The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Helena Chang Is this you?

Filter Reviews

18 Ratings • 7 Comments

3.6
  • 10
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
39.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Helena Chang?

Showing 12 of 18 Ratings

Excellent Doctor

Posted on January 4th, 2017

Dr. Chang is an exceptional doctor and surgeon. She has years of experience and is very caring and conscientious. I received excellent care, and always felt that she had my best interest in mind. The follow up care has been great, compassionate, and caring.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Would not recommend

Posted on October 19th, 2016

All the information she provided was given in one appointment and too quickly. I had to make many phone calls in order to get answers to unanswered questions. Some misinformation was told me as to reconstruction and urgency of surgery. I would not recommended her.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Receptionist

Posted on May 16th, 2016

In a word awesome. This doctor was the most informative Doctor I have ever encountered. 1to10. A10 hands down. Be side manner excellent. She preformed a lumpectomy that healed to perfection. A God send for any patient. God Bless the capable hands of this surgeon.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great Doctor!

Posted on March 29th, 2013

I feel like this isn't even the same doctor most of the other reviewers are talking about. Dr. Chang has been amazing with me. Having been diagnosed with Stage II Breast Cancer, my family and I were a little freaked out. My 18 year-old daughter and husband joined me on my visit with Dr. Chang for a second opinion. The first opinion doctor didn't even come close to comparing to the level of knowledge, professionalism and courtesy to the patient as Dr. Chang. She very thoroughly explained my situation, including pathology reports, x-rays and offered her recommendations. She spoke with us in laymen's terms, but not as if we were morons. She did not rush us and I was made to feel as if my issue was of utmost importance to her.... even though I'm sure I was 1 of dozens with the same issue that week. We left feeling confident that I would be in good hands, and indeed I have been. I would highly recommend Dr. Chang to anyone and I know without hesitation.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Stay Away

Posted on May 16th, 2012

Very credentialed but gives patients no time, does not explain options, did not bother to review my previous pathology results and gave bad advice, recommending unnecessary surgery. I didn't know you could be famous and give bad guidance and be inattentive.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on November 3rd, 2010

I could not be more disappointed and frustrated. Am changing doctors now after multiple failed procedures by Dr. Chang and a general lack of care from her staff. I feel like a lab rat here. AVOID.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

A wonderful surgeon - a truly wonderful person

Posted on August 31st, 2009

When I was diagnosed with breast cancer, I had a moment of terror because I couldn't get an appointment with the oncologist I wanted. Dr. Chang not only came up with the words to take away the fear, her decisions about treatment before surgery and the surgery, itself, helped immeasurably to save my life. After surgery, she came to visit me every day until I got out. Whoever says surgeons are cold people obviously don't know this terrific, talented lady. I'm no fan of government-run hospitals, because in many cases the contract goes to the lowest bidder, as in the case of the people who clean the place. But when it comes to the doctors, the staff, and the technicians, UCLA deserves its high ranking. Both UCLA and I am lucky to have Dr. Chang on our teams.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on October 26th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on February 24th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on December 28th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Four Stars

Posted on October 7th, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on October 5th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Helena Chang is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Los Angeles, CA.