informs openly. Follows evidence over dogma.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
August 23rd, 2014
Awful experience
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Hilts is preachy, condescending and a poor listener. She seems to be knowledgeable about diabetes but treats the patient disrespectfully.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 6th, 2014
patient
This doctor charges a fee of $250 in addition to your insurance for the PRIVILEGE to be your doctor. This is a crime and should be illegal!! Do NOT go to this doctor and encourage this unethical behavior!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2013
Great Doctor
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I sought out Dr. Hilts' office when I was looking for doctor who was knowledgeable about Type 1 Diabetes. I have been going to her practice for nearly three years and have found her to be extremely thorough, knowledgable and patient. She is the first doctor I've been to who actually takes the time to explain my test results, offer alternative treatments, gives me a copy for my records and makes sure I fully understand everything before she leaves. Plus, being a Type 2 Diabetic herself, she practices what she preaches which gives her added credibility in my book. I would highly recommend her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 24th, 2013
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have never written an MD review before, but after reading some of the negative comments...Dr. Hilts is a physician of incredible integrity and devoted to helping patients live healthy lives. She focuses on each patient and symptoms, which helps her excel as a diagnostician. I have had referrals to excellent care givers, thanks to Dr. Hilts & her competent, caring staff. Yes, there is a bit of a wait and she is worth waiting for...bring a book.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Helen Hilts, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Scottsdale, AZ.