Dr. Herbert Allen MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    60%
  • Satisfied
    3%
  • Neutral
    7%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    27%
  • Wait Time 27.9 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

1.0 of 5
August 31st, 2016
Pill mill
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was seeing Dr. Allen for my back,neck and shoulder all he would do would take x-rays and give me cortisone shots every three months for three years and the shots would work for a month and a half and I would still have a month and a half left before my next appointment couldn't get an appointment if I was hurting due to the amount of patients he would have and I would complain to the nurse and the office manager and then one day on my appointment I can't in paid my copay went to the back and waited forever for the dr. To come in and when he did he told me that I had failed a urine test and said he was no longer going to see me. I asked to see the test from the lab he did that I would get my result in a few days. Once my results came in from the lab it didn't show anything but what was prescribed to me by him and my general doctor. So to sum it up all he wants to do is take your money give you shots that don't fix the problem and if you complain then he tells you that you violated the drug policy that he has and when I confronted the office manager they said that it wasn't their decision and the dr never went over my labs to verify that what I had prescribed was a legitime prescription. So I changed to the orthopedic group in mobile and they did a mri on my shoulder and I had surgery to remove a spur that has been bothering me the whole time I was under his care. I spoke with the orthopedic Dr at the orthopedic group and told him that I had been seeing Dr. Allen for the problems and the response was if your just looking for narcotics he's the dr to see. I was pretty upset about how I got treated but it worked out for the best cause all it seemed he wanted to do was milk me and my insurance company for all he could get. So I hope that anyone who tread this understand that he doesn't want you to get better he just wants money. Thank you to the orthopedic group cause they care about there patients not about handing prescriptions out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 8th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Haven't been in several years but need go back
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 7th, 2015
Best in Mobile , Al
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Honestly the best orthopedic I've ever seen , knows what he is talking about , will actually listen to u about your pain instead of telling u whats hurti g
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 13th, 2012
dangerous
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Told him I had an past addition with ultram. He precribed LOTAB !!!! Are you kidding me. I don't think I will be seeing Dr. Allen again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 29th, 2012
Back in Mobile
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is my family's 3rd generation Doctor. He is excellent in every way. I haven't had to have surgery, just epidurals, but he did operate on my mother 2 x's. I have followed him from here to FL and back again. I am so glad he's back here somewhere off Cottage Hill Rd.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 17th, 2012
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Can't find him again! His office up and closed. I'm out of meds and no one knows where he is. Have spent the last couple of years trying to keep track of him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 20th, 2010
He has operated no me 4 times. I trust him completely.
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Allen is a very caring and generous doctor who cares about the well being of his patience. Like all of us he can not please everyone but I trust him and value his care. I have never been to a doctor who took so much care and concern for me. He was not fired in Alabama and anyone who says that does not have the facts.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 30th, 2010
This "butcher" Allen.... doesn't deserve to call himself a doctor
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He crippled my husband, and ruined our lives. The last words uttered out of his mouth to us when told my husband's bowels were spilling out were"oh well, that's why they make Depends" He has been fired from the Clinic and affiliated hospital in AL, and "parted ways with the clinic and affiliated hospital in FL We hear he is trying now to open his own practice. Stay away from him... he is as incompetent as they can get. And will blame all of his mistakes on the patient's family. He has no ETHICS. And shows no remorse! He is a dispicalbe human being!!!! CARMA will surely catch up to him, if GOD doesn't get him first.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 10th, 2008
do not see him
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
he has left me in excruciating pain for 6 weeks. I got a second opinion and the new doctor ordered me for surgery within 2 days of my first appointment with him. Dr. Allen's nurse has been very rude during my calls crying for help. I asked for a note to grant me an extension to complete my college courses due to severe pain and was denied. I have a ruptured disc at l4-l5 pressing into my nerves and spinal cord. I have still not heard from his office regarding my mri results and am scheduled for a laminectomy tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Herbert Allen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Mobile, AL.

Doctor

Dr. M Daugherty

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Mark Perry

27 years experience

4.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Zhiqing Xing

4.6 of 5