ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Herbert Gates III Is this you?
  • 32
  • 5
  • 4
  • 7
  • 10

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
18.9 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Herbert Gates III?


58 Ratings with 22 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 14th, 2016

Wonderfull office

This is the best orthopedics office I have ever been at. The office staff is great and very welcoming. Got an injection in the shoulder and didn't even feel it.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

May 23rd, 2016

appointment and abrupt bedside manners

I have never been able to get a "person" to answer the telephone. You're directed to leave a short message and your telephone number. Than-- you sit and wait for a return call in order to make an appointment. Dr. Gates also needs to improve his "bedside manners" and the time he actually spends with you before he says I'll be right back. He never returns , it's usually his nurse. I'm currently his patient. I have no complaints regarding my surgery. However; I will never have him operate on me again because of his abrupt bedside manners. Too many excellent orthro doctors in Naples.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 28th, 2015

Office is like a mass production factory. I have been to this office several times. Each time my impression has been the same. Dr. Gates is more interested in giving a quick diagnosis and moving on to the next patient.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 29th, 2015

Patient

Dr. Gates level of experience and quality of medical treatments to me ranks at the highest level . I have many years of medical/hospital experience and I would highly recommend Dr. Gates and his complete management of your surgery and follow up treatment.Dr. Gates is a fabulous surgeon.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 23rd, 2015

Several of my familiy members have needed to see Dr Gates. With my daughter we used him as a second opinion when the original ortho did surgery on her arm. His expertise is the hand, but he will see elbow, or shoulder patients. There is usually a wait but it's worth it when you are going to see the top doctor in his field!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 27th, 2014

pinched ulnar nerve

Saw Gates after doing lots of research on surgeons in Naples for the ulnar nerve. Was impersonal durimg first visit as well as not worried that I had loss feeling in hand. Ended up having surgery with him and he did not complete right. Woke up in incredible amount of pain. Had to have arm recasted less than a week later due to my error. Staff wrapped it incorrectly causing even more pain. Called him on a Saturday because the pain was horrible and he met me at the office and wanted to know why I wanted the arm casted differently. He recasted and it minimized my pain until the cast was taken off in qnother week. Afterwards even more pain and he simply stated I couldnt tollerate pain and tried to send me to a pain management clinic. Less than a week later contacted another dr from Ohio who had operated on my other arm for the same condition and he immediately felt I needed a second opinion. 2nd opinion showed that I had a kink in the nerve that he was supposed to move under my muscle in my elbow area. Quickly made an appointment with my dr from ohio to get a consult and schedule surgery. When Ohio dr operated found he did not do the surgery that he stated he had done and created a bigger problem with nerve. After surgery woke up 100% pain free. Would not reccomend Gates to even an enemy. Butchered my arm over a year ago and still having issues from what he did.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 6th, 2014

great service

Dr Gates' office & staff are extremely efficient, helpful & friendly. Everyone know my name & greets me every time I have an appointment. If staff person is dealing with an issue, she or he informs me that they are tied up & asks me if I can wait or take care of my issue at another time! Dr Gates is very informative re all aspects of my surgery & aftercare.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 1st, 2014

Does not rush to do surgery.

I've has an elbow problem for several years almost insisted on him doing surgery, but with his none invasive program , i.e. injections, therapy and braces I'm doing great and have not needed any of the above for over a year. Thanks Dr. Gates!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 10th, 2013

Poor bedside manner

I was sent to Gates by my work's insurance for an injured thumb. My initial reception was courteous enough, but I was being helped by a newly hired receptionist. After some xrays and a bit of a wait Gates comes into my room and announces in a disappointed tone that I would not need surgery. His body language and tone throughout my entire conversation with him was dismissive and in some cases insulting. He gave a terse description of what he guessed was wrong with my thumb and tried to leave. I felt like I was fighting with him to get a better explanation. The worst part of my visit was when I asked for something to help mitigate the pain that would not interact negatively with another medication I was taking. He asked me, "what do you want?" I told him I don't know anything about medications, and he asked me again, "so what do you want?" I tried to make it clear I did not know. I just needed something that would reduce the pain enough so I could keep working. During this conversation he had been edging towards the door. Finally he wrote a script which ended up making me severely nauseous. When I called a few days later to try and have it changed I was told there was no way they'd write me a new prescription and to take OTC. Basically at that I said OTC hadn't helped and was told too bad. I don't remember the names of the office workers I had spoken with so I will not attest to the staff's attitudes in general. As to Gates, I can say with all certainty that he showed no interest in my health or well being. I have tried to describe only my observable interactions. I used opinionated text in some cases for the sake of brevity. Please consider those sections as a generalized description of his specific actions.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 25th, 2013

Dupuytren's COntracture

Dr. Gates treated me for Dupuytrens" Contracture and I am very happy with the result.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 13th, 2013

Elbow surgery

Dr. Gates and his entire staff gave me excellent care every step of the way from diagnosis of my severe elbow fracture, to surgery, to extensive follow up and physical rehab recovery procedure. They gained and kept my trust in their treatment, answered all my questions, offered guidance when needed, and gave me confidence in my recovery. Thanks to their professional care and concern we have achieved full recovery of my elbow and arm.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 13th, 2012

Nice and competent

Dr. Gates and his staff are nice and know what they are doing. I don't want to keep visiting any doctor, but actually look forward to seeing those nice folks again!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Herbert Gates III is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Naples, FL.

  • Dr. Leon Mead

    Dr. Leon Mead

    Orthopedic Surgery, Sports Medicine

    Naples, FL 0.28 mi

    4.5
    (51)
    34
  • Dr. Gary Gallo

    Dr. Gary Gallo

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Naples, FL 0.43 mi

    4.4
    (7)
    50
  • Dr. Thomas Parent

    Dr. Thomas Parent

    Orthopedic Surgery, Surgery of the Hand

    Naples, FL 0.52 mi

    3.6
    (85)
    28